We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Value, Location, Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Amazing Value, Location, Experience”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Hotel is excellent and definitely a great value.

STAFF -- very helpful and friendly. Constantly offered to share knowledge of their city with you and assist you in anyway possible.

ROOM -- I had a corner room, with giant 20ft ceilings and windows. Bed was very comfortable, room was very clean and had just the right amount of furnishings and lighting. Free wifi was super fast.

BATHROOM -- Also very clean and while a little small, very doable. Shower supplies are European/cruise style, in that they come from a giant dispenser on the wall.

OTHER -- the free breakfast was a great way to start the morning and the 5:30 kickback, with free booze, was another welcome benefit. They actually make the drinks quite strong and you get three per adult.

LOCATION -- Also very good. About 5 blocks to the French Quarter and area is safe during the day, and a tiny bit sketchy at night.

For about $160 a night, this hotel was a great bargain and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    526
    92
    25
    13
See reviews for
658
615
39
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Hotel lobby was beautiful with tables, couches and tv's. Staff was friendly. Rooms were a little small. Location was a few block from Bourbon & Canal Streets could get street cars across from the hotel. Good breakfast and at around 5 pm cocktails and snacks.

Would stay there again when in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The perks of this Hotel is what makes it such a great deal. Its Located within walking distance to all of the French Quarter landmarks. Very nice staff, so nice in fact the lovely lady at the front desk upon check out didnt even charge us the $10 fee for a roll away bed for one night! Parking was free, and if you've ever been to New Orleans you have no idea how cool it is to find free parking at a hotel. Free Snacks from 5:30-7pm, consisted of hot dogs, chicken tenders, nachos.. (the food wasnt that good, but if you are on a budget and dont have a lot to spend then Im sure those people would appreciate free food.. myself, I didnt) Free soda and popcorn all night, and you get 3 free alcoholic drinks. Dont let the outside of the hotel fool you.. it looked kinda questionable when we pulled up to the hotel, but inside very charming classic lobby, This no doubt will be my go-to hotel from now on when I visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiff21x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I would have never considered this location had it not been for trip advisor. This is about the best value I can recall from a hotel. Usually places like this are overrun with families with small children, but I guess New Orleans is more suited for adults so it made this location bearable. New Orleans is a place where you are disappointed by hotels that are normally great, but this was probably the nicest Drury Inn I have ever stayed. Every single review is spot on, this is a great hotel for the price!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

From the outside, it looks like your everyday hotel but, when you walk in, you find an elegant lobby that is filled with dark wood, shiny brass, beautiful chandeliers, a piano and a nice seating area. The staff was so very friendly and helpful. We forgot about the time change and arrived an hour early but they were able to check us in to a room.
The room we had was large, clean and had very comfortable beds with soft covers. It had three large windows with beautiful ceiling to floor drapes.
Upon arrival, the hotel gave us each a free drink coupon so that you could enjoy a free glass of wine or beer in the early evening. They also offered a free dinner which is fantastic for families. We had other plans but checked it out and there were hot dogs, nachos, potatoes, snacks and free soft drinks. Their free breakfast was excellent with many hot choices.
The hotel is located out of the craziness of Bourbon Street so it's nice and quiet for sleeping, but just a short walk to everything. We were able to walk about 10 minutes and get to Emeril's for dinner and a couple blocks from there is the River Walk with lots of shops and restaurants. Bourbon Street is just a couple blocks from the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed in a two-room suite with our 20 month old baby in October 2011.

First the Cons:
- Although we arrived 20 min after the check-in time, we were told that we had to wait for half an hour for our room to be ready. However, when we protested we were offered another room to freshen up before hitting town and our stuff were transferred between rooms.
- The bedroom of our suite had no windows and the living area had two very small windows which did not open. As a consequence, the room was dark and the air inside was never fresh.
- Dull interiors. Just an average hotel building from the 90's, nothing special.

And the Pros:
- Breakfast and 5:30 snack & drinks included in room price.
- Very efficient wi-fi internet service included in price.
- Free pop corn and soft drinks available at the lobby during evening hours.
- Great location within several blocks of the French Quarter and walking distance to many attractions.
- Friendly and responsive staff.

Overall, the hotel is nothing special but the extras add great value. Still we felt like the hotel should not be ranked as high as it is among the hotels in the area but then again we have not stayed at the others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmutB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The Drury Inn & Suites in New Orleans was an absolute pleasure to stay in. Located on Poydras Street, it is quite close to the French Quarter, Museums and the Riverfront so that you can easily walk to all of these attractions. However, it is in a very quiet area making it a peaceful getaway from some of the noisier areas of the city.

The hotel's lobby is quite pleasing when you walk in, and the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and the room rate comes with a free hot breakfast daily, in addition to a free "happy hour" with free alcohol every night from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM, that also includes some basic foods such as hot dogs, potatoes, mac & cheese, corn chips and chicken tenders. They offer free wi-fi and have a rooftop whirlpool and swimming pool.

Their rates were also very reasonable, especially compared to other hotels in New Orleans. We'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,116 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing