We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Ranked #70 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed the stay a lot. The location is the main advantage of this hotel - it is just 10 minutes walk to Bourbon Street. The check in was swift, the rooms are big, parking was 29$/day with taxes and the staff was friendly and helpful. Felt safe there, have to use the room key for the elevator to stop on your floor. We were there on Saturday night, have to say the hotel was crowded. The bar downstairs was closing at 11 pm. Definitely try a hurricane drink there, it's delicious. Overall would stay there again. Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I’m so glad your visit to the Crescent City was enjoyable! You’re absolutely right; our property is in the perfect location! Only 2 blocks from Canal St, 4 blocks from the Superdome, and 6 blocks from the French Quarter! Our central setting warrants a leisurely stroll to any attraction of interest. Should you wish to take a historical journey or rest your feet, the Loyola Ave Streetcar line picks up 1 ½ blocks in either direction from our front door! A mere $1.25 per ride or $3 for the entire day, hop on and hop off as much as you like! Thank you for reviewing our hotel and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    451
    198
    56
    47
See reviews for
255
297
93
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel in May of this year and was pleasantly surprised of the quality I found. I was wary of staying in a Holiday Inn, especially in an unfamiliar city, but I really enjoyed my stay. Upon check on the staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending places to eat and places to go.

Our room was spacious, all of the essential amenities were included (coffee maker, TV and a great mini fridge). We had two smallish double beds and a very large desk. All in all the room was perfect for us. My only problem was the position of the room in the building- it overlooked Loyola Avenue, a very busy street which was very noisy at all times day and night. After a while I stopped noticing the noise as much, except when a siren would blast us out of it every now and then!

Ate in the restaurant downstairs twice (The Holiday Streetcar Restaurant), really because it was just so convenient. The food was OK. Nothing amazing but not the worst. We ordered the mixed platter appetizer which was tasty, but I think nearly all of the food came from the freezer. I had a blackened Cajun pasta dish for my main course. It was alright, a little bland but again not the worst. The service at dinner both nights was extremely friendly and helpful. I think our server's name was Ebony, she was lovely!

Housekeeping were extremely efficient and our room was spotless everyday and I really want to give them their props. They were always really friendly and I wish I could remember the name of one lady in particular. She was so helpful and so nice. I kept accidentally sneaking up behind her and giving her a fright, but she was such a good sport. Also the doorman and concierge were ALWAYS pleasant and friendly, and it's the small things like this that really made the stay.

The hotel is decorated in a funky modern art-deco style which was very nice and a much needed change from the traditional hotel chains.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend. It is in a convenient location and is also close to streetcar stops if you don't feel like walking. There's a CVS and Walgreens nearby and it's near to Bourbon Street and all of the essentials (coffee shops, bars, restaurants, pharmacies etc). The walk up Canal St to get home in the evenings was a little sketchy at times, but then again that's New Orleans for ya! Looking forward to going back and seeing more of the city!

Room Tip: One facing away from Loyola Avenue, and high up to avoid the traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBC1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the recommendation, we greatly value your feedback! I apologize for the noise outside your room, should you return we can certainly place you on a higher floor located on the back side of the hotel. Our team has been working diligently to increase guest satisfaction and it’s extremely rewarding guests appreciate our efforts. Your wonderful comments will be shared with every department!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Superdome during the Essence Festival weekend with a group of friends. Im an avid Holiday Inn 'stayer' and was not surprised that this hotel lived up to my expectations. We had some issues with parking our vehicle....told one thing by the garage attendant and another by the front desk personnel. That's something that can be overlooked, but you would expect everyone to have a team meeting before this large event (instead of paying $15.00/day for additional vehicles during the festival - as posted on a sign and what we were told -we were asked to pay the full $29.00/day). Everyone needs to get on the same page in the future. The room was great as ususal. I expected loud noise or running in the halls - never heard any noise. Our balcony was on Loyola Avenue and the noise wasn't that bad (we were on the 10th floor though). Some of the staff was friendly and some of them weren't, but like I said...sometimes you expect that with the crowd that you have coming through there. We were always able to get a taxi when we needed it. The only person that was completely hospitable 24/7 was the guy running the bar. Early or late..he never showed that he was tired or ready to go. We ate twice there and the food was okay and decently priced. I'm pretty sure our room didn't get the light cleaning that I expected. Somehow a large piece of lint that was sitting on the back of the sink was still sitting there after our room was cleaned, and we had previously seen a hard tag (that you remove from clothes sitting in plain sight by the bed on the floor), well it was still there as well. One would conclude the carpet wasn't vacuumed and sink didn't receive a quick wipe down at all. These are small issues that you would normally call in, but wouldn't sway me on not staying here again. I'd definitely use this Holiday Inn property again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbutler1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Please accept my sincere apology for the housekeeping issues and parking misunderstanding encountered during your stay. Overnight parking for guests is $29 per night, the $15 parking was for visitors attending the special event just for the day or evening. The majority of our patrons were staying for the Essence Music Festival, the attendant likely misunderstood you were a guest of the hotel. I'm sorry for the unnecessary confusion. Thank you kindly for recognizing our successes, in service, and taking the time to bring these few failures to our attention. Your comments are extremely helpful in our enduring aspiration to improve the guest experience. Little problems add up to affect overall satisfaction, and you deserve nothing but the best. Please come back and see us again, I have no doubt we can exceed your expectations if given a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed there during the AAOS conference last March. It is a fair walk to the conference centre.
During the day it is all good. However after dark it is a different story. I certainly did not feel secure enough to venture out on my own. We were in a group of 4, even then it did not feel safe or secure walking the streets in that neighbourhood. The French Quarter is 10 minutes walk away. Do not venture the streets at night, having said that the French Quarter itself is very safe or at least you get that impression, given the numbers of tourist and police that you see.

Room Tip: Get a hotel room in the French Quarter. This is no where near the Quarter, despite the advertising.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your concerns about our neighborhood and location. We are situated in the downtown area and caution is advised as it would be in any big city. This section is well on its way to becoming a little Paris in the heart of our city with French roots. Projects are in the works to bring about a lifestyle of convenience and opportunity for our authentic community. Construction of retail and living, added green space and walkability, and increased safety open endless possibilities for residents and visitors! We're only 2 blocks from Canal St, 4 blocks from the Superdome, and 6 blocks from the French Quarter! If the walk is too taxing, you can enjoy a historical journey to rest your feet, the Loyola Ave Streetcar line picks up 1 ½ blocks in either direction from our front door! A mere $1.25 per ride or $3 for the entire day, hop on and hop off as much as you like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family for 4 days and it was great! The staff friendly and a wonderful breakfast. Location is awesome !!!! Street car right down block that will take you anywhere. Beds comfortable and clean rooms, big rooms. Pool was good too! My new favorite place to stay in New Orleans ! A good value and hotel !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler35904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for the kind comments! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team as a testament to their hard work and dedication to guest satisfaction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Solo traveler - very safe hotel and great location to superdome. A short walk to trolley and canal street. Would definitely stay there again if attending a concert it game at the superdome. Price was great! Only thing I wish was the bar stayed opened later to enjoy a drink after the concerts.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perryfox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for the kind comments! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. It's wonderful to see you enjoyed your visit to our great city. Although our lounge does not stay open as late as you hoped, there are a few establishments only 2 blocks away that serve until the last patron decides to leave! We look forward to accommodating you again for the next concert you attend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for essence music festival 2012. This time for essence for essence i stayed 5 nights. This time they must have changed cooks bc breakfast wasn't as great as i remember. The room 1112 had a musty mildew smell like water had gotten in the carpet & wasnt cleaned properly. It took 2 days for them to come and treat the smell. They did offer to move us but we didnt want to repack everything. After they sprayed the carpet or whatever it was fine. Other than those 2 negatives everything was great. They NEVER ran out of hot water. They have the best hot water supply for any hotel i have ever stayed in. That sucka will restore you daily. The beds and pillows are super comfy. The rooms are spacious & come with a microwave & fridge. Also the safe was free. I kept my wallet in there the entire. Wifi is free & they give you the passcode. The staff was friendly. Oswald, the bellman, is so nice and funny we enjoyed him. The night security guy was cool to. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariesgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Please accept my sincere apology for the issues encountered during your stay. It’s incredibly kind of you to acknowledge our staff attempted to resolve your concern. Thank you kindly for recognizing our successes, in service, and taking the time to bring these few failures to our attention. Your comments are extremely helpful in our enduring aspiration to improve the guest experience. Engineering and Housekeeping will check again for the odor mentioned and the F&B team has been notified of your observation as well. We look forward to your return next year for the Essence Music Festival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing