We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights following a cruise, wished we had booked for a longer stay! Location is very convenient, easy walk to the streetcar line, even for someone with difficulty walking. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Would most certainly stay here again. In fact, i will be looking for Drury Inns from now on innareas I am travelling to!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

My trip was part of a bus tour. I was so impressed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay here for sure if and when I am in N.O. The beds are so comfortable, I missed it when I returned home

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nearly everything was as advertised. The location is on the corner of Poydras and Carondolet. Carondolet (pronounced with "let" at the end - it's Spanish, not French) becomes Bourbon Street once you cross Canal Street, about five blocks away. An easy walk - and away from the noise and smell of Bourbon Street, but close enough to get there quickly if you want.

Our room was in the older section of the hotel, but it was fine. We had a suite with a king size bed and the 2nd room had a pull out sofa. It slept fine for my kid. The pool was fine as was the exercise room.

The best deal at this hotel is that breakfast and happy hour/"dinner" are included. If you want to economize your trip to New Orleans, you could stay here, eat a big breakfast, skip lunch, and eat dinner at the happy hour and save big time. The breakfast is fine, although nothing is cooked to order. But there are scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, waffles, muffins, bagels, etc. every day. The coffee is very good. Dinner is not anything special, but still fine if you want to save: hot dogs, meatballs, mac and cheese, baked potatoes, chips, a small salad, nachos - all fine and filling if you choose to go that way. Our kids did, but we chose to eat a few nachos as an appetizer and went out into the night to get some great New Orleans food. Every happy hour, you get three free drinks: wine, beer, and even mixed drinks.

They also have free coffee/popcorn/soft drinks available in the afternoon in the lobby. Nice for an early snack.

Any concerns? Some may not like the large dispensers of soap/shampoo/conditioner mounted in the shower. I do like them since they're so much better for the environment. No 100's of tiny, wasted soap bars with their associated wrappers and tiny shampoo bottles to be thrown away.

Only hassle for us was the $25/night valet service. It took about 30 minutes each time we wanted our car. This, apparently, will be fixed soon when their onsite garage is finished.

Internet is free. Nice touch.

All in all, a nice, reasonably-priced hotel in which to stay. You won't find a snooty doorman, a bellman, nor a concierge. "We're not full service, but we're $100 cheaper per night than those other hotels," said the general manager, Patrick. He's right. Not full service, but a great deal in my mind. I'll carry my own bags, thank you. Oh, and thanks for the free food and drink.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigMonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good hotel in a good location, close enough, but not too close to the French Quarter and only a few steps from the St. Charles streetcar line. The room was very quiet, clean, comfortable and the price included a standard hotel breakfast buffet and late afternoon cocktails. There was coffee and popcorn in the lobby area all day. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not spend a lot of time in the hotel but it met all of our needs for our stay and for a reasonable price.
We had dinner in the Garden District a couple of times and the easy access to the St Charles street car made it really simple to get there and back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here during Jazz Fest in early May. The hotel isn't much to look at from the outside- it appears to be an older building. We had a king room on the 7th floor- the view was of a parking lot with graffiti on the walls. The room was perfectly adequate though- the bed was comfy, shower pressure good, and we didn't hear any noise from outside or within the hotel. Nice and quiet- we slept great. The 5:30 kickback was great! Free drinks and appetizers. I just wish it lasted more than an hour since we didn't make it back to the hotel in time each night for it. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful as well. Waffle maker, hot buffet items, juices, etc. And included in the cost of the hotel room- a great plus. The hotel was a short walk from French quarter and other areas of interest. The city bus ran close by to the hotel- we took this to the City Park and rode bikes, as well as to the Jazz Fest. The price for our room was pretty steep since it was during Jazz Fest- but we still felt like it was a good value and in line with other hotels in the area. Parking was $25 a night plus tax. The hotel is still undergoing renovations- it looks like the parking garage will be attached to the building rather than 10 minutes away which will be nice. Overall would recommend staying here- no reservations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is in a fairly quiet part of downtown. We had a king room on the second floor near the Poydras side of the building. The room was very clean, well furnished, good size with a very large bathroom. The lobby is very elegant. The only criticism would be that we heard quite a bit of plumbing noise. It was not a big deal but just a little noisier than some other places we have stayed. I will probably be back the next time I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goehringw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our family of four stayed in October 2013 and had a wonderful stay. Our room was spacious, spotless and so comfortable. Our kids loved the complimentary popcorn and refreshments. Rinaldo and Star provided excellent advice. The short walk to the French Quarter was easy and safe. Will definitely consider staying again next time we're in New Orleans.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank philbear95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,704 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,543 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £94 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing