We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Accommodations”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Drury Inn for a week with my son and his family on vacation. We could not have asked for more from the staff. When we arrived at the Inn we were greeted by two young men that gave us so much information about the area and the local transportation. We stayed in a suite in the new Lafayette Tower of the Inn. The rooms were very nice and very spacious for a family of six. Check in was very quick and hassle free. At the check in the staff also was very helpful and gave us a lot of information as far as what we should try to see. The complimentary breakfast served every morning is so much more than I ever expected. Not your typical hotel breakfast. ( eggs, potatoes, biscuits, gravy, sausage, cereals, bagels, donuts, toast, fresh fruit, and juices. The only compliment we would have would be the housekeeping staff. It was not unbearable but we had to call the desk twice for toilet tissue and tissues. I just noticed they didn't pay a lot of attention to the condiments in the rooms. They did tidy up everyday and leave fresh towels. We all enjoyed the rooftop pool and spa. We were amazed how quiet it was when we were in our suite. Never heard our neighbors talking like you do in most hotels. The location is very good to most of the attractions. Also there is a trolley stop across the street from the hotel and a bus stop only blocks away. We bought a daily pass for $3.00 that entitled us to ride the trolley and bus unlimited times a day. This was our first visit to New Orleans so we needed a lot guidance to where we should visit and the staff certainly did help decide. I would certainly would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to anyone. Thank you to the entire staff for making our visit a very pleasant one!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lafayette Tower suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    526
    92
    25
    13
See reviews for
658
615
39
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lena, MS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in New Orleans a few time and alway stay somewhere different. I'll definitely be staying here again. Rm707 was clean and may have been right at the elevator, but it was quiet and had a nice view. Breakfast was alright but it has a large selection and is FREE. Didn't try the hot food in the evening or the pool, but did get one of the free adult beverages. The staff was very nice and helpful. Had planned on four days but only stayed one since all of our activities got rained out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We love Drury Inns because they are spacious for our family of 5. This Hotel was also safe and clean. Our children LOVE the unlimited soft drinks and popcorn available all through the day. The front desk was staffed with very kind and helpful people. We were within a short walking distance to the French Quarter and Jackson Square. This is a wonderful option for families visiting New Orleans!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liltrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel. The front desk staff is always friendly and helpful. The hotel has been renovated since my last stay which made the breakfast area very large and modern. The free breakfast, evening snacks and drinks are always a nice touch.

I will admit that I am not a fan of the required off-site valet parking, however we did not encounter any problems and the valets were friendly and accommodating.

This is a great location for all area activities. It was a brief two block walk to the French Quarter and all the sites that entails. It was a street north of the St. Charles trolley line - an inexpensive site seeing option for tourist. We also traveled out of the city many days and the Drury's location allowed for easy access to the larger highways.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristyStiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McComb, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our first time to stay at the Drury in New Orleans, but it will not be our last! Excellent front desk service, easy check-in. We stayed in a suite in the new tower and were VERY pleased with the quality of everything in the room. I would recommend asking to stay in the new section. The free drinks, popcorn, and breakfast are great. Highly recommend. A short walk to the Riverwalk and French Quarter. Streetcar runs right by if you would prefer to ride. LOVED the security and felt very safe.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkterrell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I live in Baton Rouge, which is about a 1 1/2 hour drive. We just wanted a quick little weekend getaway to let our two boys (4 & 6 years old) experience the city, and do the Aquarium, and insectarium. We checked into the Drury Inn at around 3 pm yesterday (a Saturday), and was given our room assignment. Upon exiting the elevator on the 9th floor, we instantly smelled cigarette stench. Since I requested a non-smoking room, I though maybe someone was just bending the rules... this IS New Orleans! When we entered the room, the smell was even worse. My husband went down to the lobby to report the smell, and the man behind the counter said he would send someone up to check. We brought our kids to the pool for a while, and on our way back to our smelly room, we saw one of the managers in the hallway, and confronted him again about the smoking room. I asked him if it was, in fact, a smoking room, and he said it was "mixed." He told us they could spray some deodorizer in there to make it better, and I told him that would probably make it worse. He told us to contact the front desk to see if they could do something about it. My husband went down to the front desk and talked to Aliyah. She was able to find another room for us on a non-smoking floor. We are so thankful for her! It made a HUGE difference! It smelled so much better! We are not smokers, and I just can't understand why the guy who checked us in would put a family with two little kids in a stinky smoking room! I was so afraid all of our stuff was going to stink! In the end, it worked out, but I wish all of that hadn't happened. Regardless, we had such a great time with our kids in the city.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, the 9th floor is not for you. The Lafayette Tower is the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toothfairy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Please let me apologize for a non-smoking room not being made available to you at check-in. I am happy and proud that Aliya was able to take care of you! Also, please know that a "Smoke Free Hotel" is right around the corner. Beginning in late August/early September, the Poydras Tower will begin room renovations one floor at a time; the first floor to be renovated is the ninth floor, and it will reopen as non-smoking!

As always, we thank you for staying with Drury, and we thank you for kind words.

Sincerely,
Patrick Dettwiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Never thought we would stay at a Drury Inn (sounds too much like dreary) but we were pleasantly surprised with our one night stay at this hotel. Just outside the French Quarter in the business district so you get a better rate and less noise. We stayed in room 321 with two double beds and hot breakfast included for less than $200 w/ the AAA rate during a peak occupancy time due to the 20th annual Essence Festival being held at the Superdome. This hotel is a good value for a family and includes nice perks such as the daily popcorn/soft drinks, and evening snacks.

PROS:
*Clean room, comfortable beds, high ceilings, free wifi
*Hot breakfast w/ waffle makers, eggs, bacon/sausage, biscuits/gravy, etc.
*Popcorn and soft drinks during the day, snacks at night
*Street turns into Bourbon street four blocks away after Canal
*Trolley stop is right outside hotel
*Friendly, quick valet service
*Only $25 to valet park in a covered garage (many hotels charge more)
*Front desk fixed bathroom light while we were at dinner
*5 minute walk to Momma's restaurant (get the Ferdi Special w/ debris)

CONS:
*Hotel is about four blocks from start of French Quarter so if you want to walk very far into the Quarter it is a 10 block walk minimum
*Soap/shampoo is in wall dispensers in shower so kids can't take freebies
*Periodic loud scraping sound was the trolley running next to the hotel
*We happened to be there during the Essence Festival (note to self...don't go back to NOLA during the Essence Festival)

I would not hesitate to stay here again, but would like to be IN the French Quarter next time to cut down on walk time so I think we would try a different hotel and spend the extra money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,116 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing