We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Modern
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
386
311
189
91
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
311
189
91
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslee circlewwii museumfrench quartergarden districtrooms are smallstreet car lineconvention centertrolley stopcharles streetcarmardi grascanal stbourbon streetfew blocksnolavaletww2keurig
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed three nights at this property. Was greeted at the front desk with a cocktail of the day. Every one was very helpful, courteous and very pleasant! Rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable! I recommend not to be placed in the front of the hotel, because the lights of the hotel keep the room lit at night. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was quite a mixed bag experience. Check-in was a bit slow (there is only one employee/desk, which definitely causes a queue if there is even the slightest problem with a reservation) but the young gentleman was extremely friendly and helpful. The medium room booked for me was in back building not attached to the main hotel. I had a splendid view of a wall, and the one small window gave clear view to anyone walking by.

In-room snack/beverage prices were low compared to most hotels, but still inflated for the area ($3 for a Snickers bar, $9 for a shooter of vodka/etc.). The room didn't come with an iron or ironing board, but rather a laundry/dry cleaning bag only. Bathroom was well equipped, although the bottle of shower gel was empty. The soap dish on the vanity was also broken.

As others have noted, it is extremely easy to hear anyone and everyone around you. The last night of my stay there was a wedding party in the main building, and even with the window/door closed I felt as if I were in the midst of the celebration. You'll be able to hear your neighbor's loud shower, or any toilet flush.

All in all, if you're not expecting (or paying) a lot, I think this may be a good option. With so many other choices in New Orleans, I'm not sure that I'd recommend this to others, unless other accommodations are all booked up, or outrageously priced (Carnival Season, Festival Weekends, etc.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The uniquely appointed rooms & lobby decor,very clean and yes, modern rooms (large screen TV & Keurig), super-friendly & helpful staff, location close to the Quarter & on the streetcar line, not to mention Scarlett the parrot - all combine to make this a very enjoyable stay in beautiful New Orleans!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsrus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for a work trip over the Halloween weekend. We were curious about this hotel as it was part of our Expedia Deal and didnt know much about it. We were so incredibly pleased with our stay! The hotel was very chic with a upclass funky New Orleans feel. Super unique to any Marriott or Hilton where they are the same everywhere you go. We were so happy that we actually FELT like we were staying in New Orleans. The rooms themselves offer unique layouts and if you are lucky you might get a room that's painted with your favorite color on the accent wall! The rooms had everything we needed and the hotel itself was in a great location. Walking distance to Jazz city-walk(15 min) Bourban (25min) and not far from the Garden District in a cab. We would definitely stay here again as the staff is pleasant and so is their bird Scarlet! Also loved the outdoor seating/lounge areas and next door bar with a super funky and eclectic atmosphere. Planning to come back for Jazz fest but no work and all play this time :)

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a large bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Overall the stay was great. Was greeted every time we came and left. The bed was comfortable and the room had everything we needed. The service for breakfast was just okay. And we had some issues with the valet. Other than those couple of problems, I would say it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt22288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews