We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, quiet, comfortable with great service and excellent location”
Review of Audubon Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Audubon Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, quiet, comfortable with great service and excellent location”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in Cottage #7, a 1 bedroom cottage for 5 nights on our honeymoon. We were spoiled by Ada and Amanda the entire stay. They added new items for the breakfast including a baked egg dish and pastries they baked (they don't even have a kitchen on premises). It was so delicious and relaxing to start our day in the gorgeous courtyard. They helped us make dinner reservations at a wonderful restaurant too. Our air conditioning had an issue and staff came and even fixed it late at night and checked in the next day to ensure we were cool. So amazed that only one street away from Bourbon St could be so quiet. Definitely recommend this quaint and charming place. Thank you to the staff who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandJayMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
80
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Audubon Cottages and it was a great spot. We shared a 2 bedroom suite with friends and it had plenty of room and the manager, Ada, spoiled us for the entire visit. The hotel is one block off Bourbon but very quiet. Close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is a cool place. Quiet, dripping with charm, fairly well-appointed. Not quite 5 stars, though, especially given the high price point. Traveled with family of 4, stayed in cottage 5. Not enough seating in living room for all of us to hang out in the evening, and some things missing like utensils, napkins, etc. Housekeeping spotty, forgot to leave any glasses, and left a used rubber glove in the bedroom after cleaning. Hard to regulate temperature so 2nd bedroom very hot and stuffy at night. Breakfast nicely presented tho quality of items kind of disappointing, so we purchased breakfast items from Vacherie across the street. The pool was far too cold to use, though it was supposed to be heated. It was a nice place, but not sure Id be compelled to return.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed one night in the 2-bedroom Cottage #1. My wife and I stayed in the larger room, and my mother stayed in the other. This was quite a find - a quiet courtyard and accommodation just 1 block from Bourbon street. If you want a good location in the French Quarter, this puts you right in the heart of things without sacrificing peace and sleep.

We could hear some street noise from sirens and car alarms before going to bed, but it wasn't much. And it was St. Patrick's day, so it was kind of a rowdy night out. Still surprised it was as quiet as it was, given the location.

The continental breakfast was good, and they had a Keurig coffee machines and lots of water and sodas (complimentary) included. Everything was very nice. Ada - the butler for the property - was also very helpful and accommodating, making sure we had everything we needed.

It was a short stay for us. I'm not sure the French Quarter is a good fit for us, but I certainly would recommend this for any one that wanted to stay right in the middle of the action without sacrificing comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lebo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was a wonderful, tranquil place to stay. It is right in the middle of the french quarter - within walking distance of everything but it feels like you escaped to peaceful get away. It is the perfect place to stay if you want a mix of great food, fun, and relaxation. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HometownMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Audubon Cottages were fantastic. We went during Mardi Gras, when the Quarter is packed and loud, and these cottages were in the perfect location to be close to everything while still tucked away and private. The service was fantastic and the accommodations were phenomenal. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

With a literal plethora of accommodations to choose from in the Crescent City, making a decision is never easy. An endless number of factors come into play... such as convenience, amenities, ambiance, service, and of course, the swimming pool. In New Orleans, there is also a fine line between being close to the action and being IN the action.

The ideal scenario would be a beautiful location, steps from Bourbon Street and other French Quarter attractions, with the peace and quiet of a plantation home along the river. Sounds impossible, right?

Well, allow the New Orleans Hotel Collection to make you a believer with their nearly unbelievable array of properties. If you are looking for a magical getaway, you have arrived. This hotel collection consists of the Bourbon Orleans, the Crowne Plaza New Orleans Airport, Dauphine Orleans, Hotel Mazarin, Wyndham Riverfront Hotel, Hotel Le Marais, and the Audubon Cottages. Each property is unique in what it offers the discerning traveler.
However, I can hold out no longer. I can not wait another second to describe the historic brilliance that are the Audubon Cottages.

Once behind its beautiful gates, time seems to stand still, and there is not even a peep from nearby Bourbon Street. Seven cottages, fresh from a multi-million dollar restoration, beckon its visiting inhabitants to experience the epitome of "living it up" in the French Quarter. With personal butler service, anything you may require is right at your fingertips, including complimentary continental breakfast delivered each morning.

Each cottage could easily double as a private residence, complete with surprising touches that really make it feel like home. Coffee, tea, bottled water, and soft drinks are replenished every day, and the complimentary wireless internet allows you to check email, look up flight information, or (gasp) do a tiny bit of work.

And if a purely fantastic swimming pool can make or break your hotel stay, you will be pleasantly surprised! This saltwater phenomenon is said to be the oldest saltwater pool in
New Orleans. Really... how cool is that?

The attention to detail is so above industry norm that it is almost difficult to explain. The Audubon Cottages must be experienced... lived in... appreciated... before you can even begin to understand the difference between this French Quarter oasis and a standard hotel. In short, the cottages will completely blow you away.

And as if the cottages were not enough, May Bailey's Place is located right next door, and is a gorgeous place to have a drink... or two. Wait... I am being terribly conservative. With expertly crafted concoctions, you may find yourself an instant "regular", and you may not be alone. May Bailey's Place has been featured on the Travel Channel on Ghost Adventures, and you may find that you have a friend from another plane sitting next to you on the bar stool. Have an open mind, because you never know what might happen!

While staying in New Orleans, I can not recommend enough that you make the Audubon Cottages your home away from home, and, if you may seek alternate options, look within the New Orleans Hotel Collection, and have the experience of a lifetime!
For more information, please visit online, or call (504)561-5858.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,555 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,215 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Audubon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audubon Cottages

Property: Audubon Cottages
Address: 509 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Audubon Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Audubon Cottages are a local treasure, full of history, character and charm that evoke the feeling of old New Orleans. Once home to John James Audubon, each of the seven one or two bedroom suites is unique and offers a private or shared courtyard. Complimentary French Quarter butler service, continental breakfast & WiFi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Audubon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Cottages Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing