We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drury Inn New Orleans, LA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Drury Inn New Orleans, LA”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Our stay prior to our cruise started by flying down to NOLA and arriving around noon. We had picked the Drury Inn due to other cc members recommending the place, plus they offered free hot food, drinks, soda, popcorn and hot breakfast. We figured you couldn’t beat that deal! We managed to get the “cruise” deal they offered and the room was only $93.49 plus tax.

Upon arriving at this place, I thought wow, this is really nice. Everything is done up in marble and chandeliers everywhere. Very nice! We made it to our room, wow again. Very nice. Once again, marble bathroom from floor to ceiling, elegantly decorated in the room (I thought at least for the price) and a really nice high dresser that had doors that opened up with drawers behind them, a microwave and a small refrigerator. The night stands were nice wood and also the tops were marble. Great place for the price.

We went up to the roof to see the swimming pool and hot tub on the roof…um, not so great that day. Although the water was clear, the bottom was dirty (and not dirty like stuff in it, more like green film dirty and needed vacuumed). Needless to say, we did not swim or get in the hot tub after seeing this. Prior to checking out, I went up there to take some pictures and there were several people up there sun bathing, but I don’t know if they actually got into the water. (We also managed to catch the whale tail of a Carnival ship in port from up there as well).

After checking in and getting situated in our room, we took off on foot to explore the city. Beautiful place with a lot going on. I guess they were having a sea food fest while we were there. There was a lot of live entertainment going on. We walked down to the Riverfront, encountered a real train (which scared the heebie jeebies outta my 3 year old) and multiple trolleys. We stopped to take pictures at Jackson Square (the castle, horse carriage rides, fountains) and strolled along the streets looking at all of the arts being sold by the vendors. There were tons of people posing (really still) for long periods of time, dressed up weird ways, and looking like a statue. Every once in a while one would move and scare someone passing by. Hilarious! Of course, they wanted tips.

We made it to Café Du Monde and had their beignets. I was having trouble understanding our waitress (and obviously she didn’t understand me either because she didn’t bring us the right order). For $2.49 (I think it was) you get 3 small beignets LOADED with powdered sugar. Everyone raved how great these were, but to me, they are the same thing as what you get at any fair from the vendors (funnel cakes), however, I found the beignets to not be as good as a funnel cake. Ours were a little harder than what I’m use to and the amount of powdered sugar they loaded on it made you a white sticky mess. The people there didn’t seem too friendly, but the place was so busy it was VERY hard to even find a seat. When going inside to use the restroom, it was in this small cubby hole in the back in the SMALL kitchen area and there was a line. The workers were rude and kept telling people to move, bumping into everyone and didn’t bother to say excuse me or anything. At one point they took the door and slammed it shut leaving some inside waiting on the restroom and others standing along a wall waiting. If they thought this made more room, they completely misjudged that because now there were more people moving around due to having to move out of the way for the door to open every time.

We caught the street car back to our street that the hotel was on and decided to catch the free hot food (Kickers Meal) the hotel was offering. We did not think it was bad at all, not gourmet food, but definitely something you can make a meal out of and be satisfied. If it was bad food, you sure wouldn’t be able to tell by how many people were there eating that night. It was crazy. They offered you 3 free alcoholic drinks, per person…and they WERE STRONG! Whew! They had hot dogs, mac and cheese, nacho bar, baked potato (with fixings), veggies and dip, salads, snacks, popcorn, and a soda fountain for drinks.

We went back up to the room, visited with our 9/11 roll call online for a while chatting, then went to bed. We didn’t sleep too well though. I thought it was the excitement of the cruise the next day, but felt like I was scratching all night. Well, when we woke in the morning, we found out why. Our room was infested with red biting ants!! There were hundreds of them forming a line across the threshold from the bathroom to the sink area. Upon a little more inspection, we found lines of them going up the night stands and onto the bed. WOW! I immediately went down to let the front desk know about the room. These people were more than kind about it and very apologetic as well. They offered let me do all of my laundry there (which we did not have time for that prior to leaving, so I just made sure I shook everything out hoping we would not take any hitch hikers with us), they offered to get us a cab to the airport and pay (which we met a very nice guy on our roll call the night before and he stopped and gave us a ride) and THEY FULLY REFUNDED MY ENTIRE AMOUNT OF THE ROOM! Wow, now that was service! They told us to stay as long as we would like, however, we wanted out of that room because we were being bitten and ended up just coming down to the lobby to wait for our ride. I was not at all expecting any of this and just wanted to inform them of the situation, but they went above and beyond and we would definitely stay with them again.

I forgot to mention the free hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, biscuits/gravy etc.). It was pretty good as well. Definitely editable and filled us up prior to getting on the ship. They also had the regular cold food too (bagels, toast, muffins, cereal and so on).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitsugirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    537
    95
    25
    13
See reviews for
674
630
41
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This was our first experience with the Drury Inn & Suites chain and would definitely stay again!! My husband and I were leaving on a cruise from New Orleans but wanted to spend a day or two touring there since we had never been there, and needed a relatively inexpensive place to lay our heads. We would definitely stay here again...very secure, as you need a room key to even operate the elevator, they give you free food and drinks, beautiful decor, location was perfect as it is close walking distance to many attractions...just had an all-around great experience staying here and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmlhpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Really can't find fault with this hotel, the location was perfect, breakfast plentiful and always hot, not keen on disposable plates etc but that was the only fault, the 5.30 kickback really went down well free wine, beer or cocktails. Some of the nicest staff I have ever met, I will certainly revist this hotel and New Orleans, one word Fantastic

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed recently ( 9-10-2011) & was pleasantly surprized by this hotel. Well kept and we enjoyed the breakfast and evening food plus drinks that was given. Love the area and the closeness of getting around to major spots in the New Orleans area.

Room Tip: even though most hotels charge for parking, it was worth it. We were able to leave our car in the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omegaman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isabel, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

After being treated so badly on the road trip to New Orleans by Best Western and their outrages pet deposits this place was a Beacon of light, Real hot breakfast with meat and waffles and clean beyond belief.....anyone one in the hotel biz should stay here to see how it is done right

Room Tip: go for the 9th floor- what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allaboutpadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

It was my second stay in New Orleans in two weeks. The previous was one of the Hilton's. This Drury is so much better!
Pros: Nice location, great service, nice size rooms, quiet AC units, breakfast included, very fast internet included, excellent happy hour food and drinks (better than usual Embassy Suites), polite people, clean rooms, free soda/popcorn 3-10 PM, and very reasonable rates!

Cons: I travel every other week. It's one of very few hotels in the world I can't find negatives. Maybe breakfast menu could be a bit improved?

Room Tip: I had a higher floor room on the side of the hotel (x17) - quiet but with a nice view of Poydras, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IgorCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schererville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here in September 2011 for four nights and were very pleased! We researched a lot of hotels in New Orleans because we wanted something close to the Superdome, but not too far from the French Quarter and this was perfect. A 10 minute walk to the Dome and about the same to French Quarter. The St. Charles street car has a stop right by the hotel and is a MUST if you want to experience a different part of the city. We took the street car out to the Garden District and toured some incredible homes. The hotel is close enough to easily walk to te FQ, but far enough away that the noise and crowds don't follow you back to the room.

The staff at the hotel were all very accommodating and very knowledgeable of the city. They gave us several recommendations for restaurants. Renaldo even called ahead for us to check the dress code at a few of them and printed out some menus for us without being asked to do so. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our room was on the seventh floor and although our room did not have a view of the city, we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel so it was not a big deal.

The evening kickback mentioned on their site was the perfect touch. A couple of cocktails and quick bite to eat is the perfect way to start the evening before heading down to the FQ. The only negatives (and this is being super picky) was that there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom and the towels are a tad on the cheap side, but again we weren't expecting five-star furnishings (although they weren't bad).

We used the pool and the hot tub on the roof three or four times and were almost always the only people up there. It was almost like having our own private rooftop. Both, the pool and the hot tub, were clean and properly chlorinated so no worries there. The workout room is a bit small, but again there was never anyone in it.

One thing to note is that the hotel does allow dogs, but they were never a hindrance during our stay. All in all, we loved this hotel and will definitely stay here again. No reason to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: There are a few guest rooms right off of the hotel reception area, so maybe specifying something awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jskains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,309 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,710 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing