We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE QUIET LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NICE QUIET LOCATION”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. Located in a quiet area 5 blocks west of Canal and Bourbon streets. Free all you can eat hot breakfast in the morning. Hors d'oeuvres served in the evening along with 3 free alcoholic drinks per person. However, if you do this, you lose the chance to sample all the great New Orleans restaurants. <g> But, if you are on a tight budget, this really helps to defray expenses.
Trolley line is just across the street from the front door and it will get you to just about everywhere in the area.
King size bed was comfortable with 5 pillows provided. Our room had a whirlpool bath. Front desk clerks are so pleasant and always smiling considering they seem to spend most of their time answering tourist questions. My thanks to Renaldo, Ayila and Star. I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I return. And I had so much fun in this city, I expect to return soon.
OldTOm

Room Tip: Try for a corner room, 800, 700, 600, 500, 400, 300. We stayed in room 800 and it gives you a 3 to 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    537
    95
    25
    13
See reviews for
675
630
41
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I booked this hotel because all of the other hotels that I would have stayed at were completely booked or overpriced because of the blues festival and conventions that were going on in New Orleans last week. I totally enjoyed my stay. The rooms were very clean and well cared for although old. I had a suite and it was large and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was an added treat as was the 5:30 kickoff. The food was well prepared and there was lots of it. I like the security in the hotel, you could only access your rooms with your card key in the elevators. The hotel was exceptionally quiet since it was full to capacity you would never have know it. The beds were very comfortable and they gave extra pillows, which was a plus for me. I would definitely recommend this hotel and also stay there again. My only one thing I would have liked, was a bar and music. It would have been nice to come back to the hotel later in the evening and have a drink with friends and listen to some music but, it was not a necessity just a wish.

Room Tip: The higher floors are very quiet and of course have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronmedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We enjoyed our room and the service at the Drury Inn of New Orleans. This was actually our favorite hotel out of 4 hotels on our trip. The windows in our room were awesome and although we were overlooking construction, we still enjoyed the large windows and light! The roof top pool was a hit with our whole family. There were some pool areas that could use some updating/maintenance (repair concrete/tile in areas, etc.) but it was very neat to be on top of the city enjoying the view and the sounds while taking an evening dip and the pool appeared and felt clean. The air conditioner in the room worked (important in New Orleans during the Summer!) and the room was clean. The beds weren't the most comfortable but they were okay. The food (breakfast and afternoon/evening) was a great bonus. Nothing extremely delicious and a pretty packed dining area but it sure makes the hotel stay a great value when you can plan on those meals being taken care of. I will also say this hotel was within walking distance for all kinds of places we wanted to go in NOLA (French Quarter, Bourbon Street, etc.) as long as you are in good physical health to walk those distances. We walked for several hours in the evening and enjoyed it very much. We had to valet park our car which I had reservations about (I like having access to our vehicle at all times) but turned out to be convenient and a non-issue. I would recommend the Drury Inn if you are visiting NOLA.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Drury Hotel is all that it says and more. Our stay was only two nights and enjoyed all of it .The breakfast in the morning was very nice as was the reception in the evening both complimentary and well stocked . Rooms were clean and neat also the bathroom spacious and well stocked . Beds were very comfortable. The entire staff were helpful and friendly. The only reason for only four stars was the size of the room. The bed was too close to the dresser making it somewhat difficult to move around. The room was long end narrow. Would we stay there again ? Absolutely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlaces_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay but had an issue with being put in a smoking room. No matter how they try to freshen it the smoke odor lingers and permeates your clothing.. We asked to be moved to a non smoking floor but were told that couldn't happen. So.... make sure your reqest for a non smoking is documented when you make your reservation. On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location. The happy hour and breakfasts are a nice perk. I'd stay here again IF I can get that non smoking room. RK

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBK00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations and I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your experience during your stay at our hotel. We do our best to honor all guest requests, but sometimes it is difficult due to occupancy. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in New Orleans... we look forward to having you as our guest again!

Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent four days and three nights at the Drury Inn. Once we walked into the hotel we were pleasantly surprised with how nice the lobby looked, During the Happy Hour it can get a little chaotic, but once their construction is completed I am confident that that will no longer be an issue. The rooftop pool was a perfect refreshment between the day's activities. However, the best thing that Drury provided was an exceptional staff. Before we arrived at the hotel we called and set up an offsite activity and Jamie, one of the employee's, was very helpful in registering our group for the event as well as making us feel at home. Upon arrival we spoke with Kristen at the front desk about local fares and each and every establishment that she referred was wonderful. During the Happy Hour, Lo, one of the staff member's, was very helpful and we always looked forward to pleasant conversations with her during this time.Looking for a place to stay, THIS IS IT.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel was a couple of blocks away from Bourbon Street which was nice. The rooms were nice and clean, I loved the automatic soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers! The pool was up on the roof and could use a couple of umbrellas as that sun gets pretty hot but other than that it was awesome! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the 5:30pm kickback. It was more than enough food to basically be your dinner and not to mention the 3 free alcoholic drinks they give you. The only negative but that is NEW ORLEANS in general is the parking...It was $24+tax each day.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor and faced Poydrus...they are doing some construction right now outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MISSK2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,720 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 163 in New Orleans
4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing