We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great palce to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great palce to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Whitney. The room we had was excellent and the location is ideal. Close to the French Quarter and a block from Canal Street. Very convenient. The staff were very helpful also. I must say that we had a quick breakfast one morning and it was pricey. I don't know about other meals at their restaurant. There are many choices for restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which had a good view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the great feedback, we'll be sure to pass this along to our partners in the restaurant. Feel free to contact us directly when you're ready to book your next New Orleans getaway!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    369
    116
    36
    21
See reviews for
184
378
55
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tidewater, Va
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Have stayed here before, best stay yet. The customer service was phenomenal! Very helpful and accomodating with changes to itenerary prior to stay; offered to move us to a larger room to allow extra space for baby crib; and helped resolve a billing error. Rooms are a little dated, but undergoing complete renovation currently. Parking is a good deal for NoLa. We will be back again. Great value for the price and service!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi JMW628,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! The hotel is under new management and we are glad to hear that this was your best stay yet. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Whitney is located in the business district, very near the St Charles streetcar line and a short walk to the French Quarter. This is an older historical building that was once a bank. The rooms and the lobby are renovated and very nice, retaining the character of the old building. The restaurant and bar have limited service hours. The overall hotel service level was generally good and we encountered no problems. The room was clean but slightly noisy since it faced Poydras St, however it was not a problem at night. We would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I spent 2 days here after our cruise and loved the location. Very walkable to the French Qtr / Market, Bourbon St, Royal St., Harrahs and Trolley lines. Shops, restaurants, cafes and bars everywhere. The inside of the building is old but beautiful and our room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the staff was accomodatiing. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiTownJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed: December 2012.
1 King bed.

Pros:
- Large bathroom.
- Spacious bedroom & sitting room.
- Shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser, shower cap & grooming kit provided.
- Good location. Walking distance to restaurants & nightlife on Bourbon Street.
- Living room has a couch & a chair.
- 2 tv's total.

Cons:
- No in room safe.
- Poor bathroom ventilation.
- Housekeeping incident. 8.15am Housekeeping arrived. We asked them to return in 1 hour. They never returned. 5.50pm requested clean towels & for trash to be removed. 6.10pm called to follow up. 6.15pm staff came with 5 towels & 4 face washers, 1 of which was filthy. He gave us a lot of bad attitude when we requested removal of dirty towels & trash. 6.20pm called Guest Services to complain. 6.25pm a different staff member returned with hand towels & a much better attitude. He empties the trash & gives us extra cups. Situation was resolved. However communication between Guest Services & staff may need improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meandmyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel overall is in a good location- 4 blocks to Harrah's, 3 blocks to Canal Street. I liked the remodeled bank decor. Looking at the safe was really neat. The rooms were nicely decorated. I did not like the $33 valet fee especially when my car sat on the street - exactly where I parked it. The hotel has no drop-off or pick-up area, so if multiple people arrive at the same time it can be very congested at the enter acne and on the street. The common areas are not very well cleaned- someone dropped food in the hallway, by morning the food tray was gone, but the food was still there.

The front desk lady on the night staff was greAt. She gave us directions everywhere we needed to go suggested place for food.
This was very average

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Property: The Whitney Hotel
Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing