We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at the Baronne Plaza Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #98 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at the Baronne Plaza Hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I stayed at Baronne this past weekend during Mardi Gras and had a positive experience. I chose the hotel for its price and for its proximity to Bourbon St. I had a number of conversations with the staff prior to my arrival as I was managing reservations for a multiple rooms and there were a number of modifications that I needed to make to the reservations as well as confirmations to be managed. Both before my stay and during, the hotel staff was patient, responsive, and courteous even in spite of an incident that occurred when one of my crew partied a little too hard.

As for the hotel, itself, it's going through renovations and the block that it is on is kinda...blah. With that said, while the look and the feel of the lobby is merely perfunctory, the rooms appear to have completed their renovations and I was pleased with their quality (i.e, soft bed, flat-screen tv, nice bathroom). I suspect that I got a deal on the room because of the renovations, but it was well worth the price. The hotel, itself, is one block away from Canal St. and the French Quarter and two blocks from the corner of Canal and Bourbon. It's a great location if you want to be close to the main N.O. nightlife and still save a bit of cash.

One thing to be on the look out for: the internal rooms have windows that open to the interior of the hotel, itself, which I'm sure some would think is a privacy issue in spite of the fact that they have curtains. You'll want to request a room that opens to the exterior of the hotel.

Aside from that, make no mistake that during Mardi Gras, you're going to have a party crowd at this hotel. They'll be up late, and while the noise level was not a problem for me, there are people coming and going (and making some noise) in the middle of the night during Mardi Gras.

Would I stay there again? Yep.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyvekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    764
    423
    187
    147
See reviews for
442
735
97
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Baronne Plaza Hotel the week previous to Mardi Gras. The hotel is very well located at walking distance to the French Quarter (1-2 blocks), that also makes it noisy at night time. Personal at front desk was very helpful and friendly, they help us in everything we asked. We wasn't very lucky with the room. The phone was not working, in the bathroom there was a fin and it was not 100% clean (it was in ok conditions to sleep). I would recomend this hotel if you are not too picky... some other people told us that their rooms were ok. Internet wireless was perfect, and the rooms were very big and confortable. If you don't want to expend a huge amount of money this is your place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_del_Mar_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I found this hotel to be great overall. The hotel is being remodeled, and they are adding three business conference rooms; therefore, there are some furniture boxes sitting around, but the rooms themselves are nicely furnished and well-kept. There is wireless access (although the connection is unsecured). The staff is VERY friendly. The hotel is very close to the French Quarter and the St. Charles Streetcar. It is right off Canal Street, so almost everything is within walking distance.

I did have two complaints:

(1) The parking. It is $20 per night valet service. If you need to get in and out, you have to stop by the front desk so they can walk outside and push a remote to let the bar up so you can enter and exit. The ramp which leads under the building to the parking garage is very steep. However, if you intend to park and stay there until you leave, it is not that big of a deal.

(2) We got the less expensive of the rooms, and these rooms do not include a mini-fridge and microwave. While I understand that these are available in the more expensive rooms, it would still be a nice amenity in every room.

Overall it was a great place to stay. Next time, I will spring for the rooms with micro-fridges. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Liked — the friendly service
  • Disliked — the parking
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SED84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA & Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

When we pulled up, we were out front, who'd guess that the entrance was far on the right (no signs until try to enter front door), so we had to cart our luggage around the corner. I'd looked on-line and found a parking garage on Gravier St (1 st. up), so after checking-in, I parked in a Ampco Garage ($36 versus the $90 that Baronne would have charged!). Attempting to get ready for the town, we found that the shower about tore threw the wall when turned on (shaking) and took at least 5 min to heat up. Oh and we had the Exec King Suite with the jacuzzi -- or lack thereof! -- it was a small bath tub with little vents on the sides and not even the back. Oh and our Exec King Suite was actually smaller than our friends Double Suite, but ours was $40 more a night!! Hope you're not looking to be pampered, because you're drinking out of styrofoam and the fridge/microwave that is included isn't there -- you have to request it!!
Isn't a suite that has two rooms make you think they are separate? They're NOT ... it has a see through half-wall in the middle of the room. Don't expect any privacy in this suite.
If all of this wasn't enough, when we'd looked for the room initially on a website, the check-out time was listed as noon. Our friends in the Double Suite were checking out early and called since the desk was saying check-out was at 11am, so we called down to check. It was now 10:45am, and with website print off in hand, I called, "We made a mistake and though check-out was at noon per another website, can we get a late check out or an extra half-hour?" There answer, "NO!! Sorry, but you need to check out at our checkout time of 11am." They wouldn't budge ... and I won't ever budge to go back to this hotel again!!!

  • Liked — Location close to Bourbon St.
  • Disliked — See Review
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlotofTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive.

We will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff members so we can make the necessary changes and hopefully, win back your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We secured a reservation for $89/night during graduation weekend and received an interior facing room. Renovation work was visible, but nothing was going on during our weekend stay. Overall our stay was quiet, but on Sunday morning you do hear the younger people coming back from the French Quarter. That's going to be expected staying anywhere near the French Quarter though. And since the prices are so reasonable, there are going to be guests from that crowd staying at the hotel. The hotel room itself was clean and tidy, and close walking distance to the French Quarter.

  • Liked — Close to French Quarter
  • Disliked — Loud when guests come back at 5am
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitterpat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2008

May 16-19. We were there for a siblings birthday and the hotel was fine for what we wanted. We paid something like $150.00 total. The staff was friendly and there was construction visible, but we never heard anything. The hotel is easy walking distance to the quarter and away from all the traffic and noise. Really, how much time do you spend in your hotel room in the Big Easy? The hotel was really quiet. There is a great local bar on Baronne a block before Canal where the drinks are cheap and locals are colorful to say the least. Mikes pub and grub I think. A beer at the hotel was like five bucks, plus. Not the nicest place I have stayed, but I was looking for a place to crash after a few drinks.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear your stay was overall satisfactory, but we will still pass along those noticeable shortcomings to our staff members. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Just returned from Jazz Fest in New Orleans. We found this hotel to be run down, beat up, dirty, and smelly. We had to change rooms because the toilet didn't work. In the next room the remote and hair dryer didn't work. Both rooms reeked of must or mold. The floors were unwashed, the carpet was dirty and there was dust and dirt everywhere. The furniture was either broken or chipped. Even the windows on the front doors of the hotel were filthy. And there was a hole in the wall in the hallway. Yes, it's a decent location but location isn't everything and this is a hotel that I would avoid at all costs. It won't ever get my business again.

  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive.

We will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff members so we can make the necessary changes and hopefully, win back your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#63 of 163 in New Orleans
1,369 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#74 of 163 in New Orleans
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing