We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room, friendly staff”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #106 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small Room, friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was reserved 6 months ahead for the Jazz Fest. The room was postage stamp size which made it hard to have more than one person in the room and it had very little room to stow clothes. Located next to the WWII museum. Otherwise, You could take the street car that runs 2x/hour to Canal Street. The rooms are quiet which is a plus. My major complaint is that I paid over $1800 in advance and I was charged extra taxes when I checked out. The advantage of paying in advance is that the costs are locked in when you pay. Since they have your credit card, you are stuck. There were no other frills included with the room. Not sure I would stay there again. My rating would be more like a 3.5 if that was an option.

Room Tip: Check the square footage of the room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfrankkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are certainly happy that you came to stay with us, unfortunetely the City of New Orleans began to charge a new assesment at the beginning of March, this is probably the reason for the extra taxes upon check out. We do apologize for this but are glad that your stay was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    296
    184
    84
    68
See reviews for
138
358
77
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carencro, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice quiet location on the edge of the arts district near the WWII museum, Cochon Butcher, Cochon and other great eateries. Would definitely stay again. If you are not a big walker beware you are a good ways from the French Quarter, but close to the St. Charles street car.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Lee Circle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldogmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Great to hear about your overnight trip, but your next trip needs to be an extended one so we can show you everything we have to offer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a small room on the 6th floor of this hotel. The small room is very adequate for a pleasant stay. It has everything you need and no more, including a small bathroom with a standup shower, sink, and toilet; a queen-size bed; a flat screen tv; a desk; a bench; a dresser with a refrigerator; and a coat closet with a safe. I very much liked the mix of contemporary decor in the art deco-style hotel.
Hotel staff were very pleasant; however, service at the in-hotel restaurant was very poor. The food was good, but overly expensive and took much longer than it should have, especially since we were the only couple being served. We waited around an hour for a bowl of soup, one appetizer, and one chicken entree with no bread or nibbles to sustain us during the wait. And then had to wait for drink refills and the check. The bartender finally took pity on us and took care of us vs. our waiter.
I highly recommend the hotel, though. It's well-priced, stylish, and a convenient location. My only comment is the toilets are odd in that they flush like a jet stream (loudly). It's hard not to wake up your partner if you have to use the loo late at night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azure77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are happy to hear your stay with us was good! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is great!! First off, the customer service at this place was amazing. The front desk agent was SUPER polite to us and he gave us really great advice on places to eat/visit in the area. The room was pretty nice as well. The best part of this hotel? The price and its proximity to the French Quarter. I don't think you can find another hotel in the area that gives you the best bang for your buck as Hotel Modern. It was only a 10 min. walk from the French Quarter (you could also use the trolley which stops right in front of the hotel) and it was much cheaper than any of the hotels in the French Quarter vicinity. I will definitely stay here when I visit New Orleans again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Customer service is very important to us here at the hotel, and I am happy that you saw it shine through. We hope to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My fiancé and I chose Hotel Modern for a "staycation" as we live in New Orleans. The decor alone is carefully curated without seeming pretentious, it's like staying at a friend's home who happens to have really good taste. The bed was beyond comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous. It's a great view, and a stellar location for several reasons:

1. You're situated above a terrific cocktail bar, Bellocq (ask for Rachel)
2. You're in the museum and arts district with several literally a block from the hotel
3. You're a ten minute walk to the French Quarter – you wouldn't want to be any closer for sleeping.
4. You're on the streetcar line, which can take you both to the lake (via Canal St. line) or the other end of the river (once construction completes) for a $3 day pass
5. If you don't want to go far, there's almost always live music right across from you at Circle Bar

In general, you're extremely centralized without paying the French Quarter price or sacrificing comfort.

The hospitality industry has the ability to make an impact, both good and bad, because of its sheer size. There are lots of great hotels in New Orleans, but being such a tourist-driven city, it's important to us to support places that give back. Hotel Modern has a "green guest" initiative and supports other local businesses with social and environmental bottom lines, not just those trying to make a profit. The integrity with which this hotel is run plays into my decision to stay there and recommend it to others who visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Nathan we are always excited to hear that even the locals enjoying staying!! Don't be a stranger!! Remember Tivoli and Lee is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and Bellocq is always serving up those terrific cocktails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed two nights at The Modern Hotel. Our room was very small but adequate for sleeping. Situated next to the WW2 museum it's location is a easy tram ride to Channel street or any of the great restaurants NOLA has to offer. If you can stay anywhere in NOLA other than the weekends. Prices double at weekends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyJim554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I know some of the rooms can be a little on the small side, but who needs all the space if you are out doing everything New Orleans has to offer!! I am glad you had a great stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked online via AAA, happy to get a conveniently located hotel for less than $100/night during the New Orleans Food and Wine Event. From the reviews, we knew the room would be small ahead of time, but it was adequate and we slept well (no noise as you might encounter in the French Quarter). I liked the marble in the bathroom. When we pulled up, the valet gave us a choice between valet parking and self parking (at a great savings); the bellhop (Rick) transported all of our travel bags to our room and entertained us with recommendations. A St. Charles St. trolley stop is located on the other side of Lee Circle. Unfortunately, the trolley only goes 2 blocks west before you have to disembark and catch a bus to go through the Garden District (and miss the view due to shades on the windows). However, the trolley east drops you off at Canal and Bourbon St, where you can catch a trolley to the river and then the riverfront trolley to the far east end of the French Quarter (near Frenchmen, where the locals go to listen to jazz). On the way back, you can ask the St. Charles streetcar conductor to drop you off right by the hotel. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyl741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Kathy, I am glad your first experience with us was great!! We hope to see you back when you are in the city again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#54 of 164 in New Orleans
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#95 of 164 in New Orleans
537 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Property: The Hotel Modern
Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing