We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Would stay there again”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good hotel in a good location, close enough, but not too close to the French Quarter and only a few steps from the St. Charles streetcar line. The room was very quiet, clean, comfortable and the price included a standard hotel breakfast buffet and late afternoon cocktails. There was coffee and popcorn in the lobby area all day. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not spend a lot of time in the hotel but it met all of our needs for our stay and for a reasonable price.
We had dinner in the Garden District a couple of times and the easy access to the St Charles street car made it really simple to get there and back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    534
    93
    25
    13
See reviews for
668
622
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here during Jazz Fest in early May. The hotel isn't much to look at from the outside- it appears to be an older building. We had a king room on the 7th floor- the view was of a parking lot with graffiti on the walls. The room was perfectly adequate though- the bed was comfy, shower pressure good, and we didn't hear any noise from outside or within the hotel. Nice and quiet- we slept great. The 5:30 kickback was great! Free drinks and appetizers. I just wish it lasted more than an hour since we didn't make it back to the hotel in time each night for it. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful as well. Waffle maker, hot buffet items, juices, etc. And included in the cost of the hotel room- a great plus. The hotel was a short walk from French quarter and other areas of interest. The city bus ran close by to the hotel- we took this to the City Park and rode bikes, as well as to the Jazz Fest. The price for our room was pretty steep since it was during Jazz Fest- but we still felt like it was a good value and in line with other hotels in the area. Parking was $25 a night plus tax. The hotel is still undergoing renovations- it looks like the parking garage will be attached to the building rather than 10 minutes away which will be nice. Overall would recommend staying here- no reservations!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is in a fairly quiet part of downtown. We had a king room on the second floor near the Poydras side of the building. The room was very clean, well furnished, good size with a very large bathroom. The lobby is very elegant. The only criticism would be that we heard quite a bit of plumbing noise. It was not a big deal but just a little noisier than some other places we have stayed. I will probably be back the next time I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goehringw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morinville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in October 2013 and had a wonderful stay. Our room was spacious, spotless and so comfortable. Our kids loved the complimentary popcorn and refreshments. Rinaldo and Star provided excellent advice. The short walk to the French Quarter was easy and safe. Will definitely consider staying again next time we're in New Orleans.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank philbear95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Love to stay at all Drury Inns. Since my first stay in 2005 whenever I'm traveling I'll first search for Drury. Clean rooms reasonable price, hot breakfast and a kickback dinner. The three free drinks during kickback seals the deal..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay. Went with high school friends to celebrate a big birthday. The hotel staff took great care of us from the moment we booked the two suites. The rooms were in the Lafayette Tower and were huge. They are in the final stage of a Reno so there was some construction going on. It was not in the French Quarter so needed to use cabs which are in abundance.
Ask for Rinaldo when you book, he will take care of you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Drury Inn & Suites is in the Central Business District. It's close to the Super Dome & there's a streetcar stop on the corner. Drury Inn New Orleans holds true to the Drury tradition by providing great customer service, morning breakfast & kick-back at 5:30. It's under going an expansion, the new part of the hotel is very nice but not as elegant as the older part. Front desk people were very helpful, answering questions and with making reservations for various tours & activities.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2CAPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,122 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,225 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
513 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,562 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing