We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about.. great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Everything at the Drury Inn was great. We had a very nice room, the food was good, and drinks were great. The front desk was helpful and even set up a swamp tour for us.

Valet parking was $25/night, but this cost was stated to us upfront -- before we booked. Valet service was quick when we took it, but they did ask that we call about 15 minutes ahead of time.

It is 4-5 blocks off Bourbon Street, which is not a bad walk at all. We took a bike-cab back to our hotel from the French Market (by Central Grocery) and it was $18. Fun for the kids and a nice way to not have to walk in the heat.

The pool was nice and was never full. Each time we went up, day and night, there were only four to five other kids in the pool or hot tub.

We would stay again.

Happy traveling!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeandCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

My boyfriend and I just stayed 3 nights at Drury Inn and Suites. It was our first time visiting NOLA and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is very clean and pretty when first entering the lobby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with the room's cleanliness and size. The hotel's kickback from 5:30-7:00 is quite nice. We each were able to get 3 drinks (your choice of wine, bud light, and a few mixed drinks) as well as munch on a variety of food, slightly changing each night. Breakfast was nice; scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereal, and waffles. The hotel was located a couple blocks from Canal Street and the French Quarter. The St. Charles Street car runs right by the hotel which is very convenient. Check-in and check-out were easy and the valet was friendly and efficient. Overall, no complaints and we will certainly stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaylinBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4nights in July,it was are really good place to stay close enough to everything, breakfast and a small meal at night all in the price of the room, free popcorn and soft drink from 3pm till 7pm, 3 free alcohol drinks pp, tea and coffee all day, very friendly staff very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greens4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed at the Drury Inn checking in on July 4th and stayed 4 nights. This hotel is clean and well maintained. The people that work here ALL seem to be friendly and helpful. Check in was painless. I was able to check in early before noon. The breakfast is nice. They have more than the average hotel breakfast. Eggs, sausage, biscuits, Oatmeal, potatos, waffle makers along with the normal fruit, cold cereral, yogurt type items. The afternoon kick back food is nice. Hot dogs,, check tenders, etc. This hotel is perfect for a large family with lots of kids. You can save money with the free meals and drinks. The free drinks are nice, not a big selection alcohol wise. A few types of wine and beer, vodka, bloody marys, tonic water, orange juice is about the extent of the alcohol. Its free, so just go with the flow!! Popcorn and pop in the afternoon also. Our room was on the 8th floor facing Carondelet street and had a nice view. Not much street noise. Room had double beds and was nice. High ceilings and large windows. Comfy beds. No exhaust in the bathroom. Housekeeping met expectations. The hotel is on Poydras which is in the business district so you will have to walk to get to the action of Canal street and the French Quarter. French quarter was about 5 or 6 blocks straight up Carondelet. We walked it LATE at night/EARLY morning and had no problem. Didn't feel unsafe. Trolley car line is at the corner. Stadium is about 5 or 6 blocks up the street. They have 2 computers in the lobby with printers. I had no problems with them. Also an ATM. $3 ATM charge. Nice sitting area to relax in the lobby and downstairs. The location isn't THAT bad. If you want to see a lot, then there will be a lot of walking or trolley riding. Cabs are plentiful and the front desk will call you a cab which I recommend. Unless you are VERY picky, high class type and expect EVERY little thing to be perfect, just about anyone should like this hotel and be satisfied. Its not 5 star Sheraton fancy, but not a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room on a higher floor. You can see more of the city. There are 9 floors. I stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetocruise2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I visited during Essence Festival this weekend. It was raining hard when I arrive and the valet were helpful as I drove up. The service at the front desk was courteous and welcoming. The lobby is time treasure was some contemporary elements. I did have an opportunity to sit in this beautiful decorated area. The room was ready before our original check-in time which was bonus because it was around lunchtime. The room was cozy and updated with modern decor. The suite was comfortable and enjoy the views of the city from the 8th floor. The breakfast and kickback food in the evening was accommodating especially if we did not have time to go some place to eat. Having the options of breakfast and evening food was also great especially since it rained so much this weekend. It is also close to everything. It is about 9 blocks from the convention center and about 5 blocks from the superdome. The French Quarter was about 7 blocks away.....so you don't need your car to go to restaurants or shopping. I will be definitely staying again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riena74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We live only a few hours from New Orleans, so we decided to take a quick overnight trip. We didn't want to spend much, but location was important. This hotel offers a decent continental breakfast and reasonably priced parking. We were warmly greeted, our questions were thoughtfully answered, and we were unexpectedly given a free upgrade to a suite without request. The hotel was clean and fresh, despite the fact that they are one of few hotels that still has a smoking section. The only time we faced the stale cigarette smell was when we walked through to the top floor hallway on our way to the small, but well-maintained pool on the roof. The cool factor for the kids was the best part of our stay. If you're looking for a midrange hotel located on the streetcar line and near popular attractions, I highly recommend this site.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachann_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

After getting frustrated with the Embassy Suites, we had heard about Drury Inn from friends who traveled down south quite often. Our cruise returned a little early, so we decided to see if we could check in at 10 am, the check inn person was very nice, but Renaldo told us that our room was not ready. So, I asked could we get a bite to eat nearby and he told me that they still had breakfast food available. So the family and enjoyed ancient breakfast of eggs, waffles and sausages. They had a really selection of food.

While we waited for our room we met a few nice couples who were there for a family reunion.
Our room was ready at 2:45, the down time was well spent. After checking in my wife noticed that the bathroom toilet was leaking and spewing water, so I ran downstairs to notify the front desk.

A maintenance guy showed up within five minutes to repair the leak. While the leak was being the repaired, I told the receptionist that the water was now in the carpet. The receptionist offered us a new room, which we gladly accepted.

The room was very nice and spacious, the receptionist went out of her way to make sure that were comfortable.

There was a free dinner meal. It was not bad if you had a young family and wanted to save a few bucks. The free food consisted of hot dogs, Mac and cheese, chicken tenders, etc. a lot of families were taking this option. I decided to eat elsewhere for dinner.

Also, the hotel offered three free drinks, alcohol at dinner time.

The price couldn't be beat for what was offered. This place is worth every penny and you will not be disappointed. I will no longer stay at Embassy Suites when there is a Drury Inn in the same city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,520 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,869 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £96 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing