We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Greenville, SC, United States
1 review
“The Big Easy”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff was very friendly and willing to take the extra minute to help you find something off the tourist trap areas. I reccommend taking the Cajun Encounters bus tour first. We were able to get our bearings in the city and know where we wanted to explore further in the rest of our trip. The hotel was in safe walking distance to all attractions. We never got on the street cars and walked to bourbon st and the areas around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Leighanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    437
    164
    105
    52
See reviews for
245
253
65
468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for Mardi Gras week 2014, and were pleasantly surpirsed with the ease in which we were checked in/out. Hotel has many conveniences including a full service restaurant and bar in the lobby. The location is two blocks from the Convention Center and three from the Blue Line Streetcar which will take you to Canal, the Riverwalk and the French Quarter. Clean, Clean, Clean - exactly what you should expect from the Hilton brand. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful for taxis, restaurant recommendations, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are far from the elevators, so if walking is difficult, you should requests one closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Have stayed at this hotel several times. Everything about the hotel makes me feel at home. The location is the BEST. Walk up St.Peters to the Sqaure, and easy to catch a cab back to the hotel. Alway have breakfast there, and it is cooked fresh. Everyone seems to love their job. No one is mad because they are working, and the smiles flow like wine. The pool is great and is away from the rooms so you do not get any excess noise. Love the little snack area because there are lots of items to choose from. Coffee perfect, not 2 strong not 2 weak, and it is still FREE!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Glynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice hotel with a great staff. Everyone was great from the front desk to the breakfast staff very friendly with lots of smiles. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the French quarter, canal street trolley, and about 5 minutes from the WW II museum, and Harrah's Casino. Since it is not in the French quarter it was quite at night and we were not disturbed by loud music and partying. However, if your goal is to drink and party you might want to choose a location closer to the quarter. Again I cannot emphasize enough the professionalism of the staff everyone we encountered made us feel like they were their to ensure our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: Probably the higher floors the better, we were on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for 7 days for Mardi Gras long weekend. This Hilton is a block from the Convention Center which is prime location for convention attendees and Mardi Gras parade goers.
This is a fun and crazy time for New Orleans with lots of out of town visitors. The front desk staff was accommodating and friendly. The room is updated and ample for a standard room. Nice rear courtyard adjacent to Generations Hall. I was most impressed with the Food and Beverage Manager- young fellow who worked by example. He cleaned, rolled flatware into napkins and did whatever it took to help his staff since the restaurant was bombarded with lots of hung over Mardi Gras partiers. Customer service was paramount to his staff. Lots of coffee refills that were endless and fresh.The cooks were great...made to order omelets were a plus. Our breakfast was comped due to our Hilton status. But we tipped well. The wait staff were friendly and professional. The Zulu parade on Mardi Gras day was 4 blocks away and one block over. Zulu, Orpheus, Bacchus Balls and more were all held at the Convention Center. We already booked our room for Mardi Gras 2015.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DruckersTravel4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We lucked out and got a room at the end of the hall on the 5th floor. Barely heard a thing. Hotel was by two parade routes and we didn't hear noise from the outside! That's all one could ask for! 2 blocks from convention center. Howlin' Wolf up the street. Poydras a few blocks away. 10 minute walk to Canal street. Pie n Pizza up the street for after parade grub. The front desk helped with parade routes and they made sure to have the hot coffee/cocoa/tea available since it was a very cold and rainy Fat Tuesday this year. Served it's purpose!

Room Tip: For events like the jazz fest or mardi gras, stay away from the rooms near the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We arrived to find there are 2 Hilton “Garden” INNs same name different locations both with roof top or 4th floor pools(roof top looking in photos )Please note we did not book on expidia as a staff member said “ they can send the wrong pictures in confirmations” we booked directly over the phone with the hotel. This resulted in us going to the 11th floor with all our luggage only to have to take a cab to the other location. Confirmation was not clear staff was not empathetic to situation at first location OR second checking in. Staff was shockingly rude the whole trip, I complained the hot tub was cold the first day, second and third day to no resolve. It was not broken (at one point the maintenance guy said it was not) and we were eventually told they turn it off when it’s raining due to safety issues? We are not sure what that could be as hot tubs are mostly used in cold weather. If it’s a case of the decks are slippery then a simple “Slippery when wet, use caution/at your own risk” would save them from legal reproductions if an inquiry occurred. Please keep in mind someone that may only get one vacation a year if that, and by choosing to go to New Orleans in the “winter” over a sandy beach the one thing we looked forward to was our HOT tub !!! We did a ton of walking and I was very disappointed we could not come back and relax during our whole vacation. After I called the first night and they said they would have someone look at it, we checked and it was colder than the pool the second day and when I was complaining at the front desk one lady actually rolled her eyes directly at me as I was calmly asking why it was not resolved. While we were waiting for a supervisor to “look into it” he just left us for 15 min sitting in the closed restaurant. We overheard the maintenance guy tell him it was working fine just not on. Then he disappeared and we left as we wanted to try and enjoy our vacation not sit waiting for an excuse. Hallway smelled by the ice machine by our room very badly the last 2 days. Website says "included hot breakfast" it s a buffet for 12.99 not free at all. We would never stay at a Hilton again, so much for southern Hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtney m, Assistant to the GM at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Kelly F,

Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. I want to personally apologize for the confusion with booking, and for the frustration you must be facing. The service you describe is not at all typical of the usual excellent standards we strive for. I assure you that your safety, as well as the safety of all our guests is of the utmost importance to us. I’m sorry you were not able to enjoy our rooftop hot tub. However, if circumstances present any sort of safety concern, we do not take chances with the health and well being of our guests. I have shared your feedback with our Engineering & Maintenance, Housekeeping, and Food & Beverage departments, and we will work together to prevent similar issues from occurring in the future. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again. If I may be of any further assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly at 504-310-1499.

Thank you,
Courtney Milligan
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Address: 1001 S Peters St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing