We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for the money in the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

What a hotel! This place was great, all starting with the friendly and helpful staff. All bookings went smoothly, they were always smiling, and had many recommendations of places to go within walking distance. We found driving up and getting the valet parking was easiest, and it runs around $24 per day, but they will go and retrieve it as may times as you need while staying. Our room was 803 and consisted of a living room with a pull out couch, a bed room with a king size bed, and a large bathroom tiled floor to ceiling. Very nice. Both rooms had good sized TVs and the living room had a small refrigerator. The Drury offers complimentary Breakfast and dinner each day. We assumed this would be not very good since it was free, but the breakfast was as good as i have ever had at a hotel. Eggs, waffles, donuts, sausage, biscuits and gravy etc. The dinner was perfect for our little ones, we would feed them to save a few dollars at some of the nicer restaurant they would probably not appreciate anyways. Dinner consisted of Hotdogs, pasta, chicken tenders, nacho fixings etc. Also adults of age got one free alcoholic drink each day of their stay during dinner hours.
The Hotels location is pretty good, you are about a seven minute walk from the french quarter, and within 10 min there are at least 20 restaurants. Many of which are highly recommended. The hotel is also only 10-15 minute walk to the WWII Museum which was our favorite part of Nawlins. All in all, i highly recommend this hotel, and if we ever are in the area again i will not hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GDGandTBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference in N OLA. King size bed was in a smaller room on the 7th floor, but had everything I needed (including a late check out). You need a room key to go up the elevator = safe! Free wifi with a strong connection. Free breakfast. Free light dinner. Staff was very friendly and accommodating to guests needs. I would not only recommend the Drury, I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teri_from_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just finished a two-night post-cruise stay at the Drury Inn and Suites. The hotel is in an ideal location, about six city blocks from the French Quarter. It is an easy and safe walk, which leads directly to the corner of Bourbon and Canal. The St. Charles street trolley is almost outside the door (very short walk across the road). Get a $3.00 day pass to ride the trolley lines throughout the city. The passes are also good for the bus line, which is faster, but not as interesting. The lobby is very nice and inviting, with plenty of sofas, big screen TVs, chairs, etc. There is a free happy hour with three free alcohol drinks per person and hot food/appetizers. The breakfast was good as well, and included in the price. Though a bit pricey, the extras made up for it. Free, fast WiFi was a plus. We had a corner room on the sixth floor, and it was very spacious with high ceilings, fridge, microwave, and a whirlpool tub. Even though there was a Saints home game the first night, it was very quiet in the room - no outside noise or inside for that matter. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. There was a nice-sized gym with three treadmills, an elliptical, two bikes, full weights, water/towels, TV, etc. The gym was kept nice and cool, which many hotels do not do.
There are plenty of choices in the same area and even across the street, but I'd come back to the Drury Inn for sure.

Room Tip: Get a corner room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. It's an excellent hotel near the French Quarter. We walked everywhere in the area. Valet parking was $25 a night, which seems to be the rate for parking in the area for self parking as well. The hotel had a hot breakfast and afternoon snacks (hotdogs, spaghetti, chips, nachos, drinks). All the staff was extremely nice. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthijst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed here the night before a cruise and the night that we returned from the cruise. We were keeping our travel plans flexible and on both occasions we walked in and booked a room there and then at the desk without having any prior booking. Luckily, there were rooms available on both nights. On our last evening in New Orleans, we were struggling to get a room in the city due to the football game. When we asked at the desk for room availability we were advised that only smoking rooms were available, however to compensate for the fact it wasn't non-smoking, we were upgraded to a suite and offered a very competitive rate. Everything about the attitude of the staff is right. They were very friendly, attentive and accommodating. We would like to particularly thank Renaldo and Tory, who looked after us on the two occasions that we stayed here. This is a great hotel, you get breakfast and free evening food and drinks too, which really tops it off!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithAC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently attended a large convention in New Orleans, spending 5 nights at the Drury. I had booked the hotel on my own, even though our group had convention rates at many hotels, but not the Drury. We briefly considered some posher places such as the Windsor Court (beautiful hotel, stayed there previously) and the Roosevelt Waldorf Astoria, but ultimately chose the Drury because I knew it would have exactly what I wanted and expected for this trip. Namely, that was: a free hot breakfast served early before rushing off to the convention center, free cocktails and nibbles upon return in the early evening before leaving again for dinner, and free wifi. For this trip, we did not need to be pampered with spa treatments or gourmet on-site dining.

We had been introduced to the Drury brand at another convention in San Antonio a few years ago. It is a mid-level brand, nothing fancy, that offers a lot of cluck for your buck. The freebies mentioned above are offered at every Drury, plus free long distance and local calls, free soft drinks and popcorn in the afternoon, a pool, free 24-hour business center, and flat screen TVs with HBO.

The NOLA Drury is located in the Central Business District on the corner of Poydras St. and Carondelet St. About 5 blocks east is Canal St., the western edge of the French Quarter. Carondolet actually turns into Bourbon St., the hub of debauchery in the Quarter. The St. Charles Streetcar actually runs east on Carondolet before turning on Canal and heading back west on St. Charles St. one block south. The Mississippi River and Harrah's Casino are within walking distance south; the convention center is a bit of a stretch to walk to.

The hotel was formerly an office building and the rooms retain the building's windows and high ceilings on most floors. The lobby and dining area occupy the ground floor, and there is additional dining space downstairs. The dining area is rather small; the hotel is in the midst of a major expansion (expected completion 3/14) that will add about 60 more rooms, plus a larger dining area, on-site parking, and meeting space. There is a small rooftop pool and hot tub. Front desk service was quite friendly. The only other lobby level personnel are the valets and dining staff. There are no bellboys--I saw many a guest shlepping their own luggage on those rolling carts bellboys use. The front desk will store your luggage, however. Taxis do not regularly line up in front of the hotel, but the valet can whistle one down for you, or the desk can prearrange a taxi to the airport (flat rate fee).

Our room was a king on the 3rd floor. It had very high ceilings, and 2 large windows overlooking Poydras. The sink's counter area was small, but it was separate from the tub/shower and commode. The shower had dispensers for bath gel, shampoo and conditioner, like at a gym. The closet's hangers were the kind you can't remove from the rod. The bedside clock radio had 5 preset and prelabeled stations, nothing else, and some of the labels were wrong (the "soft rock" station was actually a Spanish language station). What I missed most in the room was a safe; turndown service, stationery, newspaper delivery, robes and slippers were not offered but also not expected. While many hotels stay green by changing linens every other day, the Drury waits 4 days before changing them. The room did have 2 phones, a desk that could roll around, and many electrical outlets.

"Quikstart" breakfast offerings were the same daily. Hot foods included scrambled eggs, potatoes, oatmeal, sausage patties, biscuits, gravy, plus make-your-own Belgian waffles. Also available were muffins and donuts similar to store-bought, breads and bagels to toast, cold cereals, yogurt, fresh whole fruits, orange and apple juices. I think most of the food is pre-cooked and frozen; the eggs taste the freshest. Even the "butter" for the waffles is called "whipped spread" and the syrup has virtually no maple flavour, but I'm not complaining, just observing.

The 5:30 Kickback menu rotated every other day. Italian meatballs and penne pasta with marinara alternating with chicken strips and mac & cheese. Soups alternated between broccoli cheddar, minestrone, and chili. Offered everyday were hot dogs and baked potatoes, served with the same "whipped spread" and REAL sour cream (by Daisy!). Also offered every day were salad greens, carrot and celery sticks, pretzels, potato chips, tortilla chips and fixings for nachos (cheese sauce, jalapenos, salsa).
Every adult guest gets a card for 3 free alcoholic beverages nightly. Nothing fancy, no mixologist required, but free and served with a smile.
I must confess, 2 days were fatigued enough to make the Kickback our supper and didn't go out later on.

This stay reconfirmed my fondness for the Drury brand. Sometimes we like to splurge and be coddled, but the Drury can be the right fit for certain types of vacations. The Dury is the opposite of "the more you pay, the less you get".

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pillowsofwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights last weekend and loved it from the moment we walked into the lobby. We arrived prior to check in time and we were told our room would be ready in about an hour. The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful and offered to store our bags while we went to lunch. They gave us several recommendations for restaurants nearby. The hotel is very elegant and so immaculate! Location is wonderful...close to the french quarter but in a quiet, safe area. The breakfast buffet was great and the evening happy hour and buffet was excellent too and a great added bonus. You can't beat the value of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,520 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,869 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £96 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing