We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed for 4 nights late March. Accomodations were excellent. Inn keepers were great, very helpful with advise on activities and resturants. Very historic neighborhood located on Mardi Gras route. Street car route only yards from front door. Would stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was my first time in a bed and breakfast, and I've seen the light! :) When you arrive at the Avenue Inn you're greeted by either Joe or Bebe. I was greeted by Joe, and despite being almost two hours early for check-in (oops) which could have been very inconvenient, he immediately found me an available room and showed me around. He's a warm person and genuinely interested in making you feel like you are home away from home. My room was very charming and quite spacious. My impression was that Joe and Bebe strive to keep their historic mansion as authentic as possible, and that was evident from the decor in the room. Very Southern and very cozy. The room was very clean, and I had my own thermostat so I could control my temp, which was nice. I also took advantage of the 24hour free snack tower. Lol. Lots of little goodies like bottles of water and little boxes of cereal, granola bars, etc. The streetcar stops right outside their home and it goes to the French Quarter, which was nice. It was my first time to NOLA so I def did the touristy things. Also a very good restaurant right down the street, and great walking tours right in the neighborhood. It is also close to Magazine Street which has very cute shops and cafes. SO, in conclusion, I felt very welcome and safe at the Avenue Inn, appreciated the very reasonable rates, and loved the location. Joe and Bebe are great people with a gem of a B&B! I was sad to go back home to cold NYC!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Really enjoyed this location as the Inn is located in the ideal place to travel about New Orleans, enjoy the sights or just casually stroll down St. Charles Avenue. Innkeepers were very accomodating and hospitable; our accomodations were quite nice and very much to our liking. With access to both uptown and downtown New Orleans, we were able to enjoy so many sights and sounds of New Orleans and without a whole lot of fuss or transporation concerns. Inn and stay were just the right fit !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome from Joe and Bebe during our three night holiday in New Orleans. Despite the fact that it poured with rain during continuous thunderstorms, our stay was warm and cozy, thanks to their hospitality. The Avenue Inn is charming: the house was built in 1891 and our Innkeepers have tastefully decorated it with beautiful antiques.
A continental breakfast is served each morning in the dining room, though when the weather is fair, one could sit on the pleasant verandah or the pretty patio.

Our bathroom was not large, but we had every convenience and the pleasure of excellent water pressure, with lots of hot water. We had a large, quiet, queen room. Our bed was very comfortable, with exceptionally clean linen.

The location of the Avenue Inn could not be more convenient. As other reviewers have noted, the street car runs right in front. There are many great restaurants nearby including Commander's Palace, Superior Seafood, and Jacques-Imo's. Free off-street parking is available to guests, which was much appreciated. Prospective guests should note that there is no elevator--just in case negotiating stairs is an issue. Perhaps in that case, one might wish to reserve a room on the ground floor.

Thank you for your hospitality, Joe and Bebe!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiTravels52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

When you stay in a B&B you are staying is someone's home and it is the innkeeper who really makes is a great experience or not. Joe and Bebe are the best. They are very friendly and professional. I appreciated the small touches, snacks, bottle water, ice were provided at no charge and were really appreciated. Breakfast was light and just what you need to get up and go. They were great with recomendations on things to do and places to eat. If you are looking for a B&B in NOLA this is the one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Awesome stay at the Avenue Inn! Joe and Bebe are wonderful hosts, starting with the warmest welcome and orientation, then recommendations on places to eat and see, all given our personal time constraints. Our room was amazing! Delightfully charming Victorian style, the most comfortable bed ever, lovely (environmentally friendly) bathroom amenities, instantly hot water with great water pressure in the shower, clean and comfortable throughout. Breakfast was plentiful, and the generous selection of snacks and bottled water available around the clock was a much appreciated bonus. The location couldn't be better - a beautiful neighborhood for walking, right on the streetcar line, great location. Loved being in this old, beautiful mansion, and Joe and Bebe truly treated us as guests in their home. I'll definitely be returning to NO, and this is the only place I'd consider staying!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you have not been to New Orleans, this is the place you want to stay because Joe knows everything you need to know about this city. The B&B is totally charming with high ceilings and but the bathrooms are right up to date. Also the location is right on the Streetcar line and they have free parking. What is not to like?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
770 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 142 in New Orleans
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £103 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing