We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitney”
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #51 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Old building with some character. Rooms need to be updated and quieter.

Lobby smelled bad. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Shayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations but we'll use this information to provide better services in the future. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to hear about your visit.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank jwbryan4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay was only for 1 night during a busy weekend in the city & we were able to get a great price through expedia when other hotels & sites were outrageous. The Whitney hotel is small but definitely does not lack style or necessities. Our bed was clean & extremely comfortable especially after walking around the city all day! The location is great! In walking distance of the SuperDome, river walk & bourbon st. Hotel staff was polite but the front desk is not supplied with things like band aids.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LisaLee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for the great review and your kind comments. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at the Whitney on 4/10/14. Clean room, nice staff. We will return. Great place if you want to be close to the FQ but not in it. They have in and out valet parking for $28 for 24 hours but they didn't charge us extra to leave our car there for a few extra hours before we left.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter because they face another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Please let us know if we can help with any future visits to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Whitney has wonderful character and the location was perfect. Walk to conferences at Intercontinental, or meals at Mothers, Commerce, Gordon Beirsch and more. Community Coffee cafe is just a few steps away too.

You can request a mini fridge, and if you're lucky like I was, you'll get one. Coffee in the room and both rooms we reserved were split in two two areas: the two-bedroom had two bedrooms separated by doors and the one-bedroom had a sitting room and then a bedroom.

Overall, the staff was wonderful. They answered questions about parking and amenities before I arrived and were friendly and professional 9 times out of 10. One day it seemed like we had the B-shift, but otherwise everyone was wonderful.

There are little things needing touch ups here and there, but I'd expect it looks better than most hotels in NOLA do. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

Our only complaint was that one time when we called the front desk to get our car, the employee failed to actually call a valet for us. After waiting almost an hour I checked with the front desk and he said he'd check with the valet. 10 minutes later the valet showed up with our car. When we asked what the delay was, he looked surprised and said he'd just been called.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank TXDesigner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for the great review and your candid feedback. We'll be sure to review following up with Guest's Request with our Service Agents. We'll hopefully get another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I found this hotel quite disappointing on several fronts: rooms not very clean; poor upkeep; tired decor. Although the staff was cheerful (its a city-wide trait) there was little evidence of investment in this historic architectural gem. I wonder how it maintains the Wyndham flag.

On arrival we discovered a half-consumed cup of coffee and a tube of chap-stick on the window sill. In a corner of the room we found the remains of unconsumed Cheetos. During my four day stay there I never once heard the sound of a vacuum cleaner. The exercise room suffered from the same lack of attention: the trash can was nearly overflowing by our last day there.

Hallways were marred, tiled areas in bathrooms were chipped revealing rusted wire mesh, wall paper was pealing in areas: clues to dis-investment. Air quality was also suspect - I couldn't tell if the bathroom exhaust fans were working; the air handler in the exercise room was either broken or disabled. Fresh air? Not at the Whitney.

Noise transmission from the hallways into the rooms was also problematic. Conversations by passersby were easily distinguished and disrupted our sleep. A review of the doors and seals might be in order. Traffic noise from Poydras is challenging for those looking for quite. Because of the historic renovation, I suspect noise abating windows were prohibited.

Front desk staff during all hours was very friendly.

The cafe was, like the building, very tired. The breakfast buffet was weak - serving the usual chain hotel spread of scrambled eggs, meats and factory bread. The Community Coffee Shop in the adjacent office building had a better menu.

With respect to the decor - the whole interior could stand a make-over. Recognizing it's historic significance doesn't mean that the 1980s interiors should stay forever. Having spent some time at the Hyatt down the street during our stay was instructive for me and could inform the investors in the Whitney Wyndham.

Ignoring the lack of investment in the property I have to say is is very well located if you're heading to the French Quarter and easy walk from the hotel. The Street Car is right across the street which can take you to many worthwhile sites including the terrific World War II Museum, Children's Museum and Zoo.

I think I'll look for another hotel the next time I'm in New Orleans and hope that the owners of this otherwise gorgeous building find the wherewithal to renovate the property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your candid feedback and please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations. We'll use this information to provide better service in the future. Feel free to contact me if you'd like to discuss your visit.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,653 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#87 of 166 in New Orleans
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £86 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing