We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Drury, walk to French Quarter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love Drury, walk to French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I wish they had Drury in the west! This place was great!! The breakfast had hot and cold items. The "dinner" really is a dinner for our family. We saved so much money eating dinner at Drury, and they give you free (adult) drinks too!! The walk to Bourbon Street and the French Quarter is only 5 to 10 minutes. But, the humid heat did overwhelm us Californians....and it was only 89 degrees. (Give us 110 in the dry heat and we'll take it!!) The roof top pool and jacuzzi were so refreshing and the novelty of it was terrific for the kids. This was one of our favorites on our 28 day road trip. Staff was nice, parking was close, and the room was large enough for the 5 of us, no frills. We are booked at the St. Louis Drury for our next road trip, summer 2011!

Room Tip: We had a corner room which seemd a little bigger .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    511
    90
    24
    13
See reviews for
640
595
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is walking distance to all of the major parade routes - except for St. Charles, which is a hike - but Bacchus ran right outside the hotel. PLUS you get free breakfast every morning which is crucial when you are not up for venturing outside the morning after. The security and hotel staff were nice too. Heads up, the floor we stayed on was underneath the swimming pool, so our room was oddly damp - so just be sure to check on that before booking. I can't remember what floor it was though.

All in all, I recommend this hotel for Mardi Gras. It was a pretty good price per night as well.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't under the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

First off, I am shocked that the Drury has fallen to number 2 in the top hotels list. No way it can be beaten. My wife and I were here for New Years 2010. I had wanted to stay in the Quarter, but the prices were sky high and we are by no means rich. I picked the Drury for our 3 nights stay. The prices averaged out to $175 a night if I remember correctly, a huge discount from the $250 or so average of everywhere else. To start to hotel is beautiful. The lobby exudes southern charm as does the wonderfully front desk staff (one of the employees spent 15 minutes calling various restaurants to find us some crawfish - it wasn't in season yet and was hard to come by). The happy hour food/drink and the breakfast were great. The food was plentiful and pretty good. Don't tell anyone but we actually brought some up to our rooms for late night snack (we had a fridge). The room was great. We had a larger room with huge floor to ceiling windows and the ceiling was very high. We actually had a great view of some nasty thunderstorms that rolled through one morning. Great stuff. The walk to the quarter was a snap - 3 blocks or so. Easy trolley access also. The only negative I can think of is that they were having some fire alarm problems while we were there (went off three times, once in the middle of the night which was annoying, but I'm sure that's been fixed by now). All in all, if you don't want to get ripped off in the quarter, don't want to be surrounded by the lovely, filthy debauchery of bourbon street, want good free food, a friendly staff, access to transportation to other parts of the city, and on and on and on, stay in the Drury. The Drury is the real number one hotel in New Orleans. Hopefully this review pushes it back to the top :-)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jblifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

My three friends and I stayed at the Drury Inn & Suites in New Orleans this past weekend, and we had such a great time. The Drury really sets itself apart with all its perks. We took advantage of the large, hot breakfast every morning, the 3-free drink vouchers in the early evening and the snacks to go along with them. Our room was fantastic as well - clean, spacious, and the wi-fi worked great! The location was super convenient to both the French Quarter (10 minute walk) and the St. Charles street car line (one block away) that takes you to the Garden District.

The best part of this hotel, though, was the fabulously helpful, fun, and professional staff. Everyone we encountered provided expert assistance and advice. For instance, when our pre-arranged taxi was a no-show for picking us up to take us to the airport, Jamie was on the phone instantly and had a driver to the hotel in less than 5 minutes.
A special thank you goes to Jamie for going the extra mile to make us feel right at home and taken care of even on our departure. We'd like to say thanks to Kristen, too, for being so friendly and taking care of us as well!

If I should have the opportunity to head back to New Orleans in the future, I know I'll be choosing the Drury Inn.

Room Tip: Reginelli's Pizza is great and close by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moiralong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 9 night s in May. I can't say enough about the great friendly service we recieved. The manager was on site all the time and made every effort to speak with all the guests. We had a suite room on the 6th floor with a street view. The room was lovely with 15 foot ceilings, marble bath and two large LCD TVs. Our frig kept things cold but we really shouldn't have bought any drinks or snacks because the hotel offers them for FREE! Every night from 5:30-7pm they offer a great variety of of hot snax and three free alcoholic beverages (including things like Margaritas and blood Marys as well as white, red and zinfandel wines and Bud light beer). They also offer a very nice hot breakfast in the morning. The pool and Jacuzzi on the roof were clean and warm with plenty of towels. All elevators require your room key to work so you feel very safe. If you decide to stay right in the French Quarter/ Bourbon Street (I was almost lured in by the Royal Sonesta-but so glad I picked Drury instead) I guarantee you will not get any sleep. It's like New Years Eve in Times Square every night. It was so nice to come back to the Drury and get out of the chaos of Bourbon street.

Let me mention a few things I didn't see in the other reviews that you may find helpful. First, the hotel is very close to the AT&T building next door.( The Drury WAS the old telephone building until they expanded and moved next door-This accounts for the 15 foot ceiling in the Hotel. The phone company needed them to house their large equipment) The rooms that face the new AT&T building have no view at all. The hotel web offers a choice of "street view" for a little extra money. I advise unless money is very tight to get the street view or you will be dissapointed.
Also, you are blocks away from many of the best restaurants in the country, Commanders Palace, Emerils, Arnauds, Restaurant August etc. Don't tank on the bar snaks at the Hotel. Go out and visit one of these great places. New Orleans is a food town go enjoy it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a street view-very worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed at the Drury based on other reports from Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. A short, four block walk, to the French Quarter..the famous Mother's restaurant a block away...and a one and a half mile walk to the Garden Quarter. Also the streetcars were right outside. Was able to park the car in a secure lot on the grounds ( hate valet parking ) for $17.00 per day. The room was airy, clean and well appointed. Happy Hour each night with three free ( alcoholic ) drinks per person, unlimited soft drinks, popcorn and coffee - and food such as hot dogs, macaroni, potatoes, taco bar., chicken strips. Although we did not avail ourselves of the food, it would have been plenty for dinner if needed....and many people did. Definitely would stay again. Oh, and so nice to be a little away from the drunks on Bourbon Street.........

Room Tip: Check the ceiling height.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

The Drury Inn Suites New Orleans is ideally situated for anyone wanting to explore the city, in particular the French Quarter.
It is not the cheapest hotel in the area but I believe that you get what you pay for. It doesn’t cost a fortune but it is clean, quiet and accommodating with staff who go out of their way to be friendly and helpful
The free breakfast is superb with plenty of choice and adequate room to enjoy it. An extra feature that we discovered, which wasn’t advertised when we booked, was the free evening hot food. We found the chicken, potato and salad with drinks (including wine and beer) were so good that we didn’t need to go out for an evening meal. Soft drinks and coffee were permanently available and we were even able to make hot popcorn in a popcorn machine later in the evening before we disappeared for the night.
This is a hotel that knows how to provide excellent service. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJames_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,821 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing