We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #53 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We visited this hotel over MDW 2014 and it was great. Check in was easy. The room was clean and service was just fine. My only complain, no one was around to let us know where to park/valet the car. My boyfriend had to go across the street to another lot and park there because valet never showed up after we let them know at check in. Valet just needs to be more attentive. Other than that mishap, everything was fine. Not my first choice when in NOLA but I would recommend staying here and wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UTFan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the great feedback. You'll be happy to know that, since your last visit, we've greatly enhanced our valet services with a new provider and new staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Whitney. The room we had was excellent and the location is ideal. Close to the French Quarter and a block from Canal Street. Very convenient. The staff were very helpful also. I must say that we had a quick breakfast one morning and it was pricey. I don't know about other meals at their restaurant. There are many choices for restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which had a good view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the great feedback, we'll be sure to pass this along to our partners in the restaurant. Feel free to contact us directly when you're ready to book your next New Orleans getaway!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Have stayed here before, best stay yet. The customer service was phenomenal! Very helpful and accomodating with changes to itenerary prior to stay; offered to move us to a larger room to allow extra space for baby crib; and helped resolve a billing error. Rooms are a little dated, but undergoing complete renovation currently. Parking is a good deal for NoLa. We will be back again. Great value for the price and service!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMW628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi JMW628,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! The hotel is under new management and we are glad to hear that this was your best stay yet. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Whitney is located in the business district, very near the St Charles streetcar line and a short walk to the French Quarter. This is an older historical building that was once a bank. The rooms and the lobby are renovated and very nice, retaining the character of the old building. The restaurant and bar have limited service hours. The overall hotel service level was generally good and we encountered no problems. The room was clean but slightly noisy since it faced Poydras St, however it was not a problem at night. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for your review of the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the feedback. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit to the Whitney better, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
3  Thank Kentrellis M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I spent 2 days here after our cruise and loved the location. Very walkable to the French Qtr / Market, Bourbon St, Royal St., Harrahs and Trolley lines. Shops, restaurants, cafes and bars everywhere. The inside of the building is old but beautiful and our room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the staff was accomodatiing. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiTownJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed: December 2012.
1 King bed.

Pros:
- Large bathroom.
- Spacious bedroom & sitting room.
- Shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser, shower cap & grooming kit provided.
- Good location. Walking distance to restaurants & nightlife on Bourbon Street.
- Living room has a couch & a chair.
- 2 tv's total.

Cons:
- No in room safe.
- Poor bathroom ventilation.
- Housekeeping incident. 8.15am Housekeeping arrived. We asked them to return in 1 hour. They never returned. 5.50pm requested clean towels & for trash to be removed. 6.10pm called to follow up. 6.15pm staff came with 5 towels & 4 face washers, 1 of which was filthy. He gave us a lot of bad attitude when we requested removal of dirty towels & trash. 6.20pm called Guest Services to complain. 6.25pm a different staff member returned with hand towels & a much better attitude. He empties the trash & gives us extra cups. Situation was resolved. However communication between Guest Services & staff may need improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meandmyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. Please accept my apologies regarding the housekeeping incident...I'll be sure to review it with the department.. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit to the Whitney better, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Best Western Plus St. Christophe...
#113 of 167 in New Orleans
57 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £89 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing