We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Treat....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rum House Caribbean Taqueria

The Rum House Caribbean Taqueria
Ranked #12 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Bar, Cuban, Central American, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treat....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

On our way out of town we wanted one last good meal. We hadn't heard anything about The Rum House but saw a big crowd on a Sunday morning so decided it was worth a try. We were quickly seated and our waitress explained the drinks and menu, offered suggestions and took our order. My husband enjoyed a delicious sandwich and I had a Caesar salad with shrimp that was great - so was the Painkiller!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Memom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    259
    46
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Perfect - Right Atmosphere, Phoenomenal Food, Good Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

You can't ask for a better brunch place. The restaurant has got it right on every dimension - atmosphere is just right for a Sunday brunch, food is to die for, drinks are made well, and selection is plenty.

Other restaurants that get it this right, will reach too far into your pockets. Not here, you end your meal with an affordable check.

Don't think twice - go and find out for yourself!

What else is worth mentioning - the crowd here is sophisticated and civilized (not the case everywhere in this city)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch - went back for dinner a few days later”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went out for a streetcar ride on a Sunday morning and decided we would walk back down Magazine to our hotel. We were overly optimistic as it was both hot and humid so we stopped for lunch - those participating in brunch were just started to leave so we found a table immediately.
The menu looked good, three of us had salads, my wife had bouillabaisse. She thoroughly enjoyed it.
Service was good, food excellent and not expensive either.
Having enjoyed it so much we went back on the Tuesday evening for dinner. The bus from Canal stops virtually outside the front door.
But Tuesday is 'two dollar Tuesday' - Tacos and beer are $2 each. The place was very busy, but nicely so. Lots of younger adults having fun. We wanted to eat outside and it was not too log a wait - $2 beers were a great way to idle away the time.
If we had stayed longer, I am sure we would have gone back again. A really good menu, well priced and great food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pain killer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Rum house is our go to when we need a "pick-me-up". We get a couple of Pain Killers (their signature rum drink) and start ordering.

Tacos are usually a way to go. Between Duck Duck Goose, Jerk Chicken, Calypso Beef, The Carolina, Creole Rib, Pork Molé, Fried Oyster and Crispy Fish just to name a few.

If you are really hungry, go for a Roti sandwich. They really are great. The chicken one is my favorite.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Busy place - for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Even though this restaurant was packed, we received quick service. Hubby and I split the B's Brisket Melt, as was recommended by our waitress, and we were not disappointed. It came with a side of sweet potato chips that were light and delicious. Friendly staff. If you're in the area, be sure to stop by and try it out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Totosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rum House Caribbean Taqueria also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to The Rum House Caribbean Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing