We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whitney Hotel is a wonderful hotel with an excellent staff.”
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson
1 review
“The Whitney Hotel is a wonderful hotel with an excellent staff.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My family and I really our stay at this historically hotel. The rooms/bathrooms are very spacious and clean. The staff was extremely polite. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjspann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review... I'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to the front desk and housekeeping staff. We look forward to seeing you again at the Whitney Hotel!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    404
    130
    41
    22
See reviews for
200
424
62
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delcambre, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stay at the Whitney on several occasions... It's a wonder hotel .. Parking is great ... Hotel is very clean .. Rooms are very roomy... The staff is wonderful.. Patrick the desk manger is very helpful and attentive to all hotel guest.. The food is also very good .. Also the bar area is very nice and relaxing and the beer is very cold.. I will continue to be a guest at the Whitney hotel.. And would recommend staying at the Whitney hotel .. Who dat go saints ...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the Whitney Hotel and for your great comments. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Patrick and the rest of the staff. Feel free to contact us directly when you're ready to make plans to revisit the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stay at the Whitney when we're in New Orleans for a weekend get-away. The staff is courteous and welcoming. The wait staff in the lobby restaurant are attentive and knowledgeable. The lobby area is especially interesting because of how old, but well kept it is. The old Whitney Bank motif has been maintained, so it's got great historical appeal. The rooms were comfortable and the convenience to everything worth seeing in the New Orleans CBD, Warehouse/Museum District, and French Quarter can't be beat for the price.

Thanks Whitney staff...y'all will be seeing us again!

Room Tip: Request corner rooms facing Poydras for a larger space. Request rooms in the 'back' for a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you, Kiley, for your recent visit and this great feedback! We look forward to hosting your next stay at the Whitney Hotel.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeville, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Manager at The Whitney Wyndam is the best I've ever seen at a Hotel. Patrick will do anything to make sure your stay is perfect! If you have any questions he is always more than glad to answer them!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We're glad to hear Patrick made such a great impression on you and that you enjoyed your stay at the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans! We'll be sure to let him know you appreciated his efforts. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed the weekend of July 4. It happened to be Essence Festival Weekend (hence this room for $300 was the only one available). For future reference - Essence Weekend is always the weekend after 4th and it is a HUGE Festival (25,000 people). Hotel was fine and the staff was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and your recent patronage. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance with future reservations to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Nice room, good service, patient and caring people. We will be back again. A goup of us came from Southwest Florida for the Essence Festival and we had a ball. The only place that had tables on outside of the hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
On behalf of the staff at the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans, thank you for your recent visit and the great feedback. We look forward to hosting your group again next year!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

stayed here for the second time recently. we asked for a quiet room and they came through. some of the rooms have no real windows due to the office building that was built behind it. not a worry for me, as poydras is nothing to look at anyway and definitely not worth the noise. our room was very quiet and ice cold, which was great. the shower was more than adequate. the mattresses sounded like they could use replacing, but still comfortable.

the real bonus to staying here is the location. it's far enough away from the quarter to cut down on the meathead contingent but close enough to walk just about anywhere (we walked to/from frenchmen street with no problem).

if you're looking for a snazzy lobby and a great breakfast, this is not the place for you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 5252orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your recent patronage and the candid feedback. For the most part, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay and we'd be happy to host your next visit to New Orleans. Feel free to contact me directly at 504-212-8686 if you'd like to discuss any other aspects of your last stay.
Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#30 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Property: The Whitney Hotel
Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing