We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1822 Bougainvillea House
Ranked #90 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming B and B”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had work done at our house and chose to stay in a local B and B just down the street until the floors were dry.
We had a great time. In a quiet location of the Quarter, parking in their courtyard and great host and hostess for our stay. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: There are 2 suites so book early. This B and B is very popular. I like the upstairs suite in the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bibbie371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We loved this bed and breakfast. Very convenient to all of the French Quarter. It is a historic location and is furnished beautifully. The owners are such nice people and made us feel like we had known them for years. We had never been to New Orleans before and they took time to help acclimate us to the area. Lots of privacy. They made our visit so pleasant. We would definitely stay here again! Price was very reasonable. Parking is available, which is rare for the French Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWayman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

After our electricity went out during hurricane Isaac my husband and I spent 2 miserabe nights at home without a/c. We attempted to find hotel accomodations in the city but all the chains (marriott/hilton etc.) were not accepting reservations or walk-ins. A friend recommend Bougainvillea House, which was up and running and we were able to get in the same day. The proprietors were gracious and freindly. The suite was spacious and very comfortable. The highlight of the staywas the high end bed linens.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have been to NOLA many times and have stayed in hotels and apartments both pre and post-Katrina. Found this hidden gem on VRBO and will definitely stay here when we return to visit. It is in a quiet section of the French Quarter but only a couple of blocks from all of the sites. We traveled with family and rented both the Riverboat and Paddlewheeler suites which were comfortable, very clean and quiet tucked in off the street. Each suite has a bedroom, separate living room/dining area, bathroom, and full kitchen. The wine and cheese basket in the refrigerator along with fresh limes and oranges off the trees from the courtyard is a nice welcome. There is a secure inner courtyard that has a peaceful bonsai and orchid garden, hot tub and parking-- though we did not have a car with us, (nor do you really need one) as everything is easily accessible on foot or public transit. Greg and Pat, the owners, live upstairs above the Paddlewheeler suite and were supreme hosts. The breakfast in their home was delicious and the home a showcase of old New Orleans. The history of the property is fascinating and the tour of their home along with their stories is something not to be missed. We heartily recommend this warm, inviting place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The 1822 Bougainvillea House is truly the best B&B travel experience I can remember. It has a New Orleans French Quarter location within walking distance of the renowned French Market and Bourbon Street too. Pared with its urban locale, there is a quiet ambiance, making for restful nights in this peaceful neighborhood.
One added amenity is the quality of the fine porcelain breakfast place settings and the hot and delicious servings. For this, the expression “bon-appetite” is elevated from an overused phrase into a mealtime benediction. I enjoyed breakfast immensely.
On the occasion of my stay, I found the staff’s dedication to perfection evidenced in the meticulous cleanliness of the rooms and bath. I spied all new appliances and dishwasher in the main house.
The facility boasts secure atrium parking which coexists in a serene inner park-like courtyard, providing 21st century, state-of-the-art security features. While cars and guests are safe, safe, safe - the flowers and bonsai garden flourish.
I heartily recommend this warm and inviting place to stay – its French Quarter proprietors are grand hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bacointhe04
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed here for three nights for a girl’s weekend; it was a busy weekend and most of the French Quarter hotels were sold out (or available for more than $300/night). The location is excellent--in the quarter, but not on Bourbon. The facility is excellent, and includes parking in a courtyard, which is a very nice perk. However, the room we stayed in (the paddlewheeler suite) is dated and could use some new linens.

When we stayed, the rates were $200/night for 4 people, which was a pretty good deal. Since then, the rates have gone up to $300/night for 4 people.

Our hostess was very nice and helpful, and check in and check out were pretty easy.

We did not expect luxury, but rather a comfortable room in a convenient location. This is exactly what we received.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bacointhe04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#23 of 140 in New Orleans
568 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 140 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#19 of 140 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1822 Bougainvillea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1822 Bougainvillea House

Property: 1822 Bougainvillea House
Address: 924 Governor Nicholls St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2431
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bougainvillea House was erected in the French Quarter on this site in 1809 and for over 200 years has been continually occupied. Our motto has always been "Antique ambiance with all the modern conveniences in the French Quarter". There are two complete beautifully updated suites with off-street parking and the Paddlewheeler Suite with traditional decor has the King size bed and is on the ground floor just off the patio. The Riverboat Suite with antique furniture in the bedroom and a Queen size bed is on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Both suites have private entrances, color cable TV, WIFI, central air and heat and both are elegantly furnished. There is also a hot tub in the courtyard. The Bougainvillea House is in the residential section of the French Quarter and just one and a half blocks to Bourbon Street. House Rules are: NO Pets, NO Parties, No Smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing