We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly Upscale Restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. John's Steakhouse

Mr. John's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr. John's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #282 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Josephine
Transit: St Charles Avenue Street Car RTA
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Upscale Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

In trying to get some information regarding hours and takeout, the interaction was very unfriendly. When we decided to buy turtle soup takeout, the service help acted like we were not 'good' enough to be in their restaurant. They were very unhelpful and rude. I would not recommend this restaurant and I would not eat here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoho92649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    49
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Steaks and much more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Located in the Wyndham on St. Charles St., this is a first class steak house with great seafood as well. Order the New York strip and don't bother with any of the sauces...it is perfect served in it's own juice. The steak is cut and cooked perfectly served on a heated plate that keeps the meat warm throughout your meal. Soft shell crabs are in season and also excellent. Lobster tail can be ordered with any dish or by itself and is outstanding. Small room, well appointed, and absolutely worth visiting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sk1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Bone in Cowboy Steak and Twin Lobster tails. I dove for the surf and turf here. I've never been a huge fab of lobster but rather an occasional enthusiast. I always thought that most lobster tails had similar flavor and were good as long as not cooked poorly. Mr. Johns changed my perspective because the sizzling twin tails had amazing flavor. The cowboy steak was good, but don't miss the lobster.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SGibbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best steaks in New Orleans ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this restaurant! They have the best steaks in New Orleans. Also you can't go wrong with seared tuna as an appetizer!

Helpful?
1 Thank Clarabelle504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

On a rainy Wednesday night in New Orleans, we opted for classic steakhouse dining and decided to give Mr. John's a try. Located on historic St. Charles Avenue the restaurant is smaller than many but very classic steakhouse decor. The service was excellent and so was the food. The wine list was excellent and the dry aged beef outstanding. The turtle soup and barbequed shrimp are not to be missed. The steaks arrived on a sizzling hot plate and sides of au poivre and bernaise were perfect. A gem of a steakhouse in creole country!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drtaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. John's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mr. John's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing