We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Treme but Only Treme Tour”
Review of Tour Treme'

Tour Treme'
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.00*
and up
New Orleans Treme' Walking Tour
Ranked #79 of 216 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can see Treme' from a car or a bus, but you can ONLY Experience It and Feel It, on a Walking Tour with us! Treme' is one of the oldest and most Historic neighborhoods in the United States. Originally settled by Creoles and Free Persons of Color, join us for an unforgettable experience. Hear tales of how our jazz greats were inspired. Visit St. Augustine Church and the Tomb of the Unknown Slave. Find out how residents of the Treme' were active in the Civil Rights movement a century ahead of the rest of the nation. Informative, Exciting, Moving! The Treme' is a living , breathing, joyful piece of History! Tours begin at 10am Daily. Reservations are Required. Your Guide is a Local Historian, a Master Storyteller and fully licensed by the City of New Orleans.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Treme but Only Treme Tour”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile


The tour was good.
But ........

I was expectIng much more,
1/2 of the tour was in front of 4 locations.

The tour guide new his stuff and was very authentic. Provide a ton of history, it is very disgusting and painful to see how some people have been treated by society

I enjoyed the tour, but was expectIng much more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Usamargaritavile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    17
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great tour!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Luke led our group on a walk in Treme, filled with history old and recent, sincerely presented.
A very enjoyable experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Informative”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

You get a good feel of not only how the neighborhood was in its heyday but how its transformed over the years. A very good History lesson.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JazzyMan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
“Enlightening and fun”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Luke was our guide, very informative and engaging guy. Can't get enough of the history of Treme, fascinating history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
471 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Decent Walking Tour of Tremé”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Tessie, our tour leader, took us on about a 2-hour walking tour in the Tremé area. She was quite approachable, seemed knowledgeable, and elicited a good bit of interaction, which I always view as a plus in this type of tour. We started at the Laundromat that used to be a recording studio. As I seem to recall from the HBO show Tremé, this is where the character Davis (Steve Zahn) started his tour of New Orleans music venues. Tessie said she had only seen the first two seasons of the show, which, as I write this, will end its fifth and final season tonight. My wife and I have enjoyed the show's entire run. One slight problem with the tour is that we spent too long at a coffee shop midway through. Part of the length of the stay was caused by the fact that the shop had only one employee, who was overwhelmed by the size of the group and the number of orders. Also, my wife regretted that we didn't see more of Tremé (the HBO filming locations especially) on the tour. We were surprised that we were apparently the only ones on the tour who had seen all of the HBO series.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tour Treme'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing