We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #62 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Family trip to NOLA”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Used Marriott reward points for this stay so I have little to complain about but I'll review it as if I paid full price. Valet and check in were great. Loved our bellman, AJ. Front desk was so helpful and really helped us with restaurants. The lobby and bar are nice and we enjoyed the Starbucks in the hotel.

Our room was fine and clean. Sheets were crisp, down comforters, and feather pillows. We were block off Canal and just far enough away from the FQ so our nights were quiet. Kids wanted to swim in the pool but it was postage stamp, hot, and croweded with adults. It looked pretty unappealing.

Our first night we arrived in the late afternoon and after some exploring tried to find a kid friendly spot for dinner. The hotel recomended Deanie's and there was a 2hr wait at 9pm. We were tired and cranky so decided to eat at MiLa, the hotel restaurant. While very good it was expensive and not a great place for the kids. They were able to make them some pasta and they were pleasantly surprised by the "Root Beer Float"....not what they expected. I loved my dinner but it was pricey.

The next night we ate at Deanie's and loved it. We went at 6pm....45min wait.....they give you a beeper that goes 1/2 a mile away. Got a drink at Storyville and the kids bowled. Everyone happy!

All in all we like the Reanissance....not sure I'd pay top dollar. The Roosevelt across the street looked amazing....check it out!

Feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    527
    173
    66
    45
See reviews for
180
418
52
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel and were overall disappointed. The hotel is nothing special. I've never seen a smaller "pool". The worst part was waking up in the morning with dozens of bug bites. We told the manager and she was very friendly and called in a company to check out the bedding. The company said they found nothing, but I found that hard to believe. I also feel they didn't take the situation serious enough. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michaela789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I added a room here at the Renaissance Pere Marquette, because my first hotel was booked up for the last night of my stay. Was I glad I did! This was my favorite of the three hotels I tried in New Orleans. The lobby was very pleasant and spatious. The staff were friendly and accommodating. My room was fantastic with all the amenities I needed as a business traveler. I enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant, also.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The location is perfect, a block west of Canal, a block north of St. Charles. At first the room seemed plain but I really appreciated the super fast elevators, the computer stations just off the lobby, the little refrigerator and the king sized bathrooms. The Pere Marquette is not a high profile hotel but it combined great value and a fine location along with the little extras that make travel fun. It was a great refuge from Jazzfest and the blessed blare of New Orleans nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Renaissance was a nice, well kept, modern hotel. Had an issue with the air-conditioning in the room which was handled immediately and when a resolution could not be made I was given another room (without asking). Customer service was excellent! Great Location! Far enough from the action to have peace while in the hotel and close enough to walk to all the action.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed for Mardi Gras and despite all the craziness from the festivities the service was impeccable. Our room was very clean, room service was great and the staff was courteous and kind at every turn. We will stay there again on our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Hotel is in a great location. Within walking distance of the french quarter, but far enough so that the noise of Bourbon Street didnt keep me awake. Room was decent, nothing special. Lobby area is cool, no gift shop to pick up travel items like razor, tootbrush, etc. Staff was friendly.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mphopkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
2,316 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,349 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-2307
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing