We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for fun, not for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #57 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter, which makes it a convenient location for enjoying bacchanalian pursuits. However, the location and facility are not ideal for work for this and other reasons. The physical facility is a bit worn but better than most in the quarter. Rooms are not ergonomic for work and electrical outlets for laptops only exist at the desk, so you're left to charge your phone elsewhere. There are no outlets accessible from the bed so relaxing while using your laptop is limited by battery time. You'd better bring your own WiFi HotSpot because the internet connection is poor, unreliable, and useless. Connections are dropped and speed when functioning is glacial. Pity the person who has to send or receive a large file. If you get a room, make sure it's to the rear of the hotel on a upper floor, otherwise you'll enjoy the Bourbon Street "wildlife" all night long.

Room Tip: Get a room that is to the rear of the hotel on an upper floor away from Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FedVetAPHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear FedVetAPHIS,

We understand your concerns and we apologize for the inconvenient experience you had. We are currently undergoing renovations to our guest rooms, and we are adding new lighting fixtures, outlet options and bedcover. We are also working on the speed of the Internet. We hope that on your next trip to New Orleans you'll give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton on our return to New Orleans after a 9 day river trio up the Mississippi. Very fun being on Bourbon street. Noise quieted down around 10 PM. Rooms were nicely appointed and beds were extremely comfortable. Staff very friendly, and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timtam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Timtam49,

Thank you for staying with us at Four Points by Sheraton. We are very glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope this will encourage you to try other Four Points hotels. We can't wait to see you back again the next time you are in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Location was perfect! You are within walking distance to most anything you'd want to see or do in the French Quarter. If you get a street side room, it's going to be noisy- but I thought the bed was so comfortable that I really didn't mind the noise. Plus the balcony street side makes it worth it because you can see all the old architechture in the area from some of them. Pool area was beautiful and the staff was one of the most courteous I have ever seen. Remember that you are paying for the location and don't be shocked that while the rooms are clean and comfy, the amenities are a little dated, and not in the "cool old stuff" dated way. Water and internet are both free. Drinks at bar are resonably priced.

Room Tip: Street side rooms will be noisier that rooms on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABtravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great location, wonderful rooms, noisy as expected, security tops, Avoid steep parking fees by parking at open lots near by. Rooms were great and the free Abita beer samples I liked. Have fun, enjoy the ride.

Room Tip: Rooms on Bourbon Street noisy as expected. We were on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHARLES K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear ChuckK2,

Thank you for staying with us at Four Points by Sheraton. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the samples of our local Best Brew, courtesy of the Four Points Best Brews Program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for the French Quarter Festival not without trepidation - heard Bourbon St was noisy & so it was but our room overlooking the pool was an oasis of peace. The bed was very comfortable & we appreciated the free coffee & tea in the room. Highlight must be the staff, nothing too much trouble & always with a smile.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool & ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear motham,

We are very proud of our courtyard and we are so glad that you found it to be an oasis of peace. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

When this hotel was the Ramada Plaza Hotel, I thought it to be one of the most beautiful in the French Quarter. Now it is probably a bit more comfortable and definitely updated, but the contemporary decor is at odds with it's wonderful history and location. As far as convenience, the hotel cannot be beat. While you are on Bourbon Street, it is safe and not noisy and you are withing easy walking distance to any French Quarter tourist attraction. The doormen and women are friendly and competent. This does not carry over to the front desk personnel who in my experience were surly or uncommunicative. The new decor has a lot of sharp edges and squares and the drawers in the room dresser have been replaced with canvas bins. The beds are comfortable but the showers are touchy with water pressure problems and have the built in containers with shampoos, conditioner and gel. The bar was pleasant with friendly service, afternoon snacks, and in particular Omar gave us good service. Since there is such a selection of wonderful properties at good prices in and near the French Quarter, I think this hotel needs a little help to live up to the competition. I would, however, probably stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

First, when you book a hotel on Bourbon Street you should know what your getting into! The rooms with balconys on Bourbon Street will be noiser than those facing the courtyard. If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest not staying on Bourbon Street at all and not less than a block away. The noise does carry to hotels a block away sometimes. The drapes do a great job of blocking out the light and lights on Bourbon Street.

If you are a Bourbon Street lover then this hotel is a plus because once outside the front door you are in the middle of all that Bourbon Street has to offer. My wife and I usually don't hang out on Bourbon Street and sometime don't even get on it except to cross it going somewhere else. The balcony is a great people watcher location though.

The hotel is nice enough when you enter the lobby. This isn't high end so don't expect it. The bar is nothing special and somewhat boring, but it is a bar. We did not eat at the restaurant, so can't really say anything about it. We did look inside and it again looks light a restaurant, but nothing special. The courtyard area is somewhat typical New Orleans pool courtayrd. It's ok, nothing special. The pool and some tables and chairs and lounge chairs surround the pool.There was no bar service while we were there at the pool area and do not know if it is ever offered.

A small area off the front desk is whwere you can get snacks and drinks (non- alacholic). Again, nothing special, but it is available and I have no idea in regard to the prices because it never drew us in. It was just there.

The front desk was polite and check in was a breeze and wake up calls were handled without a snafu. The final bill as is the custom these days was placed under the door the last morning and was correct and made for no need to check out at the desk. They do require you to show your key when entering the hotel in the evening to keep non guest out and on Bourbon Street that seemed a nice idea,

The room we stayed in was a king balcony on Bourbon Street. The balcony is shared, although the courtyard rooms have private balconys that are close enough to be considered shared. It is basic, but missing a few things. It did not have a mini fridge or microwave. I think all hotels should have these for there guest now. The T.V. was on the table/dresser, but the old wall mounted stand for the T.V. was still on the wall. It was this wooden thing that had a cut out in the back for the wiring! It detracts from an already basic room and should have been removed when the location of the T.V. was changed. The arm chair provided was nice and comfortable. The closet had a safe and ironing board. The bathroom was ok, nothing special again. The shower/tub combinatin was standard size and had the row of dispensers for bath gel, shampoo, and conditoner. I do not like these because you do not know what kind of products they are using and I think that is why they use them. I like the individual bodies that show who made these products and for a Starwood property, I was a bit surprised. Towels are nothing special either. One sink in the bathroom and another one would have been nice.The bed was comfortable, a little soft for me, but my wife liked it. I really liked the weight of the comforter and bed spread. The sheets were just hotel sheets and you each had two pillows that were comfortable too.

The room needed touching up in places where paint had chipped and the toilet seat showed signs of wear. The lamps shades were crooked and did not seem to want to go in the right position when I tried to adjust them. It didnt really bother me, I was just curious if they were really like that or not. Attention to detail matters to me.

I won't book here again, not because the experience was bad, but because it wasn't anything special. Even though you are going to spend most of your time out in the Quarter or the Garden District or wherever, it's not that important to some, but we like to come back to a really nice room or suite and I do not thing this hotel can live up to it, but if being on Bourbon Street is what you want and in the middle of the action I think it might be an ok place. I would probably pay a little more for a little more if I were you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mccrazyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear mccrazyone,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We would like to answer a few of your questions. The pool has bar service during the summer months, but unfortunately we have not reached that time yet. If there are guests around the pool throughout the day we will try our very best to have one of the staff members from inside visit the pool area to determine if they need anything. We are in the process of undergoing a renovation, and the TV is actually going to be mounted on the wall versus sitting on the dresser. We have installed the TV mounts, but are still in the process of getting all TVs in all guest rooms mounted. We apologize that this was an inconvenience. We are working to get the rooms updated as quickly as possible. We hope that with this new information you will give us another try the next time you visit the French Quarter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,442 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
2,282 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
5,009 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#66 of 166 in New Orleans
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Address: 541 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2105 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £100 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing