We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful considerate hosts, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Extremely helpful and gracious hosts, beautifully appointed rooms in elegant setting, the trolley stop is literally out the front door, as is a nice porch for an evening of relaxation after going down to Bourbon street. Breakfast was nice and causal with no fussing and plenty to choose form continental style. Two great places to eat within half a block as well. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

We so much appreciate that this couple took the time to write a few nice words about us. And we are so happy that they enjoyed all the aspects of their visit to the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The beds are so comfortable, I took advantage of them and napped every day we were here. The off street parking is great and included in the room rate. The rooms are huge and decorated very nicely. We will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethergoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

"One of the nicest places I've stayed" is a strong statement and one we strive to receive from all of our guests. We are happy they were pleased and we appreciate the time it took from a busy schedule to write a comment. And such a nice one....looking forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Highly recommend! We arrived home just this afternoon from our lovely stay at the Avenue Inn, a magnificent bed and breakfast on St. Charles. We could not have been happier. St. Charles Avenue is such a lovely and quiet respite from the busy city, although the French Quarter is only a few minutes away. We were thrilled to see that the gorgeous old oaks survived Katrina. The inn is located at a streetcar stop, so your car isn't even necessary unless you choose. Joe's recommendation of great seafood restaurant just a two blocks away was most appreciated and an easy walk. We ate there twice! Thanks, Joe! Our room was gorgeous and quite large. Queen four poster was very comfortable! Breakfast was great, full of choices, and the coffee just right. You can eat in the formal dining room or at lovely tables in the front garden. We had our second cup of coffee sitting in the great rockers on the veranda, watching the streetcars pass by. Other amenities included free parking, free wifi, snacks, and a great host and hostess. Joe was also helpful with information about our trip to the great World War II museum. We will definitely return to the Avenue Inn. Great bed and breakfast in one of the world's great cities.

Room Tip: Our room #12 was quite lovely with a great comfy queen four poster, with antique and reproduction an...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonSourLake_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Noticing that this reviewer is a seasoned traveler, we are certainly overwhelmed with the observations and description of our mansion home as "standout". We so hope to see them back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Joe assisted with a transportation scheduling issue with my airport shuttle - It is much appreciated. The Inn is clean and well maintained, with numerous breakfast choices. The inn is located near two streetcar stops and is close to restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treyno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

When ever possible, we try to accommodate guests with "one of a kind" challenges they may encounter on vacation. Having a positive outcome and an enjoyable visit to New Orleans and the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast is one of many objectives. We thanks this writer for the kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed in the beautiful Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast and felt as if we stepped back to a romantic era 100 years ago. The room was stunning with high ceilings, antique furnishings, and a bed that was like sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom was modern, spacious and clean.
What a perfect location, just a few miles from the French Quarter! We parked our car and didn't get in it again until leaving as the Saint Charles Streetcar has a stop directly in front of the Avenue Inn. The innkeepers Joe and Bebee were a wealth of information and always helpful.
I will stay in the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast again the next time I visit New Orleans!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Larrylegend321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

With feedback like this, we are so humbled and proud of the Inn and our staff. Glad they loved the romantic setting and all that goes with it. Hope to see them back in New Orleans soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a really nice time at the Avenue Inn. The innkeepers are super-helpful, breakfast and snacks were very good, and the room was just right. We stayed in one of the more modestly-sized rooms and it was lovely. The big ones are gorgeous!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Having a really nice time at the Avenue Inn means that this couple had a really nice time in New Orleans which is our goal. Glad they found the room, snacks and location to their liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is our third stay at the Avenue Inn, and every time we have never been disappointed. The Inn is located in a more relaxing area of New Orleans and the Inn Keepers were exceptionally helpful in helping my husband and I book dinner reservations as well as giving us great suggestions of things to do in the city. We cannot wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

This couple have been regulars and its such a pleasure to have them stay with us. We are always thrilled to learn that we continue to meet their expectations. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
346 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 166 in New Orleans
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,199 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £85 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing