We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible banquet food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Ranked #74 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Alexandria, I
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible banquet food”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

A group of some hundred of us ate at a banquet room at the hotel, and ALL the food was terrible: raw fillets, raw catfish, and raw chicken (really raw, as in indeible raw). I do not know of anyone who could eat the meal. I never saw so much wasted food in my life. Complaints fell on deaf ears; not one waiter offered, after practically being begged, to do anything about problems. They just took the plates away.

The hotel itself was nice and the rest of the staff were cooperative.

My suggestion: Do not ever attend a banquet. If you do, eat before you go--there won't be anything edible other than a small piece of pie.

John Matthew

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runaround68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    459
    199
    56
    50
See reviews for
263
303
94
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Feb. 13th and 14th, my family and I stayed at this hotel. We were there because my father was having brain surgery at Tulane. To tell the truth my wife and I were a bit scared to be in the heart of New Orleans. All we have ever heard is horror stories from the area. The stay at this hotel really put us at ease. When we arrived we were greeted by the smiling faces of Patrice Cooper, Kevin Sattler, and Brad Viet. Mrs. Cooper began to check us in and asked why were we the there. After telling her, you could tell she was empathetic to our situation. She and the other two gentle men went out of their way to ensure our stay was more than just comfortable. They made sure we had maps of the city, suggested kid friendly restaurants, and even gave us coupons to the zoo. They thought it would be a good idea to help keep the kids calm through our ordeal if we took them to the zoo. Boy were they right. My kids had a blast both at the zoo and the fine hotel. We will be back to New Orleans again, this time for a friendly visit, and we will surely be stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome! Thank you all so much!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewrogers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We had some hesitancy about staying here due to negative review. Our experience was great. Room very nice size, clean and well appointed. You can leave your car in their garage while on a cruise, saving us more than the price of the room. Free shuttle to the dock, but you have to reserve a seat. It was a $7 per person taxi ride back. Would certainly recommend this hotel for this reason.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virginiaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2011

The customer service at this hotel was excellent. Juanita, Donna, and Shelly especially. Our group had some initial problems which were quickly sorted and fixed by this excellent staff. Any special requests or accomidations were taken care of at our request. Our group was very pleased with not only the appearance of the hotel, but the customer service. It was a pleasant experience to know that great customer service still exists. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing accomidations for an event or for personal travel. Thanks Holiday Inn!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardtoplease022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Hotel is located right outside the French Quarter. They provided great Free shuttle to the French Quarter and Harrah's Casino and other stops along with way. Rooms were nice - great food and value in the restaurant. Comfortable lounge area to have a cocktail.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerlovin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

The hotel is undergoing some changes that will make a great place to stay even better. Rooms are being renovated and the new decor is beautiful.. The new chef is making some great changes to the menu.
For those complaining about location or proximity to the Quarter, the hotel shuttle will get you to a number of areas quickly (quarter, WWII museum, Riverwalk, Casino). If you choose to walk to the quarter, use Gravier instead of Loyala until you get to Carondlet and you'll have a quieter route. I've walked alone during the day to Canal on Loyala and never had a problem with comments from those waiting for the bus. As noted by another reviewer, I would recommend walking in pairs in the evening.
As in the past, a big strength of the hotel is the fantastic staff. From the front desk to the shuttle to the dining room, everyone is friendly and helpful. Kudos to all and special thanks to Patrice and Donna at the front desk, John for courteous & patience in handling shuttle passengers, and Javanna, Daneka and Alina for excellent restaurant service!

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gwammy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I only stayed here overnight but I felt completely pampered the entire time. The room was spotless, well furnished, and decorated with jazz/New Orleans related pictures. There was free internet access and the staff kindly assisted me with logging on. I opted for room service despite the expense and I was not disappointed in either the food or the serving staff (I highly recommend the California omelet for breakfast, it was delish!). I think the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on, making much needed sleep impossible NOT to get. The hotel was pricier than places I would normally stay, but I felt it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnredhead80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing