We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal!”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #108 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Deal!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were in NOLA for the marathon in February 2014. The location of this hotel was just right for us. Ask for the awesome grocery store walking distance. The staff was friendly, the room comfortable and clean - and yes, a bit small but we did not care. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    295
    182
    84
    68
See reviews for
137
354
77
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I spent 4 nights there toward the end of Mardi Gras, location was really great, the hotel rooms
are pretty standard, I had a window view to St. Charles Avenue with a good view of General Lee statue. I would recommend this place for Mardi Gras anytime.

Room Tip: Request a street view to St. Charles Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn Heights, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Due to business we had in New Orleans, My son and I had an open ended stay at The Hotel Modern. I couldn't imagine having a nicer experience.
This gem of a hotel is in the heart of Lee circle, close to absolutely everything. Besides having all the amenities one could want ( a great restaurant, a small gym, a very cool, informal lobby where they keep chilled citrus water, and guide maps galore), they staff here is made up of some of the finest people one could hope to meet.
Rick the Bellman was a constant smiling face, offering up tours of the hotel, luggage assistance, as well as the best restaurant advice.
Nicole, Dan and Kyle, also never hesitated to assist in anything large or small that might be needed. (even if it was to help guide the beautiful hotel Mascot "Scarlett" the Parrot onto your shoulder!!!)
All and all not only did we have a wonderful hotel experience,but I felt like a member of the "Hotel Modern Family" for the 2 plus weeks of my stay!!
If you are looking for a hotel that has no pretentious airs about it, only dedicated employees, cool atmosphere and Southern charm, the Modern is the ticket!!! I would and look forward to my stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The staff were very nice and friendly. The rooms are just OK. Could use a little more renovation or deep clean in the rooms. Not terrible just need a refresh.
I wish I could give staff 4 stars and the hotel rooms 3.5 stars.
Also, they were friendly before arrival when I booked the room. They get Hospitality.

Great location. Easy enough (mile plus) to walk to Garden District and the Quarter. Lobby had a cool vibe and there is a crazy parrot that whistles. Character, just like New Orleans.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is well placed if you want to visit some of the great museums close by such as America's national WW2 Museum. As the name of the hotel says - the room was modern, clean, comfortable - ticked all the boxes. Great value for money to. The staff are professional and friendly. I had dinner at the hotel bar one night and the staff made me feel at home, and were great company. I would recommend to other travelers to book The Hotel Modern when ever your in New Orleans! Go the Hotel Modern!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is very clean and looks very nice. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need. You are a short walk from the French Quarter and a street car ride from uptown. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desier26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 days before picking up a cruise ship. The hotel was much nicer than I expected, with nice furnishings and very attentive staff. It is in walking distance of Bourbon St and the centre without being in a very noisy area. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razinha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
2,195 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Property: The Hotel Modern
Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing