We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #107 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was quite a mixed bag experience. Check-in was a bit slow (there is only one employee/desk, which definitely causes a queue if there is even the slightest problem with a reservation) but the young gentleman was extremely friendly and helpful. The medium room booked for me was in back building not attached to the main hotel. I had a splendid view of a wall, and the one small window gave clear view to anyone walking by.

In-room snack/beverage prices were low compared to most hotels, but still inflated for the area ($3 for a Snickers bar, $9 for a shooter of vodka/etc.). The room didn't come with an iron or ironing board, but rather a laundry/dry cleaning bag only. Bathroom was well equipped, although the bottle of shower gel was empty. The soap dish on the vanity was also broken.

As others have noted, it is extremely easy to hear anyone and everyone around you. The last night of my stay there was a wedding party in the main building, and even with the window/door closed I felt as if I were in the midst of the celebration. You'll be able to hear your neighbor's loud shower, or any toilet flush.

All in all, if you're not expecting (or paying) a lot, I think this may be a good option. With so many other choices in New Orleans, I'm not sure that I'd recommend this to others, unless other accommodations are all booked up, or outrageously priced (Carnival Season, Festival Weekends, etc.)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    295
    180
    83
    67
See reviews for
137
352
77
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The uniquely appointed rooms & lobby decor,very clean and yes, modern rooms (large screen TV & Keurig), super-friendly & helpful staff, location close to the Quarter & on the streetcar line, not to mention Scarlett the parrot - all combine to make this a very enjoyable stay in beautiful New Orleans!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsrus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for a work trip over the Halloween weekend. We were curious about this hotel as it was part of our Expedia Deal and didnt know much about it. We were so incredibly pleased with our stay! The hotel was very chic with a upclass funky New Orleans feel. Super unique to any Marriott or Hilton where they are the same everywhere you go. We were so happy that we actually FELT like we were staying in New Orleans. The rooms themselves offer unique layouts and if you are lucky you might get a room that's painted with your favorite color on the accent wall! The rooms had everything we needed and the hotel itself was in a great location. Walking distance to Jazz city-walk(15 min) Bourban (25min) and not far from the Garden District in a cab. We would definitely stay here again as the staff is pleasant and so is their bird Scarlet! Also loved the outdoor seating/lounge areas and next door bar with a super funky and eclectic atmosphere. Planning to come back for Jazz fest but no work and all play this time :)

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Overall the stay was great. Was greeted every time we came and left. The bed was comfortable and the room had everything we needed. The service for breakfast was just okay. And we had some issues with the valet. Other than those couple of problems, I would say it was a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt22288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were in town for a family wedding and traveling with two little girls. Hotel Modern was a great location (near D-Day museum, Children's museum, right on the streetcar line and between uptown and the FQ, which is where the wedding events were), and a better deal than what we could book in the FQ for the same weekend. The hotel itself was clean and nice. The staff was very welcoming and kind espcially to my children. They patiently let the girls hold Scarlett the parrot almost everytime we passed through the lobby. We are frequent visitors to New Orleans and will remember this place for future trips.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and could hear street noise at night. Higher up is likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunnel Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were so excited to try a new hotel in New Orleans, what a big disappointment. My husband saw this hotel on a travel channel and wanted to stay here, it sounded great to me too.
We arrived at the hotel and you just have to stand around at the "check in desk" and wait on someone to appear (no bell to ring). Kind of weird.
We go to our room which was right across from the elevator. I immediately called the front desk and asked to be moved to another room, which they accommodated. We went to our newly assigned room on the 2nd floor in another building connected to the main hotel. This room was just ok. (I booked a medium room btw) It did not look that new or modern but ok. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well until about 600am when the employees of the restaurant located on the first floor started coming to work. We could hear a door slamming approximately every 30 seconds for the next 45 mins. We were up for the day after this annoyance. (Which happened every morning!)
Our room was cleaned the first day but I had to leave a note for housekeeping to leave wash cloths the next day. They forgot to leave more coffee also.
The last day of our 3 night stay I put the "please clean room sign" on our door and when we returned to our room that afternoon, the sign had been turned to "shh do not disturb" and our room was not cleaned. I searched the hallway for the housekeeper and noticied numerous "shh do not disturb signs on the room doors", just more than I have ever observed in other hotels.
I went downstairs (waited for an appearance of an employee) and asked for towels. I was told "the linens just arrived, I will send some up to your room". This was 400pm in the afternoon and the place was just now getting clean towels.
We will not stay here again as the number one criteria I need for a hotel is a place to sleep and not to be repeatedly awakened at the crack of dawn. The employee entrance door that slams needs to be addressed by management.
Management should spend the night in the hotel and listen to this racket to understand how loud it is in your room.
The location of the hotel was fine on the St Charles line. The outside of the hotel and the lobby looked clean and when you could find an employee they were very nice and helpful. This hotel is just not up to any kind of professional standards and seems to be trying to be trendy and just forgot the basics.

Room Tip: I have no idea, seems overpriced to me since we go to New Orleans every year and have stayed in seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very good experience, price was very reasonable, highly recommend this hotel to all travelers coming to New Orleans. The restaurant has a nice view of the street, close to 4 museums, can purchase any art on display in the hotel. About half mile away from Convention Center, bring good tennis shoes, lots of walking!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#136 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Property: The Hotel Modern
Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing