We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff makes the hotel!”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #106 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsburg, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The staff makes the hotel!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is awesome but the staff make it a truly memorable stay. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. The restaurant is delicious and bring a knew spin on old dishes such as rabbit. Only down side is no on site laundry and you have to pay per day for parking. As crazy as the parking is you are better off spending the $30 per day for valet instead of the $10 a day public parking down the street.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    296
    184
    84
    68
See reviews for
138
358
77
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bertram, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great experience while staying at Hotel Modern. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I will recommend to everyone that travels to New Orleans. Nay was very friendly and helpful, we had never visited before and needed some help. Thanks for making our stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am very happy with my three day stay at the Hotel Modern. Lee Circle is a great location. It's a short walk to the Convention Centre and the St. Charles street car sure makes getting around town easy. The restaurant food and service are superb. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional. The room was very comfortable for one person. It features a very large bathroom which was was spotless and a very comfortable bed. The flat screen TV offers a good assortment of channels to choose from. The alarm clock with an iPhone dock is very convenient. The internet connection was quite good too. I would have no problem recommending the Hotel Modern for either a business trip or a vacation stay. Oh yes, love the parrot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We just finished four days at the Modern. The hotel is conveniently located in Lee Circle in the warehouse district along the St. Charles trolley line. The hotel is within 10 minutes walk to great restaurants like Pesche and Butcher. Also, the WWII Museum, Museum of Contemporary Art, Museum of Southern Art and a host of fine galleries are all within blocks.

The staff at the hotel (Rick, Adam, Nicole) are very accommodating. The rooms are small so I suggest you reserve the larger room. The king size bed was comfy, the carpet could use updating, overall we would stay here again.


Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfonso H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very happy with the Hotel Modern - small, but very clean, modern room, very helpful staff. Mattress was perfect (always the single most important aspect of a hotel in my opinion) - 10/10. The only thing that might be disturbing if you have a light sleep is that you can't turn the A/C off (or maybe I just didn't figure out how to do it), it'll turn on automatically every 15 minutes for a minute or so.

It's a 10 minute walk from the French Quarter and a 5 minute walk to the Garden District, 10mins to the Super Dome. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidRdmlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hotel Modern was the perfect hotel for us! The staff was very welcoming and super helpful with travel information. The room was clean, comfortable, smelled good, and even had a little fridge for us to put a few beers in, which was a nice plus for us. The restaurant was a little pricy, but more than worth it because the food was AMAZING!! We will for sure be staying here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was the perfect distance from the craziness of Bourbon St., and an easy trolly ride to The French Quarter. The hotel itself has such a great, modern vibe. The rooms were bright and fresh. The lounge was really funky and there was always something interesting to check out. From the odd vampiresque painting of Nicholas Cage to the table that was propped up on a giant black pig. Everything was really clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The man at the check-in (I don't remember his name, SORRY!) was great to us everyday. He explained directions and gave helpful suggestions. The doorman Rick had the perfect southern charm and sent us off in a great manner. The restaurant looked fabulous but the price point was too high, especially in a city so full of dining options. The adjoining bar had such an amazing interior. Gothic without being gaudy. When I return to the amazing city of New Orleans (which I fully plan to do), I will most definitely stay at The Hotel Modern.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesTheJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#54 of 164 in New Orleans
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#95 of 164 in New Orleans
536 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Property: The Hotel Modern
Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing