We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what is not to love about this place?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“what is not to love about this place?”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Incredibly helpful and courteous front desk staff-we were having trouble getting a cab during a heavy rainstorm and the woman at the desk loaned us her own umbrella.
The usual Drury food and drink-great hot breakfast, meal sized appetizers and three free drinks with a great bartender.
Four blocks from canal street, directly up the street from Bourbon St in the central business district. I wouldn't walk from the French quarter to the hotel at 2 am, but we were perfectly comfortable walking back at 10:30 pm.
Really nice rooms, marble tiles in the bathroom-way nicer than you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    526
    92
    25
    13
See reviews for
658
615
39
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lexington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed weekend at this hotel prior to cruise. french quarter festival that weekend provided plenty of entertainment options. hotel is perfectly located for enjoying french quarter. just head out front door turn left and walk 4 blocks you will be on bourbon street. Only negative would be the parking situation but that is being fixed. Will definately stay next year as we plan on attending fqf next year.

Room Tip: 2 room suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erhwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Before our last transatlantic cruise we flew to New Orleans for a few days of pre-cruise recreation and relaxation. We stayed at a rather distinctive, conveniently located, moderately priced hotel on Poydras St. It gave us a number of note worthy, gratuitous services such as a full breakfast, free wi-fi, a number of free long distance phone calls, and an excellent happy-hour that included mouth-watering appetizers.

Tastefully appointed and well chosen period furniture, highly polished marble floors, and exquisite chandeliers transport one readily to a time when European elegance was a treasured commodity. For most, this is a welcome luxurious bonus.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of downtown New Orleans, the French Quarter, and the memorable market along Chartres St. A friendly, solicitous staff makes you feel welcome and makes your stay at the Drury a worthwhile and most pleasant experience. Need I say more, we shall be repeat customers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We were here 3 nights while attending NCAA Women's Final Four. It was a great location for walking to the arena. It was also fairly easy walk to French Quarter, about 15 minutes, felt safe but we did not walk it at night. The St Charles street car stop is just across the street. We were on the 6th floor and could hear some noise from the street car but it was not too bad. We could also hear some noise from the parking garage construction but again, not too bad. The room was spacious with vaulted ceilings. Sink was separate from toilet and bathtub which was great for sharing a room. A/C worked fine.WIFI also worked well. Bed was comfortable and good linens on the bed. The only negative to the room was the quality of the towells in the bathroom; they really need replacing. The breakfast options were ok, nothing special. The evening kickback reception was a good option for having a quick drink or snack before the game. Would be nice to have more than one choice for beer- Budlight only. It was fairly crowded during breakfast and evening reception and was sometimes difficult to find seating. Hotel seemed safe as you needed keycard entry after 10:00 and for accessing elevators. There could sometimes be a wait at the reception desk but staff were all very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Three of us recently stayed here during the Women's Final Four. The hotel decor was lovely and the staff was more than accommodating. We had a two room suite. The rooms were quite large and the ceilings were very high so it was extremely quiet. We also appreciated that the sink & vanity area were outside the bathroom since there were three of us.The free breakfast was mediocre in my opinion and the 5:30 kickback was great for families, but with so many fantastic New Orleans restaurants I wasn't about to fill up on chips, hot dogs, mac and cheese, etc. The location is within walking distance of the New Orleans Arena and the French Quarter, but because of a knee injury that wasn't possible for me. The hotel is very secure. A hotel key is needed to access the elevator. There is a great grocery store within a couple of blocks for anything you may need.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights before a cruise. During check-in the lobby was busy because it was during happy hour. You get two free drinks a night and they serve food during this time. The staff was nice and helped us find a local place to eat dinner. The rooms were clean, and big enough for four. Walking distance from (stinky) Bourbon Street, and the River walk. The pool and hot tub are located on the roof which seems like a nice idea, however they were dirty so we didn't use the pool during our stay. Breakfast in the morning Buffett style was pretty decent.
It's clean, reasonably priced, and has friendly staff. They also take AAA discount.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TM1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed here 9 years ago for the Women's Final Four basketball tournament and had a great experience, so back I went for the 2013 adventure. The hotel is located within walking distance of many areas. The breakfast was perfect for us with an ample selection of cold and hot items. The 530 kickback is a good feature for families with kids or those who want a snack before heading out. The room had a fridge which we used after getting items from the nearby market called Rouses.This market had everything from prepared food to wine/beer. The free Wifi was a plus. The only thing missing was a room safe. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful.The hotel is secure, needed to swipe card in elevator to access floor. It was a slight inconvenience but worth it. We had an issue with the toilet running that required 2 requests for service. The next day we had a leak in the bathroom light fixture. I can't even look at these as a negative because Eduardo comped us that night's stay. Since we there during the FF event, prices were higher than normal, so this was much appreciated! Minor drawbacks:the hotel had a nice rooftop pool although the hot tub looked as if it needed to be cleaned. They had a very small room with limited equipment that was the gym with a sign stating that a new area was coming soon. I would not hesitate to come back here again since all the positives greatly outweighed a few minor negatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing