We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could have been better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Ranked #83 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice but could have been better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Convention Center during the weekend before Halloween. The check in went well. Don't expect a room with French Quarter or New Orleans charm. This is a typical Hilton Garden Inn which isn't bad. I found the room nice... the bed was comfortable, the room clean and it had a microwave, mini refrigerator and a nice coffee maker. The room was relatively quiet but occasionally could hear someone snoring somewhere.

It is a pretty long walk to the FQ however it is a really short walk to the WWII Museum and the St. Charles street car line. As one reviewer commented, find a good cabbie and get his phone number. You'll need it to get back to the room at night due to the walk.

The valet parking is expensive at $30/night plus tax.

My only issue was the shower. The water temperature would not adjust. The shower was either very hot or cold. I told the front desk and to my knowledge nothing was ever done to fix it. It was very uncomfortable and frustrating to take a shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safety86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    425
    157
    98
    46
See reviews for
236
241
63
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife attended a convention in New Orleans and our selection was the Hilton, Garden Inn. Exceptional! Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the General Manager, Cullen along with Rene at the Front Desk and Anthony at the bar. We came early and stayed later to take advantage of New Orleans hospitality. Second to none. Recommended for any travellers wanting to stay near the conventions centre and the French & Garden districts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

As always Hilton has wonderful bedding - so comfortable. This hotel was in a good location for the convention center. It was a good rate but kind of old and worn. Mostly comfortable in the room, but the toilet leaked water on the floor in the back. It had a Keurig coffeemaker which I loved. Internet connection was good. Fitness center was too warm and had only 2 treadmills. I had to wait half an hour for a treadmill. Service at breakfast buffet was nonexistent and I had to bring my own coffee and water since they never came to the table before I finished eating. I had a voucher so just left it on the table. They were also often out of most food in the last half hour which was when I arrived.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank halterl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Hotel is easy to get to and located within walking distance to Canal Street and French Quarter. Walked every day back and forth from French Quarter and had no problems walking back at night. Staff is helpful with recommendations. Valet parking is a little expensive but they have your vehicle ready to go in less than five minutes when you need it and airport is a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel 2 weeks in September 2013 and it was average.
Room: ok bed quality, could be better. Nice LCD size and pretty good channels selection. Good to have a microwave in the room for late snacks. Internet is free and fast (around 3 to 5 MB).
Dinner: the restaurant is ok for dinner or a beer, and the breakfast is actually very good! Be it the buffet or the omelette bar, quality is really top and not overpriced. The snack shop comes handy when the restaurant is closed. Operation hours for the restaurant should be extended though.
Service: overall very very average. Seems like nobody really care. For the breakfast, go ahead and look for a table yourself. If you are lucky enough it will have silverware on it, if not, that's your job to get them. Same for coffee, go grab a mug and help yourself. At the reception, it feels like you're disturbing more than anything else (what? adding your hilton card number to your reservation, i dont think i can do that => and no they didnt).
Hotel amenities: fitness center is good, didnt use the pool.
Location: well located just next to the convention center and inside the cbd (lots of restaurants and bars).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathiasroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is the best location to stay at if you wanna be close to the party but far enough away to relax!
This hotel was super accomodating! I would definitely stay here again.
rooms are really spacious! The pool was very nice! It's really quiet here and theres is an adorable patio in the back you can hang out at!

over all i really liked it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Excellent staff, they were courteous and helpful in making tour and travel arrangements. It was very easy to get to convention center. The walk to the French Quarter was not too bad, 15 minutes at a brisk pace, through the warehouse district (dark streets at night). Did not love the bed, which made sleep very uncomfortable. However, the halls and rooms were much quieter than I expected. This is not a hotel with a view or high end amenities. It is excellent for meetings/conferences at the Convention Center.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Address: 1001 S Peters St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing