We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly, comfortable place to park your rig.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Orleans West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Orleans West KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Country California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A friendly, comfortable place to park your rig.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews here, we arrived with some apprehension. There wasn't any photos posted from other travelers at this time and there were some not so favorable reviews. We will post pics! The location is a little away from all of the tourist sites...depending on traffic, maybe an average of 30 minutes? Twice that during peak traffic. We needed an affordable and safe place. We had our tow car and gps so that was fine, one of the trade-offs to save some $. The immediate area around the KOA wasn't the greatest but that seems to be the case about half the time anyways with rv parks in large cities doesn't it? Like some others have mentioned, our gps did try to have us make a U-turn but it isn't necessary. The drive into the KOA does have several houses running along one side, so does at first feel as if it isn't an entrance to the location but it is. It's just one of the parts to an unusual set-up at this KOA. The office staff was very friendly and efficient at check-in and a staff member waited patiently while we unhooked our tow car so that they could assist us to and into our site. There are no pull thru sites in this park. The sites held larger rigs than ours and ours is a 40 ft with slide. Emphasis was placed on keeping the walkway cleared that runs in front of all the sites in our row but that was no problem at all since there was adequate room in the parking area provided in front of our rig. The sites are concrete pads and we leveled easily. A picnic table was provided and we had plenty of room to set up our grill and relax. There was a container plant on our site but sadly it had withered and died. Not enough rain they said. We were here for several days, and during that time we did hear a dog bark for a few minutes just down the row from us, and we heard a train twice...they are close and use their horns but not every day that we were there. We occasionally heard jet planes. We noticed all of these noises, but they in no way impacted our stay. This is I believe the first place we have stayed that offered a dog walking service: $5 a walk. Very convenient while off being a tourist in the French Quarter! The laundry room was clean and functional, the pool clean and busy in the evenings, the office/store had some nice unique items (Hurricane Cocktail Mix, Bread Pudding Mix, Beignet Mix!), as well as some of the common touristy souvenirs. The dog park area was another part of the unusual set-up being as it's entrance is between two houses and actually is their backyard. I've included pics. It was clean, welcoming and useful, lol, just as I've said, an unusual set-up. Overall, we felt that this KOA was safe, welcoming, friendly, and genuinely invested in the quality of our stay. This is not a destination resort, rather it's a nice place to come home to. They've offered guests a lot with what they have to work with and we would surely use them again.

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same and they'll guide you to and into the one they think will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Monroe, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a reservation, but the morning we were to go to New Orleans the NWS had flash flood advisories and was calling for heavy showers for the next 5 days. We called and canceled our reservation expecting to pay the $10 cancellation penalty. This KOA charged us the full amount, approx $50, with no regard for our concerns. Disappointed, especially as we stay a KOA's quite a bit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rvtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This KOA has back on only sights and we were concerned as we much prefer pull through. Our concerns were immediately calmed as the guide calmly and very professionally instructed us how to back in. The staff are very attentive and provided great travel tips and directions. The showers and restrooms are secure and kept quite clean. Great location to explore New Orleans from.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 42421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this campground before. And it is exceptionally clean with a nice pool and a great bath house that is also very clean. It has a nice general store with basic needs and souvenirs. The owners and the other employees could not be more helpful. This koa has only back in sites but this staff is very helpful to assist you. We will be visiting again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Ahh the serene memories of very, very small campsites, hearing every sound our neighbors made, jets landing, train horns going off over and over, dogs barking, babies crying and beams of street lighting shining into our tent throughout the night. This is not a typical camping experience. It's merely a place to "sleep" if you want to visit NOLA on a budget. Bathrooms were clean, but shower stalls were extremely small. The staff was very friendly and helpful and you can tell they're trying to make the best out of a crappy piece of real estate. Security was solid as well. We felt safe. The price was crappy and they inflated it because there was some festival going on.. Which we weren't there for... So watch out for that. We paid almost $200 for three nights. Oh and there are no fire rings, so bring your own. The picnic tables are also very small, so you may want to bring an extra table. It's a 20 minute drive into the city. Bring earplugs or headphones, a sleeping mask and liquor and you'll be fine here. Best you're gonna get for dirty NOLA. Also... Better reserve your spot on the shuttle weeks in advance because by the time you get there it will be full. (Note: we are a married couple in our 20s, so we tent camp. May be a different experience with an RV)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This park is well off of Interstate 10 and you will need to go to the KOA website to get the best directions on getting there, don’t trust your GPS. All spaces are back-ins and most can accommodate a big rig. Your toad will be parked in front of your rig and you should use it to go to town, pay for parking ($10+), and not worry about the shuttle, bus, or taxi. Each level gravel site comes with a concrete patio pad and picnic table. The road thru the park is paved, in good condition and the grounds are kept looking nice. Pool, laundry and bathrooms were all clean and well maintained. There are enough trees in the park that you should tell the office when booking if you need open sky for your satellite. WIFI worked well. Staff was friendly and very helpful with info about touring the big Easy. Hope you like trains because a track runs next to the park, trains are frequent and the engineer loves to blow the horn!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The staff here are among the most friendly and helpful of any campground I've visited. The location is outside of New Orleans but the park offers a free shuttle service to the French Quarter (leaving at 9:00 am and 5:00 pm; returning at 5:45 pm). Since there is no evening shuttle pick-up, I suggest arranging with another guest to share at taxi back to the RV park. The park is kept spotlessly clean including grounds, restrooms and showers. The showers are very small however. A train line runs behind the RV park; there must be several level crossings in the neighbourhood because the train blows its horn constantly for a minute or two. That said, in the four days we stayed I only heard the train a half dozen times. The shuttle driver also gives a pretty good guided tour along the way.

The sites are back-in with a concrete pad, generally level with grass between sites (the campground is treed but most sites lack shade). The sites are reasonably spaced apart given this is an urban park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans West KOA

Property: New Orleans West KOA
Address: 11129 Jefferson Hwy, New Orleans, LA 70123-1705
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing