We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time right outside the Quarter”
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    405
    131
    42
    22
See reviews for
202
425
62
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very nice accomodations and fun to see how they transformed this old historic bank into a neat hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for the great rating! We appreciate you choosing the Whitney Wyndham Hotel and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A grand ole property, not near as large and regal, as it appears In their photo’s but very nice. The location was pretty good, easy to find, and quiet. Semi close to everything, maybe a 6 minute walks to the beginning of Bourbon Street, perhaps 15 to Jackson Square. Maybe 10 minutes to the Casino, a tad longer to the convention center, but easily doable.

Upon entering the staff was cordial, but not overly friendly, which is fine by me. They were sold out that night, so my room was on the second floor. It was well done. Nice bedding, good TV, nice bathroom, overall it was on the small side, but I did book a single.

Next to my room was the exercise room, and somewhere close must have been the hospitality or maintenance staff room, which did wake me up every morning.

The restaurant was eye appealing, and generally had a small crowd, but I did not eat there, with other places of note fairly close – Mother’s being just two short blocks away.

There was no pool, but I heard the front desk clerk mention that swimming, etc., could be done at any of their many sister facilities, located within 5 or 10 minute walks.

I would recommend this to friends (singles and couples) who wanted something reasonably priced, conveniently located and quiet. I don’t believe it was kid-friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor. The mornings were noisy with the staff coming and going, from there work ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveCameraWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and your feedback. We'll share this information with our team to ensure we're creating the best guest experience possible. If there is any other information you feel we should have, please don't hesitate to contact me. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanya, Antalya, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I had been there for 4 nights and really loved my stay there. The staff working there are so familiar. Helpful in the cases the guest have sone question or so.
The price of hotel is just perfect.
If you are in a business trip chose Whitney. :-)

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and for staying at the Whitney Wyndham Hotel. I'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our staff. We look forward to serving you again so please don't hesitate to contact us when you're coming back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Property: The Whitney Hotel
Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing