We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and extras!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great service and extras!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed two nights in very nice room with a separate bedroom with a king bed and flat screen TV; living room with another flat screen TV and very high ceilings and windows; and a huge bathroom with jetted tub and separate shower. The room, also, had a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator.

We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast both mornings which included waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, etc.

We, also, enjoyed the daily complimentary 5:30 kickback which included 3 drinks and appetizers/munchies like chips, pretzels, vegetables and dip, chicken fingers, macaroni and cheese, chili, etc.

I had hoped to enjoy the pool, however, the weekend we were there was cloudy, rainy, and dismal . . . maybe next time.

The location is decent . . . a few blocks to Canal and Bourbon streets, the casino, and plenty of bars, restaurants, entertainment and activities.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    510
    90
    24
    13
See reviews for
639
594
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here week of Sept 24 and the hotel exceeded our expectations. We had stayed at the Drury in San Antonio and loved it so that is why we chose this hotel. It is a leisurely 10 minutes walk to the French Quarter. If you do not feel like walking, there is a bus stop at the corner of the block. An all day bus/trolley ticket is 3 dollars - a barging if your feet get tired like ours did. The management was great and assisted us in finding places to eat and offering suggestions. A special shout out to Reynaldo for being especially helpful and taking extra time to assist us in getting the most out of our vacation. The full breakfast was very good as always and the evening kickback was also nice. There is no restaurant in the hotel but it was not an issue with so many good places to eat in the area. Our room was very nice and the bed was excellent. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting New Orleans. FYI - there is a lot of road and sidewalk work going on as the city is getting ready to host the Super Bowl. It did not interfere with our activities though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steelmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Vilage, KS
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Spent 9/22-9/24 there with son to see the Chiefs/Saints game. Hotel staff extremely nice and helpful with everything, particularly arranging transportation and restaurant recommendations. Reynaldo at the front desk is one of the most pleasant people I've ever met. Always a smile, always asking what he can do for us. We ate breakfast there both days, and snacked both nights. Rooms were very good sized, particularly the 8th floor. Pool is on the roof. We did not use it. Nice view too. Great location to everything. 10 minutes to the Superdome, 10 minutes to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimK7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel was lovely! The lobby is breathtaking.

I will admit that I was disappointed when I got to my room. I was expecting a suite with two rooms and I only had one room with two beds. I think I was expecting more of a Homewood or Embassy Suites type hotel. However, the room was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable.

The included breakfast and dinner were simple but very good. My kids LOVED the rooftop pool. You are walking distance from the French Quarter and Bourbon Street and you can also walk to the WW2 museum. The trolley line is just outside.

Great hotel in a great location and I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CAm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel was in the absolute perfect location. I was a bit upset at first that we were not able to find a hotel "closer to the action" like in the French Quarter. I would not stay anywhere else next time. It was close to everything and a bit quieter than the other locations closer to the action. As always with Drury Suites, the Managers Reception is always a plus. The staff was amazing and I cannot say enough about the valet service, especially Brandon Stouffiet. He went out of his way to familiarize me and my husband with the area and walked about 4 blocks to get my husband's cell phone out of our car that he left. Manager also spoke to us both days and asked about our visit and our hometown.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel for four days during September 2012. A home away from home!
Service and customer focused staff in all areas of the hotel looked after customers with genuine care. Every evening from 5.30pm they have the Manager's reception, which entails a free drink of your choice and extensive snacks. both hot and cold food. The breakfast is very adequate (cereals. eggs. waffles, juices, toast etc) .. and there are number of dishes. Perhaps some cut up fruit would have been good but there was bananas and apples available. There is coffee, juice, soda. Iced water available any time of the day in the reception area.
The pool on the rooftop is excellent with strangely enough few guests using it....which suited us very well. always sparkling clean and fresh towels available. The small gym got a little hot and stuffy after 8am as the sun streamed in through a number of windows. We walked an easy walk to the riverfront where you can catch the street car. There usually is a street car operating outside the hotel but maintenance work was in progress when we stayed and only buses were available.
The hotel has just commenced the building of a new wing and originally was due for completion in June 2013 but now completion is expected December 2013. We stayed in room 821 and had a small balcony overlooking the early stages of the construction sight. Didn't experience any inconvenience or noise. In fact had a lovely view at night as there was nothing obstructing our view, but this will change as the new hotel wing progresses. You will be fine for several months until this
occurs. There is a small fridge and microwave in the cupboard which is adequate but go down to Frenchmen's Street for some great cafes and restaurants. Go to Coups Place for great Cajun food and cheap too!
There is no doorman opening and closing doors. but who cares with all the other advantages one has in staying in this delightful hotel. So nice to know that management staff care about you and your stay at their hotel! Would recommend this hotel without any concern. When you book in 2013 to stay just first ask about the construction progress so you can enjoy your stay free of any inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramarama53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have stayed here several times over the years and continue to have great experiences.
All of the hotel staff is very friendly (front desk, cleaning ladies, breakfast area).
Check-in is very quick.
I like the new door keys that don't have the magnetic stripe; just wave the credit card key and you're in. No more having to worry about your cell phone demagnetizing the key.
There were a lot of people in the hotel, but the elevator waits were short (if there even was a wait).
The room was clean and spacious. Plenty of towels.
Breakfast is plentiful - oatmeal, scrambled eggs, waffles, sausages, biscuits or french toast, cereals, yogurt, fruit, breads, pastries. Something for everyone.
Happy hour is also nice. 3 alcoholic beverages, chicken tenders, hot dogs, baked potatoes, chips, carrot and celery sticks.
Popcorn and soft drinks available for quite a few hours in the afternoon/evening.
I must confess that I was reluctant to stay this time because of the valet parking (I've had bad experiences in the past at other locations). However, the valets did a great job. $25 is the same price if you self-park at the lot a couple of blocks away, but you do not get in-out privileges with self-park.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NicholasTheGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,810 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing