We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Drury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
imapoohbear
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Drury”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My family and I stayed at the Drury Inn for a quick "before school starts." The Drury was priced great for our stay and close to the sites. Since we had kids (2, 6, & 13) with us, we didn't do the night life, but the Drury was close to all the family attraction too. (But if you are going for adult fun, it is close to that also). The St. Charles Streetcar was right outside the door and we were a short walk from the Children's Museum and the Aquarium.

The only bad think I can say about this Inn is that the parking is offsite (but they are building a new parking garage) and if you don't call down for your car, it could take a while to get it. The parking was $25, which is cheaper than most hotels I have stayed at in downtown NOLA.

The breakfast was great and the evening "dinner" was a great pocket saver. The kids had fun eating in the lobby. The free drinks that were offered the the adults was a real treat. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The room was clean and well maintained. I didn't smell anything like some of the other reviews say. The beds were very comfortable but are really soft. I tend to like harder beds, but it was not so bad that I couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imapoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    539
    95
    25
    13
See reviews for
676
630
41
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed for one night on the way home to Texas from a vaca in FL. We rented a room with two doubles for one night. The room was average with high ceilings. The room smelled musty (maybe from the curtains?) The hotel is remodeling, which it does need updating, and we were put in a corner room facing the construction zone on all sides of us. Not given an option for a further room away, we would have opted for that; however, we were woken up very early to the sounds of hammering, drilling, and 100% construction. I called nicely and spoke to Star about our issue and it was kindly taken care of. I was extremely happy with the service from all staff. Each person I approached was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grayfish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamosa, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Everything at the Drury Inn was great. We had a very nice room, the food was good, and drinks were great. The front desk was helpful and even set up a swamp tour for us.

Valet parking was $25/night, but this cost was stated to us upfront -- before we booked. Valet service was quick when we took it, but they did ask that we call about 15 minutes ahead of time.

It is 4-5 blocks off Bourbon Street, which is not a bad walk at all. We took a bike-cab back to our hotel from the French Market (by Central Grocery) and it was $18. Fun for the kids and a nice way to not have to walk in the heat.

The pool was nice and was never full. Each time we went up, day and night, there were only four to five other kids in the pool or hot tub.

We would stay again.

Happy traveling!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeandCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My boyfriend and I just stayed 3 nights at Drury Inn and Suites. It was our first time visiting NOLA and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is very clean and pretty when first entering the lobby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with the room's cleanliness and size. The hotel's kickback from 5:30-7:00 is quite nice. We each were able to get 3 drinks (your choice of wine, bud light, and a few mixed drinks) as well as munch on a variety of food, slightly changing each night. Breakfast was nice; scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereal, and waffles. The hotel was located a couple blocks from Canal Street and the French Quarter. The St. Charles Street car runs right by the hotel which is very convenient. Check-in and check-out were easy and the valet was friendly and efficient. Overall, no complaints and we will certainly stay again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaylinBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4nights in July,it was are really good place to stay close enough to everything, breakfast and a small meal at night all in the price of the room, free popcorn and soft drink from 3pm till 7pm, 3 free alcohol drinks pp, tea and coffee all day, very friendly staff very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greens4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed at the Drury Inn checking in on July 4th and stayed 4 nights. This hotel is clean and well maintained. The people that work here ALL seem to be friendly and helpful. Check in was painless. I was able to check in early before noon. The breakfast is nice. They have more than the average hotel breakfast. Eggs, sausage, biscuits, Oatmeal, potatos, waffle makers along with the normal fruit, cold cereral, yogurt type items. The afternoon kick back food is nice. Hot dogs,, check tenders, etc. This hotel is perfect for a large family with lots of kids. You can save money with the free meals and drinks. The free drinks are nice, not a big selection alcohol wise. A few types of wine and beer, vodka, bloody marys, tonic water, orange juice is about the extent of the alcohol. Its free, so just go with the flow!! Popcorn and pop in the afternoon also. Our room was on the 8th floor facing Carondelet street and had a nice view. Not much street noise. Room had double beds and was nice. High ceilings and large windows. Comfy beds. No exhaust in the bathroom. Housekeeping met expectations. The hotel is on Poydras which is in the business district so you will have to walk to get to the action of Canal street and the French Quarter. French quarter was about 5 or 6 blocks straight up Carondelet. We walked it LATE at night/EARLY morning and had no problem. Didn't feel unsafe. Trolley car line is at the corner. Stadium is about 5 or 6 blocks up the street. They have 2 computers in the lobby with printers. I had no problems with them. Also an ATM. $3 ATM charge. Nice sitting area to relax in the lobby and downstairs. The location isn't THAT bad. If you want to see a lot, then there will be a lot of walking or trolley riding. Cabs are plentiful and the front desk will call you a cab which I recommend. Unless you are VERY picky, high class type and expect EVERY little thing to be perfect, just about anyone should like this hotel and be satisfied. Its not 5 star Sheraton fancy, but not a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room on a higher floor. You can see more of the city. There are 9 floors. I stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetocruise2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I visited during Essence Festival this weekend. It was raining hard when I arrive and the valet were helpful as I drove up. The service at the front desk was courteous and welcoming. The lobby is time treasure was some contemporary elements. I did have an opportunity to sit in this beautiful decorated area. The room was ready before our original check-in time which was bonus because it was around lunchtime. The room was cozy and updated with modern decor. The suite was comfortable and enjoy the views of the city from the 8th floor. The breakfast and kickback food in the evening was accommodating especially if we did not have time to go some place to eat. Having the options of breakfast and evening food was also great especially since it rained so much this weekend. It is also close to everything. It is about 9 blocks from the convention center and about 5 blocks from the superdome. The French Quarter was about 7 blocks away.....so you don't need your car to go to restaurants or shopping. I will be definitely staying again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riena74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,555 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,721 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing