We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't just visit, live it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't just visit, live it!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I did not come up with the title of my review myself. I found it on the Inn's website and I think it sums up me and my husband's recent visit. The inn owners, Joe & Bebe, make you feel like you are visiting their own home. The location of the inn is perfect! Its in the beautiful Garden District. Trolley right out front. Close to everything. Lots of good restaurants in the area. Free parking on the street and the rear of the inn. Beautiful spotless room filled with antiques. Comfortable linens and bed. The breakfast in the morning is great. So many things to choose from. Lots of tips of what to see and do from Joe. We really felt we experienced New Orleans like the locals do rather than a tourist staying in a chain hotel. My husband and I plan on returning to New Orleans and plan on staying with Joe and Bebe.

Room Tip: We had the room right on the first floor next to the porch and front door. It was perfect for me bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellendeette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
First time anyone has mentioned our tag line. So happy they felt this way during their stay. We know they will be back and we look forward to that visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    44
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
173
369
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

super well kept old mansion. perfect hosts. you'll feel right at home. the hosts go out of the way to make you happy. no request is denied. you just have to see it to believe it. it was wonderful.
we'll never do hotels again.

Room Tip: nothing really...just ask for what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenwayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
A lovely couple from Georgia who were here for Mardi Gras. Did not expect this comment "we'll never do hotels again" but we are so happy they felt so comfortable in our home. Hope to see them again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

After a difficult trip to New Orleans, I was met by the kindest and friendliest hosts who welcomed me like family. The Inn is beautiful, well situated and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I will be traveling to NOLA for many years to come and will make The Avenue Inn my first choice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank interestedinmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
" the kindest and friendliest hosts who welcomed me like family." This comment says it all for us. We really try to make guests feel at home and we are glad that our efforts were well received. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Start with a beautifully restored home in the Garden District and add owners that are retired big firm hospitality execs, who really know how to provide a superior experience. End up with a very relaxing, enjoyable and memorable trip.

The rooms, baths and beds are excellent, the location is close to most of the fun in NOLA, but not too close. Both Joe and Bebe went well beyond the call of duty for us (vow renewal weekend).

Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We love offering vow renewals and intimate weddings. The couples are family to us. These two were really special and we loved having them here. We'll be looking for an anniversary return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Avenue Inn Bed & Breakfast was the perfect place to stay in New Orleans. Joe, Bebe, and Nedra were all very knowledgeable about the city and had many recommendations for restaurants and sight-seeing. Furthermore, they were easily able to book my wife and I tickets for basically whatever tour we desired.

The home is beautiful and maintains an authentic Garden District character. The rooms were charming, comfortable, and larger than other bed and breakfasts at which we've stayed. The chambermaid keeps the rooms clean and supplies them with fresh towels and toiletries every morning.

The location was very central and convenient. The streetcar stop is right out in front of the property and will take you directly to the French Quarter in one direction or further into the Garden District (amazing homes) and uptown where the Audubon Zoo & Park are, in the other directions. It was nice to be close to, but not stuck in, the boisterousness of the French Quarter. I highly recommend and implore all readers to consider staying at Avenue Bed & Breakfast for an authentic and rewarding New Orleans trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZackTsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
When guests write such great detail about their experience here, we know they had a good time and our goal of guest satisfaction has been accomplished. We are very appreciative of all the enthusiasm in their words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I are beginners to the world of B&B's so we were not sure what to expect when we arrived and the Avenue Inn. Once we arrived we were greeted by the InnKeeper who was very nice and made sure we knew all about the Inn. He was was very informative of the City and gave us many tips that helped us during our stay. The room was decorated beautifully and very comfy. The streetcar runs right in front of the Inn so it is very convenient to the Quarter and more economical then the taxi ride.. cab cost is about $17.00 to go to the French Quarter if you decide to go that route. We will certainly make plans to return back to the Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsbchgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Always enjoy it when guests write something lovely about their stay. Hope to see these guests before next Valentines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our daughter lives in New Orleans, and we visit 5 or more times per year. Depending upon our planned activities, we sometimes stay downtown but we much prefer the Garden District/Uptown area. We have stayed in B&Bs, inns, and hotels in this part of town. Last weekend was our first time staying with Joe & Bebe, and we already looking to our next visit in April. Wonderful people and experienced innkeepers (we almost always stay in B&Bs or inns while traveling, and we have had plenty of not-so-good experiences with inexperienced ones). Also, I must mentioned the special window coverings they have installed. Staying right on St. Charles has many advantages, but you typically must put up with some amount of street noise. Not here. The plexi-glass coverings shut out the noise but allow an unobstructed view of the street. This is just one example of the effort they have made with their home. You will enjoy your visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TJP935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
So happy these guests enjoyed their stay especially since they have a reason to come back and visit family. We'll be waiting for their return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing