We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kid-friendly and many free amenities in a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I love the Drury brand hotels. When I went here for a convention with my wife and kids I knew the first place I would reserve a room is the Drury. And it was what I expected from a Drury. It had the free popcorn and drinks from 3-10 pm, free hot breakfast in the morning and free supper in the evenings. Plus, it was in a great location, with a street car stop within a few steps from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,361 - 1,367 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Hotel is located in a good neighborhood just 3 blocks from the thick of it. Far enough so you can go to bed away from the craziness. Reasonable prices especially considering all of the amenities and great staff. Added bonus, our front desk staff member during check out is the one from the Drury YouTube video of the hotel. Like meeting a minor celebrity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogolloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is well located with an easy walk (15 minutes) to the French Quarter and on the trolley line. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Service personnel are very gracious and helpful. Small coin laundry on the second level. Hot breakfast and snacks in the afternoon as well as popcorn and pop available in the lobby until 10pm. The only caveat is that the street side rooms are quite noisy as the trolley line passes on the street outside and seemed to run all night.

Room Tip: try to get a room on non-street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We travel across the country a lot and ever since our first experience at the New Orleans Drury Inn we pretty much plan our trip overnights around access to Dury Inns. Every one has been exceptionally clean and beautifully maintained, with service personnel who are competent AND friendly. (Imagine that!) In addition they have a great breakfast with lots of choices that can even be taken along for an early breakfast on the road. In the evening they have a "snack" buffet that is more than any person who may be sitting in a car for several hours should eat. It also comes with a couple drinks to help sleep come a little easier. Popcorn and drinks (sodas and teas) are also available all day long. WiFi is free and actually accessible. In New Orleans we left something plugged into our hybrid car and the batteries died. But within a few minutes we got a portable charger from the front desk and the problem was solved. The hotel is also within walking distance of one of Emeril Lagasse's restaurants. We highly recommend Drudy Inns, especially in New Orleans.

Room Tip: We have never had a room we didn't like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My family and me stayed at this hotel for the first time. The people were very friendly. The hotel is very good located. And we loved the afternoon brunch. We drank some wine, ate some veggies and had a great time in the hotel. I also enjoyed the hotel pool SO MUCH! It is a little old, but it is just great!, great temperature, nice view.... and the jacuzzi is also nice!... I would definitively stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were in the corner and it was silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viajarEsVivir-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I recently stayed at the Drury Inn for 3 nights. I was assigned a corner room on the 6th fl that had two exposures of Poydras street. I was very satisfied with the room. It was quiet (some minor street noise), very well appointed, had a nice whirlpool type jet tub, and the TV channel selection was decent. The room was clean and well cared for. The hotel was very nice, had some character, and was close to most of what people want to see when visiting New Orleans. However, it was a few blocks from most of those attractions, which I didn’t mind, but someone who wants to be in the thick of the action might find it disappointing being in the business district where the hotel is. The walk to the waterfront or Bourbon Street was about 6 blocks and felt safe even at night.

The free food and drink was a big plus. The breakfast offerings met all my expectations. Well-cooked scrambled eggs, waffles, bagels, etc. The afternoon happy hour selection was weaker. The hot dogs were consistently under cooked and somewhat unattractive in appearance. I would say ‘beef’ was either non-existent or way down on the ingredients listing. The other foods were satisfactory, but nothing off the charts. Hey, but this was all free, so I can’t subtract points. But if you plan on feasting your physician will take exception with your meal choices.

In a general sense, based on observations at various times during my midweek visit, this hotel tends to attract a somewhat older crowd….say vacationing retirees. I only saw 1 child during my 3 day visit and limited people in their 40’s or less.

My only real issue with the hotel was the ‘fitness center’. It literally consisted of 2 treadmills and a bike. Nothing else. If a hotel advertises offering such an amenity, I don’t think such a limited offering qualifies. While there was a sign up suggesting an improved offering will be forthcoming when the new hotel wing is complete, that didn’t help me on my visit and I only consider hotels that offer such because I plan on using them. I wasn’t able to here.

All in all, I was satisfied with my stay despite the fitness center misrepresentation. I would not hesitate to select the Drury on a future stay.

Room Tip: My guess is that my room on the Poydras St side on a higher floor was as good as you could get. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatzNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Nice hotel with excelent rooms - big ,clean , with everything we needed. Very nice free breakfast and they offer some complimentary beverages and lunchs during the day. They have good staffs . The location is a little bit far away from the french quarter but not so bad. I would defenitly come back.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,620 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,618 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £99 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing