We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a rip off for a crappy hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olde Town Inn
Ranked #65 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Marksville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a rip off for a crappy hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stay here for 2 night...no bathroom in your room...no heat..just a little oil heater that didnt warm up the room...bathroom down the walk way didnt have heat in the room..the heater didnt work...the door to the bathroom has a gap in it...ITS to far from french quarters for the money i paid...OVERALL..its horrible...They didnt clean our room because they said they didnt have an extra key to get in...PAY THE EXTRA MONEY AND STAY DOWN TOWN...they place should be checked by the law....breakfast was good...and they did keep it as clean as possible in the bathroom...

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear ClintonB: I apologize, we understand that the common bathrooms were certainly not for everyone. Please be assured that through our renovations, those have been eliminated!! All of our rooms now have private facilities!! If you'd consider giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves, please give me a call: (504) 949-5815. Sincerely. Jacques Boutte. GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    89
    45
    22
    34
See reviews for
30
106
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is my 3rd attempt at posting a review on this hotel. Possibly Tripadvisor doesn't like what I wrote :). Anyway, I will start by saying if you are looking for one of the worse hotel rooms in New Orleans, this may be your hotel. This hotel, as "quaint" as some people think it is, is over 120 years old and shows it. I stayed here January 21-25. I must prefix this review by saying that the staff (except for Romeo who was very rude) are very nice and tried to help as best they could with what the hotel offered. The first night I was placed I believe in room 12. A one bedroom with private shower (no bathtub). It was unusually cold in NO this January. Temperatures dropped to the mid 20's at night. This room only had a space heater which gave off little to no heat. I was so cold and uncomfortable that I could not sleep. The bed was broken down and the shower had mold around it. Luckily I had read some reviews about this hotel and brought my own towel. I definitely needed it. the towels were old and very worn. I spoke with the front desk the next day about getting a refund and going to another hotel, but they did not offer a refund. I told them I needed another room, but was told they were full. The manager then offered me a 4 room NO "shotgun style" apartment. I accepted and moved my belongings to it. The apartment or small house was better than the room I was in. The house was set up as; front room was the master bedroom, second room had 3 twins and a couch in it, third room had three twins and a dresser, the fourth room was the kitchen and then off that was a full, but small bathroom. Mold was all over the tub and walls. The front room had a wall mounted heater which worked, but did not heat well. I brought a second space heater from one of the other rooms in to try to heat the front room. I had to sleep with two sweaters, flannel pajama bottoms and 2 pairs of socks just to stay comfortable at night. Not warm, but ok. These 4 days were HELL in this hotel. I again, do not fault the managers, just the owners. I understand the owners are not allowed to make modern improvements to the hotel since it is considered to be in The French Quarter. I will say that the hotel is close enough to The French Quarter to walk; a little over a mile and takes about 20 minutes. Frenchmen street is a quick 5 minute walk. Cabs are frequent there and not too expensive to catch back to the hotel. The hotel may be tolerable when the temperatures are nice and you are only expecting a "basic" room. I would not pay more than $50 a night for the room. I am sure they gouge clients at event times. If you are going to stay here, negotiate with the manger to get the best deal. As for me, I will NEVER return. I have stayed in NO many times and there are a lot of hotel more suitable.

Room Tip: Do not get room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuggleLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear PuggleLovers: I apologize for such an awful stay. Please be assured that through our renovations, we have addressed all of your concerns. If you find it appropriate to give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves, please give me a call: (504) 949-5815. Sincerely. Jacques Boutte. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked a room here back in December for Mardi Gras weekend. When we showed up to check in they informed us that our credit card had been declined. Instead of calling to inform us, they sold our room to someone else leaving us with nowhere to stay as all of the rooms in the city were booked. Instead of giving us priority for booing the room 3 months ago over the person who just booked the room today, they told us that there was nothing that they could do about it. Additionally, they were extremely rude and refused to take responsibility for the situation saying that it doesn't reflect poorly on their business and blamed the computer booking system.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blayton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear blayton14: I apologize for such awful inconvenience. Please note, it is common practice here in New Orleans that we guarantee our reservations for events such as Mardi Gras by credit card. Should your credit card decline, it is also common practice to use discretion and cancel said reservation without notice. I'd be glad to redeem ourselves, please give me a call: (504) 949-5815. Best Regards. Jacques Boutte. GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Liked this place because it was in the French Quarter, close enough to walk everywhere, but not too close where you are stuck with all the noise. The price was great, I don't think we paid more than $50. The place was what it was, isn't not a modern hotel, it's an 'old towne in'. Its not the most up-to-date, but it was nice enough. It had a cool little courtyard that served breakfast and the staff was nice. I'd stay here again if I ever went back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfaie616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear mfaie616: Thanks for such a wonderful review! We hope to you again soon!! Sincerely. Jacques Boutte. GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Ok, this is not for those of you that expect perfection...it is an old building, or actually series of building, and you have to deal with that, however I love old buildings and quaint surroundings. In addition, the staff is very friendly and helpful and knowing that I am trying to move to the city, gave me lots of pointers and assistance.

Heating is a bit of a challenge but then it IS an old building in New Orleans. Difficulties with remotes that apparently walk off were handled in a friendly manner.

Room Tip: Some rooms have phones, others do not, might wanna check about that while making reservations if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear JamesG: Thank You! I appreciate your taking the time to compose such a great review!! Hope to see you again soon. Best Regards. Jacques Boutte. GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Room was terribly cold and no extra blankets were supplied even though promised several times, shower did not Work, entire bathroom floor was wet constantly from a leaking toilet. Linen in the bathroom had holes all through it and one of the beds had dirty sheets.

We approached management re the shower and tripping power and after 1 1/2 hrs of waiting had no response! Next morning we were told we should expect that in an old building....... I at least expect clean linen, power and a functioning shower - Shame it ruined our experience in the entire city.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smithtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Smithtons: I apology for the fact that no one resolved the issues during your stay. Please be assured, all of your concerns have been addressed. Sincerely. Jacques Boutte. GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

When you pay over $100 per night the basics like heat and towels should be a given, but not here (just look at the pictures!) Checked in here because our usual French Quarter hotel was full because of the Sugar Bowl game and holiday tourists. This old house, converted into a bed & breakfast, is located in the "Marigny Triangle" neighborhood several blocks east of the French Quarter.
SAFETY:
As we walked in we spotted a hypodermic syringe on the west side of Marigny Street one door south of the hotel along with a lot of spray painted graffiti. We asked the friendly desk clerk about the safety of the neighborhood and were assured they had never had a break-in and he said that "this is a safe Gay neighborhood where we always look out the window to see who is coming home with whom." We walked (we had no car) during the day in the neighborhood but at night it gets a little sketchy with intoxicated men. The first night we were woken at 2:20 AM with what sounded like gun shots followed by police sirens but we were told the next day it was just firecrackers.
PROBLEMS:
December in New Orleans can get cold. The highs during our stay were low 60's and the nights dipped into the high 40's. Our "suite" was an old shotgun house converted to a European-style youth hostel room with ten beds in what used to be the living room, dining room and kitchen (there are no kitchen appliances). Unlike a normal hotel room, there was no central heat for the four rooms. A small electric heater was placed in front of the fire place (see photo) in the front room and another electric heater (like you see in offices when an employee needs extra heat by their desk) was placed in the converted former dining room now second bedroom, with no heat in the other bedroom or bathroom. At night we were cold and I went to move the front room heater to the bedroom but the cord had a bold tag saying "DO NOT MOVE HEATER". I suspect others had done this to fight the cold rooms but blew a fuse from over loading the outlets in one room. In the mornings the bathroom was really cold.
After our shower we were shocked at the towels! They were so old as to have all the fabric worn through with large holes (see picture). There was a bath mat rug next to the tub that was the same condition (see picture). Hot water pressure was very low in the shower and sink (see picture).
Our bed was old and creaky with a worn mattress that showed the years of use to the point that body impressions were evident. At least the sheets looked clean and didn't have holes. The couch is old and worn with the fabric frayed and torn in several places.
SERVICE
The front desk clerk was friendly and the lobby is more attractive than the rooms. We did not eat the free breakfast in the courtyard so I don't know what that was like. The maid did make up the bed the next day (we stayed for two nights).
BOTTOM LINE
If your group is ten college kids looking to do New Orleans for Spring Break then this is the place for you. If your expecting a normal bed & breakfast style hotel, stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels, bath mat, heater. . . . or stay at a normal hotel. Watch were you walk -- the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Port-A-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Port-A-Fan: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and share your thoughts with others. Please be assured that we have addressed the issues that you brought forth. We are in the midst of an extensive renovation. If you would allow the opportunity to redeem ourselves, please give me a call: (504) 949-5815. Best Regards. Jacques Boutte. GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Guest House
New Orleans Guest House
#60 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Old Historic Creole Inn
Old Historic Creole Inn
#28 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
New Orleans Inn
#111 of 138 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Treme
Rathbone Mansions
Rathbone Mansions
#48 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Town Inn

Property: Olde Town Inn
Address: 2311 North Rampart Street, On the Corner of Marigny St. And N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8543
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Olde Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to a charming pet friendly New Orleans Inn, Olde Town Inn is one of the best. Located in the historic and quiet Marigny neighborhood, our Guests stay in one of Americas four hippest neighborhoods according to Travel and Leisure, which is adjacent to the French Quarter and has a bohemian mix of residents and is the most charming, centrally located and historically significant neighborhood in New Orleans, only a short 2 block walk to the famous music and restaurants of Frenchmen Street. Our luscious tropical Courtyard is an oasis and our rooms are eclectically furnished combining antiques with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Olde Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Town Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing