We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, but some updates are needed..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, but some updates are needed..”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

First off, the staff at this hotel are some of the friendliest and most helpful in the Starwood chain!! We used to stay at the W French Quarter but the service at this hotel made us switch. As the title states, the rooms could use some updating. The AC unit in two of the rooms we had didn't work so well and the carpets are a bit worse for wear. The location is great and having the ability to sit on a balcony, watch the crowds and have a drink while taking a break from wandering through the Quarter is a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wvugrad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    385
    145
    51
    38
See reviews for
174
366
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WALES ENGLAND
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had one night before our flight home.They gave us our room at 2pm,it was clean and bright at the back which we asked for.The staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel is on Bourbon street but we didn't find it to noisy.They have a pool but it was closed when we went.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back if you want it quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joycewalesengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear joycewalesengland,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am happy to hear that we were able to meet all of your expectations while on property and we hope that you really enjoyed your time in the French Quarter. We hope you will come back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckneyville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed at this place several times. As a matter of fact we stayed there when we got married in 1999. We love the balcony rooms and gladly pay a little more for them and consider having a balcony room a must when we are there. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms are well taken care of by the great cleaning staff. We can't wait to go back to celebrate our anniversary there in September as we have done as often as our schedules and finances allow. It's in the heart of the action and the rooms don't seem all that noisy to me considering all the things going on outside, even with the second floor balcony which we prefer. Love this place. I wish it was a little cheaper but I guess you have to pay more for the best location to stay on Bourbon Street.

Room Tip: If you are there for fun get a balcony room and sit out there and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SO. Cal.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel could be SO much better with a little attention by management. I get that the hotel is going to be loud and loaded with young adults given its location in the French Quarter. However, why are rooms not released until 3PM for check-in? They are ready - why hold everyone in the lobby?

Our second night we left the hotel at 10AM, informing the cleaning staff in the hall that we would be back in a few hours. We returned at 4:30PM and the room had not been serviced. Asked the "supervisor" in the hallway - response was we haven't gotten that far yet. Really?

The location is prime, and that is about the only redeeming quality.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the back are MUCH quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BajaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear BajaMike,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and let us know about your experience at the Four Points French Quarter. I am very sorry to hear that you encountered some frustrations with the housekeeping process while on property. I have passed this review along to the management team so that they can address these issues for future guest stays. Again, I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, but I hope that the rest of your time in the French Quarter was much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

First the cons, the room was small, and the hotel overall was very noisy at night, even early morning hours 3 or 4 am, lots of loud drunk people. We were expecting that and let it be part of the bourbon street party experience. Parking was 30 dollars a day. We checked out at 11 and left the car until 3 and they charged an additional 20 dollars. The pros, right on bourbon street. You walk out the front door and you are immediately in the thick of things. Food and drink were good and reasonably priced. The concierge, front desk staff and bell men were helpful and courteous and gave great recommendations about food and attractions. The bar is a great place to watch all the craziness on bourbon street without actually being out in it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Teammcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The location of the hotel is about the only redeeming factor of this hotel. Being fairly local, we will stay in New Orleans frequently. I've been to this property twice and the experience is very lackluster, at best. I was looking forward to having another Starwood in the French Quarter; but holding status at this hotel means nothing, thus negates the entire reason for me staying here. I only stand at Gold, but wasn't acknowledged or given any attention better than the Priceline stayer.

On the first occasion, I was on business but decided to switch the last night from the W for the location. I was told I was upgraded to a balcony. At first I declined, but was told that was actually the only room. (So already that special feeling). However, given the Bourbon facing room, noise wasn't awful. Be forewarned that staff doesn't have access to the communal balcony. So when neighbors next door are rowdy at 4 or 5 am they have to come through your room.

At the end of the day, staff just doesn't come close to the New Orleans caliber. My first room's shower didn't work and I needed tweezers to turn the shower on. Called the front desk - was never fixed. The second stay had so many staff faults ranging from the front desk manners to actually being walked in on the maid at 10 am, in the bare, with Do Not Disturb posted, and not on my checkout date. We confronted managers about all these issues and we were just brushed off.

Stay for the convenience of coming back to the room to fill your drink (and saying you 'stayed on Bourbon'). Otherwise there are many options a few blocks away, including Starwood.

Room Tip: Balcony street room noise isn't as awful as I would have guessed; pending a good neighbor. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jleuenbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear jleunebe,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about your experience at the Four Points French Quarter. We appreciate your feedback so that we can improve the guest experience going forward. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered quite a few issues on property, especially in regards to customer service. As you know, being a loyal Starwood member, customer service is something that is very important to our company, so thank you for letting us know that you felt this hotel has an opportunity to improve. I have passed this review along to our management team as they will want to ensure that they make corrections to these areas in order to improve the guest experience. Again, I am so sorry that your time spent on property was not a positive one, but I hope that the rest of your time in the French Quarter was much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Overall the hotel is good quality, but the area is very quiet because it is located at the heart of the French Quarter. The evening if you do not love the nightlife is difficult to sleep.

Our room was very large, with two beds, nice bathroom but the room was very hot-
The pool is small but it is a rarity to find in the center of New Orleans, unfortunately the day was frequented by drunk people carrying crates of beer in the pool and then in our 3-day stay we could go swimming in the evenings only.
In the evening there are guardians to enter the hotel because they turn many drunk people.
Parking is expensive and only with valet service., And often workers are not kind and willing to take the car when you need it.
Only recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be the center of entertainment in the evening, otherwise it is better to look for another hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norvegiasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Property: Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Address: 541 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2105 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing