We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spent the first few nights of our trip at the Hyatt French Quarter, and maybe that stay spoiled us. We switched to the Four Points for our last couple of nights, using points, and I wouldn't want to stay there again, even using points. The rooms are very small, the ones facing Bourbon are very loud, and the service wasn't great. We asked for a cab to Jazz Fest, but then the bellman disappeared. When we wanted a cab to the airport, he was again not to be found until I was completely fed up, so we just walked to Decatur to hail our own cab, in the rain. I can't wait to return to New Orleans but will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caipirinha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear caipirinha3,

We are very sorry for the negatives you experienced while staying here at Four Points French Quarter. We have made sure to take soundproofing measures on those guest rooms that are facing both Bourbon and Toulouse Streets, so we apologize for the noise you heard in your rooms. We will be speaking with all of our bellmen to make sure that this type of issue does not happen again. Please accept our deepest apologies, and if you need to speak with someone regarding your stay please reach out to our General Manager, Beth Ables, at b.ables@fourpointsfrenchquarter.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    374
    139
    51
    38
See reviews for
169
349
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I spent two nights at the Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter, New Orleans, Louisiana. The hotel is located in the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse streets, basically at the heart of the French Quarters. The staff were very professional and friendly, and the ladies who clean the rooms were always willing to help us in any way. The room was not very modern and the bathroom was kind of small, but in general, the rooms are well maintained and clean. The bed made a difference: very comfortable! We liked the complimentary Wi-Fi, the safety box, and good coffee, but we missed a hair dryer. The hotel is in a very busy and noisy area, but if the purpose of your trip to New Orleans is to have fun, simply enjoy the music, party, food, and Abita beer….you have found the perfect place!

Room Tip: Because of the noise, I would recommend the rooms in the higher stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear planetvisitor,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are so glad that you found our location convenient and our staff professional and friendly. Thank you for the feedback regarding your guest room; please note that we are currently undergoing a renovation and the new look and feel of the guest rooms will shortly be much more modern and comfortable. Please choose us again the next time you return to the French Quarter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel was beautiful and in the middle of all of the action on Bourbon Street. The rooms were a little small; however, they were nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The pool is located on the outside terrace and is a nice place to relax and listen to the noise of the city. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a lovely stay!

Room Tip: If possible, stay on the top floor - It has old windows to look out over all of the Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear JennLou,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write us a review. We appreciate you staying with us at Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter, and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay while here. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in total and enjoyed my stay.

Firstly, this hotel has a great location - right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Bourbon St. Oh the convenience of stumbling just a few steps back to your hotel after guzzling down some Hurricanes.
The great location does come at a price - it gets quite noisy past dusk up until 2 or 3 am. We stayed on the highest level (5th floor) but could still hear the happenings on the streets below. It didn't matter much to me as I felt that only added to the atmosphere of staying in the French Quarter.

Rooms were clean. Though my shower curtain was stained at the bottom and there was even a used face towel from the previous occupant left hanging on the shower rail. But I made a call to Guest Services and they sent housekeeping up within 2 hours to change the shower curtain and get rid of the towel.

Overall, rooms were lovely and it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cracqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear cracqueen,

We are so glad that you enjoyed our location as well as your guest room and stay. We do apologize for the issue you experienced with the shower curtain and the towel, but we are very happy that Guest Services was able to resolve it for you. Please return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My wife and I visited NO 16-19 April 2013 and stayed at the
sheraton 4 point hotel. This was at one time an opra house. Now it is a stately hotel in the heart of the French Quarter.The hotel was very good. Check in and out was fast and easy. Bell Boys were attentive and the consierge was very helpful. Bottom line is that the entire wstaff except for one bartender was excellent. Laura the bartender was unpleasant and certainly did not reflect the rest of the staff. The hotel was clean, and the beds were very comffortable. Dining room food was excellent. The pool was clean, but cold. We took an interior room so as not to hear the Bourban street noise all night--that worked out fine. The hotel is central to most things in the quarter--easy walking distance. Ont thought on the area is that
bourban street smelled bad--people must urinate in the open there and we did see human feces in a door way/ They do clean streets daily, but the area smells bad and must really stink in the hot summer. I recommend this to anyone visiting NO.

Room Tip: interreior rooms at court yard are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engineer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear engineer48,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you describing us as stately! We are so glad that our staff could take care of you and make everything easy on you during your stay. Plus, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Cafe Opera. Thank you so much for recommending us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is located in the heart of the best party in the states so it is a great hotel. Get balcony rooms for festivals. I stayed during the off season and loved it. I drank and ate and could stop at my room to drop anything I bought so I was not carrying things all day and losing them. I stayed at a time that I could bargain the price and got a great deal!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pizza_steve2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We knew it would be noisy, being right in the heart of Bourbon Street. We had a balcony, which was very large and in the middle of all the action, saw some interesting things to say the least. The room was clean, the beds and pillows were super comfy! But the room is very very small, and the bathroom is almost too small to move around in, but for three days, we made do. If I were to stay here again, I would not choose a Bourbon Street room, it was just too loud, but what else would it be, right? It's Bourbon Street. Now I can say I have done it:) I did eat breakfast one rainy morning in the restaurant downstairs and it was pretty good also.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurawade01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Laurawade01,

We're glad that you were able to experience the exciting atmosphere of Bourbon Street. We do understand your comments regarding the size of the rooms. It is good to hear that your meal was satisfactory and we hope that you do try us out again - we recommend one of our beautiful courtyard balcony rooms. It's very quiet and relaxing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Property: Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Address: 541 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2105 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing