We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for a great price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay for a great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Whitney under a "summer in the city package" found on the New Orleans city website which made the hotel very affordable and and added free valet. The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. Upon checking in you receive pamphlets that list drink and food specials at other hotel bars and restaurants, a brochure listing sights and activities throughout the city, and a little sheet of historical info for the hotel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only hiccup was when our package included breakfast but the restaurant inside the hotel was closed until the weekend. The staff made it up to us by offering a bottle of wine or munchies basket. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. Please accept my apologies for the restaurant closure, they are working on a new menu. We hope to see you again soon, please don't hesitate to contact us when returning to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Casey.Callais@WhitneyHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    373
    117
    36
    21
See reviews for
186
380
56
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Whitney last week and had a simply wonderful experience! I didn’t realize until we checked in that the hotel is located in an old bank, which gives it a beautiful, interesting, and unique lobby area. Earl and Brittany at the front desk were incredibly friendly and helpful! They cheerfully answered all of our questions, and had some fantastic suggestions for places to eat, drink, shop, and listen to music! Patrick, the manager, was amazing and as kind as could be, as well! The suite we stayed in was great – lovely view, extremely comfortable, fluffy bed with high quality sheets and pillows, and as odd a thing as this is to put in a review – the tub was roomy and had plenty of ledge space for my toiletries, so I didn’t have to keep reaching outside the shower to get things, and the towels were huge and soft. I fully expected to have a nice stay at the Whitney, but they completely exceeded our expectations with their service, quality of the room and details, and the charm of building! It’s a very short, safe walk to the French Quarter, but it sure was nice to get away from the craziness of it when the night was over. I very highly recommend staying at this gem!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the great comments! I'm happy to hear we were able to accommodate your last minute visit to the city. I'll pass along your kind words to Earl, Britney and Patrick. If we can be of service again, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Casey.Callais@WhitneyHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just celebrated our three year anniversary. So we decided to celebrate with a trip to New Orleans. We love the big easy city! It was a great memorable experience this year! We have been frequently visiting this area for years, but there have been times when they weren't good memories. We have stayed many weekends at hotels that were not so great and that can really be unpleasant for a weekend getaway with your spouse or significant other! The Whitney hotel and their staff Earl, Brittney, Justin And Patrick were outstanding! We will definitely be booking our future reservations at this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to many folks that would like to have an enjoyable relaxing and pleasant trip to New Orleans!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ediebilljenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great feedback regarding your recent visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to Earl, Justin, Britney and Patrick. If you need anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Casey.Callais@WhitneyHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedasi, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was the first time I have stayed at the Whitney. I lived just a few blocks from here just a few years ago and always wondered what it looked like on the inside. I love NOLA charm and this hotel is full of that. The bank that use to occupy this space is not lost in the 'hotel' translation. The vault in the lobby now serves as a private dining/meeting space! The rooms are cozy, elegantly styled, making me feel as if I'm in my own room at home. The front desk is attentive as well as the bell staff. Although I didn't eat in the restaurant this trip, it looked charming as it must have looked decades before as the bank lobby. I think the only negative of this hotel is that if your room faces Poydras, as mine did, you do here some street noise. So if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room not facing the busy street.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Poydras are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans... I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance in the future.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Casey.Callais@WhitneyHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel staff was welcomingand warm. The facility was charming and comfortable. From the old vault to the spacious and comfortable rooms the hotel was everything we could have hoped for. The location is great as well! We were close to our favorite restaurant in NOLA and were just a short walk to the FQ & Super Dome...All in al this hotel exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans and the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. Thank you for the great comments and let us know if you need help with any future dates.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Casey.Callais@WhitneyHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

When we first arrived at this hotel, the rooms got mixed up where I booked a double room but received a queen sized room. The staff at the front desk explained to us that because it was booked through another website, it was their mistake. Luckily, they were able to give us a double room even though the hotel was completely booked with people coming in the next day. The staff was very polite and helpful through the entire mishap. Plus, they helped in giving us suggestions of what places to eat! The double room was amazing for the price we paid! it was very spacious with a door in between separating the beds so you can have your own privacy. There is also free bottled water and daily newspaper in the lobby and free tea and coffee provided in your room. The location was great as well where we were close to the French Quarter, but far enough to be away from all the noise and drunk people. My only complaint was the room attendants who threw out my plastic ziplock bag which I used to hold my liquid items. I would just make sure not to leave that out. Aside from that, I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your recent patronage at the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We certainly appreciate your feedback and will pass it along to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Casey.Callais@WhitneyHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The entire Hotel experience was a pleasure, friendly staff, clean room, dining room and bar excellent. Hotel is in walking distance to shopping, Super Dome and French Quarter, a must for our party. We enjoyed watching the first New Orleans Saints Game in the Hotel Bar, the sweet Bartender kept the bar open for us to finish the game. This Hotel is a great little secret, but books up fast!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the great feedback regarding your visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to the staff at the Hotel and bar. We look forward to hosting your next visit to the city!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Casey.Callais@WhitneyHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Property: The Whitney Hotel
Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing