We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...for Albania”
Review of Olde Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olde Town Inn
Ranked #92 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked the hotel through Kayak. We thought we were getting a large bed in a quaint if not quirky, hotel. Our usual choice. Instead we got crazy room #33. It had 8 beds in four connected rooms plus a bathroom. The lighting was dank at best and my girlfriend came back the first day to find cockroaches in her luggage. The bathroom sink faucet put forth only a trickle of water when full on. I timed how long it took to fill the plastic 6 oz. plastic cup. 24 seconds. No lie. I can only relate our experience. I'm sure other rooms were better. They couldn't be worse.
The breakfast was a complete joke. Weak coffee, nothing but carb pasteries, no fruit, no eggs, one dry cereal, some lame orange juice in a gallon jug. A French couple, (I suspect they were French),surveyed the mess, shook their heads, made a face, and left. We ate elsewhere the next day. Our tv was inoperable because there was no controller. The woman at the front desk shrugged her shoulders and said that people walk off with such things and she didn't have an extra. There was no capability for a wake up call and none of the five floors in our (suite) was the least bit level. All this for nearly $200 a night! You'd be better off sleeping on the street. Or, doing more research on the net. In the three days we were in N.O. we saw many places we could have stayed if only we had done a better job of searching. Don't stay on or near Bourbon Street. But, even a modern high rise hotel near the French Quarter is far better than the Olde Town Inn. It sucketh.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not given room #33
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our first time in New Orleans. We loved it especially this hotel.we arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready so we came back later. We had booked a double room but was upgraded to a suite. It was very different! There were 3 rooms, 2 bedrooms ,one with a queen and one with a king and two singles. There was another room with a fold up bed and a desk too.it was huge.it was a little rough around the edges but that was its appeal.the breakfast area was great being outside in a lovely courtyard.we really liked our authentic New Orleans guest house

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here from October 15th - October 20th and it was excellent. We had room 24 and it was very nice. The décor was perfect. Everyone made you feel like you were right at home. We really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the evenings! The Inn is within walking distance of the street car line and the French Quarter so you can just leave your car parked at the hotel and walk pretty much every where. One of the desk clerks is even a licensed tour guide and can arrange any tours you want to take for you. We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip! The street lights do light up the room quite a bit at night though. That was the only drawback. It was a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast courtyard is beautifully decorated and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 days attracted by the price and location - and it was hard to beat both. On the positive side, it certainly has an interesting style and the walk to the usual tourist suspects in the city is easy. On the negative side, while the office staff are very friendly, all others are surly and rude - and the service is truly dreadful. The rooms are shabby and a little grubby- and don't look inside the fridge while helping yourself to (the cheap and stale) breakfast if you want to continue eating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dupontnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This unusual lodging is walking distance from the edge of the french quarter (closest to the French market). It was GREAT to be able to park my vehicle and be able to walk to everywhere I wanted to see. On street parking is free and for a $10 surcharge they'll put your vehicle in the very private lot behind their building which is locked from outside and easily accessible from their courtyard. It was perfect for parking my pickup-truck camper.

Staff was helpful and has a lot of personality.

PROS
affordable considering distance to French Quarter
free continental breakfast (coffee, cereal, waffle maker, toast, and some pastries)
I felt clean, comfortable, and safe
rooms were huge
neat little private courtyard with covered breakfast dining area
large groups could share a room. They have several suites with 2-4 beds.
it is much larger and more complex than you think when you pull up. Definitely ask to be shown around before dismissing it as an option.

CONS
quirky: a very old building that has been updated but some of the updates seem to not match or need a little fixup.
drive from Interstate to Inn brings you through a not-so-pretty neighborhood. And when you do arrive, do get directions from them on the nicer way to get over to the French Quarter that keeps you further away from the not-so-nice blocks.


TIPS
- Check internet for best price and insist they match it. I got a lovely suite for $53 a night on a weeknight!
- Be aware every room is very different in size & layout. Ask to see the rooms before selecting one if they have several choices for you.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before deciding. Each one is VERY different. I prefer units that opened to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funchy_crunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This is a cute historical inn. It has a very 1800s theme to it. We are a family of four and we got room number 24. It has two rooms, a bathroom, and a balcony. We loved it! One bed was a king and the other was a queen. They had a flat screen with 50+ channels. Though since our room faced the street, the street lights ran all night, but that didn't bother us. The rooms were very homey and comfortable...they bring you back in time! I love it! For breakfast they had two kinds of cereal, bagels, danishes, biscuits, bread, cinnamon rolls, oatmeal, and grits. (Which all looked good) But I couldn't eat anything because I have to eat gluten free. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit and boiled eggs (or something similar). :) The front desk was so friendly and knowledgable on the city of New Orleans! The location was within walking distance of the French Quarters, but the inn it self is in a bit of a sketchy neighborhood, so we ended up taking a cab back at night to be safe. Earlier that day my daughter and her friend went out to the car (in front of the inn) to get something and they were approached by a man asking for money. Which was a bit frightening for them, (I was on the balcony so I yelled at him to go away). I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristinandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

as far as the hotel goes, it was average.
it is close enough to the quarter for a walk.
just watch what they say they are going to charge you and what they actually end up charging you.
we were quoted a great price but when they charged my card they never gave the rate they quoted, in fact they said they would adjust it. yet 2 months later and phone calls to them it never appeared. I would never return here, for what they charged us we could have had a better hotel a lot closer to the quarter.

Room Tip: take some bug spray they have crazy looking ones here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaun a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Guest House
New Orleans Guest House
#58 of 141 in New Orleans
184 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Rathbone Mansions
#28 of 141 in New Orleans
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#54 of 141 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Town Inn

Address: 2311 North Rampart Street, On the Corner of Marigny St. And N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8543
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £49 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Olde Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to a charming pet friendly New Orleans Inn, Olde Town Inn is one of the best. Located in the historic and quiet Marigny neighborhood, our Guests stay in one of Americas four hippest neighborhoods according to Travel and Leisure, which is adjacent to the French Quarter and has a bohemian mix of residents and is the most charming, centrally located and historically significant neighborhood in New Orleans, only a short 2 block walk to the famous music and restaurants of Frenchmen Street. Our luscious tropical Courtyard is an oasis and our rooms are eclectically furnished combining antiques with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Olde Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Town Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing