We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground for the New Orleans Tourist”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Orleans West KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice campground for the New Orleans Tourist”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Friendly staff who seemed to go out of their way for their guests. Great courtesy shuttles to New Orleans but the seats fill up fast because this is a busy campground. It is about 40 mins outside of the French Quarter, but the ease of the shuttle makes up for the crazy traffic in New Orleans. Good value for the $$ and relatively convenient location if you want to visit other attractions like the swamp rides or plantations that dot the Mississippi River.

Room Tip: The downsideis there are constant trains running, but since New Orleans is a port, I guess you can e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanDiego
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The service here is fantastic. I have a tent space with utilities. The laundry, restrooms and pool are very convenient. Fabulous colors (Mardi Gras). Free shuttle to Bourbon Street. The driver is great! He gives information on the area and is very nice and prompt. This is a great service. Restrooms are very clean and lots of hit water. The office hours are great 8-8. None of this closing at 5 o'clock stuff. So they are available when you need them. This KOA does not have the kabins. I really liked this KOA.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmoSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Little hard to find, and not a big entrance sign. do not use your GPS. But after your arrival you couldn't ask for a friendler and more helpful staff. They guided us in our spot and even helped us set uo. We were having AC priblems and the Park Manager Mike Dunn evern offered to look at it, and evern climbed up on the roof to check all the wiring. We finally ended up calling an on site repair person reccommend by Mike and staff and although it needed a part we managed to survive until the part arrived at our next destination. They even offered us fans and a cabin to sleep in for the nite with AC. The manager even gave us all hints and directions and things to see an do and checked on us every day. The entire staff was awesome and sites were nice and level and restrooms and pool very clean as was the laundry room We would definitely go back there if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBilby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Shuttle to/from the French Quarter, very limited, one at 9 am and one at 5pm.
"Sorry, no room for you on the morning shuttle, and find your own way back from the 5pm shuttle". The ten miles to the French Quarter takes an hour and a half by bus and trolley. Miss the 9pm bus and it's a $30 cab ride.
Went to cool off in the pool after a day of walking in the New Orleans heat and the pool was locked up while it was still supposed to be open, office closed too.
All they would do is pass the buck, "yeah, they should say 'limited shuttle service' in the advertising"., and the next day about the pool being closed early, "well I don't know about that".
They made it difficult to enjoy our visit to New Orleans and obviously left us with bad memories too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mdeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Brought my kids camping to New Orleans, and stayed for a few nights at the KOA. Staff was nice and helpful, location was right in the middle of all the areas that we wanted to see. I would recommend this place for a weekend camping getaway. Weekdays are less busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We have stayed at this KOA several times and it is always a great experience. On our last visit in April a few of the pads were being redone so they will be perfectly level.

Staff is friendly and the grounds are kept very clean which is a huge plus in my book!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and already met most of the staff who told us all the latest gossip. Super friendly, very much child friendly Koa to stay, highly recommended. The only problem (which is actually ours) is that the sewer tank is far from water tap, but that's our issue. Swimming pool is cold, welcomed with this super hot weather, bathrooms get a good scrub between 12-14:00 daily. It's close to perfect if not the neighberhood

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lio56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites New Orleans Airport
1.7 mi away
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans-Elmwood/Clearview Parkway Area
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Airport
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans West KOA

Property: New Orleans West KOA
Address: 11129 Jefferson Hwy, New Orleans, LA 70123-1705
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing