We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good stay at Drury...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another good stay at Drury...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Drury Inn and Suites on Poydras Street in New Orleans recently. It has a new addition, the Lafayette Tower. We stayed in the Poydras Tower. Breakfast and the Kickback were both held in the new tower and the pool is now also in the new tower. We will always stay in the Poydras Tower... we're fans of the "old" style much more than the modern. The staff was very friendly, breakfast hot and well stocked, the kickback always enjoyable. Comfortable room and very clean. Everything worked properly. Who could ask for anything more?

Room Tip: I would only say again that if you like dark wood and old style accommodations simply request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    511
    90
    24
    13
See reviews for
640
595
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Okay, before getting to this hotel, I had experienced a few problems with another hotel. From the minute I pulled into the hotel parking lot until I left, this hotel's staff took excellent care of us. The rooms were large, clean and beautifully appointed with anything you could need. If you choose to, you can eat with them twice a day. Usually there is at least one thing I don't like about the hotel, but I can't think of one negative. It was a wonderful experience and I would definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on 30th and 31st July 2014.

Check in was efficient and friendly. The room was spacious and clean.

Every night (I think between the hours of 5pm to 7pm) the hotel offers you complimentary drinks and food in the dining area. This was very welcome after a long drive from Houston. Furthermore, the complimentary food is not just snacks, but substantial offerings such as chicken strips, hot dogs, baked potatoes etc.

Breakfast was also very good.

The manager would also frequent the dining room, asking guests how things were; this was a nice touch.

The location of this hotel is great - just 2 blocks from Bourbon Street.

This was without doubt the best hotel that I stayed in during my 14 night trip to Louisiana and Texas.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The New Orleans trolley cars are quite noisy and run from early in the morning. So a higher floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaplinmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norge
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Spacious rooms, we had a 2 room family suite. Free popcorn and softdrinks for the kids. Clean and nice rooms. Very helpfull hotell employies. Higly recommended. Perfect distance to the frenc quarter/ walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Sigmund F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

At-the-door streetcar, FREE FOOD, nice pool and hot tub, responsive operators who KNOW the hotel, excellent front desk and valet, perhaps most important:housekeeping which is well-staffed & responsive!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank D & R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our first trip to New Orleans, so we had no experience with hotels in the city. We found the Drury Inn and Suites through reading reviews on TripAdvisor. The reviews were very helpful, and we are so glad that we stayed at the Drury.
Our room was very nice, the bed comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. All the staff that we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. Wifi and breakfast are included in the price of the room as well as the 5:30 "KIckback" with three drinks per person and snacks.
Another of the reasons that we chose this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor was that the hotel is close enough to walk to the French Quarter and Canal Street, but far enough from the noise of Bourbon Street that you could actually get a good night's sleep. We were able to walk to the French Quarter for sightseeing and to the restaurants. The street cars to get to the Garden District or City Park are also within walking distance.
We would definitely recommend the Drury Inn & Suites to friends or family without hesitation and it would be our first choice as a hotel when we go back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bijou-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We discovered the Drury Inn in New Orleans in 2001 and have recently stayed there for our 4th time. They never seem to disappoint us!!! Jamie at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. We arrived at 9:30 am and our rooms had been unoccupied the night before so she let us check in. Also they allowed us late chck ou on our final day. We stayed in the new tower and the room were very nice,big and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was awesome. We also enjoyed the "happy hour" in the evening. The food choices were beyond what we expected. It is in a great location,we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go (except to the airport). We look for a Drury Inn whereever we travel (just wish they had more of the in the midwest). They are our #1 hotel chain choice. You cant beat the price or the amenities!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,821 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing