We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #61 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
dallas,tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We actually stayed at this property in Dec 2009. In planning another trip to New Orleans I remembered this place and how great it was and thought I would right a long overdue review. The hotel is very modern and stylish, as are the rooms. In addition, the rooms were quite spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the bath products were nice (Aveda I believe) The lobby bar was very cool, not very busy but the bartenders were great and very knowledgeable. We did not eat at the property or order room service so I'm unable to comment. The location was nice, we went for a football game at the Superdome so we were able to walk there and also walk to the french quarter which was up the street. We would definitely stay again for the price this place was very nice with a great location!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    520
    169
    63
    44
See reviews for
177
409
50
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here just after new years eve 2010. This is the hotel we received after bidding for a hotel just oustide the French Quarter. We tried several fair bids for a hotel inside the French Quarter but could not get anything. I am very glad things turned out this way. I got an amazing price for a luxurious hotel. The location is great. Walking distance to the French Quarter and with also next to cafes. There is also a starbucks in the lobby and a restaurant adjoining. The lobby is incredibly ornate and decorative. Great attention to detail had us taking photos of the lobby. It was one of a kind. The staff at the front desk provided excellent service. No problems checking in or checking out. There is a pool, although it was too cold outside to use during our stay. The room is small but decorated such that it is more cozy and welcoming. Overall I was very impressed and we enjoyed our stay immensely with much thanks to our stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevyleo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great hotel in a great location. Short walk to Bourbon Street, but quiet and very classy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I came here for my bachelorette party. We had an absolute blast. This hotel added to the fun. It is GORGEOUS on the inside. The lobby was fabulous. Our room had modern decor and was fun to stay in! It did take us a few minutes to get our rooms because of some sort of computer problem, but after that, we were fine. Also, I got a little irritated that one of the hotel workers stood in the hallway and waiting for us to leave so she could clean the room. She made it obvious that we were annoying her by taking so long. Other than that, this is a great hotel. It's about a 5 minute walk to Bourbon St.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorrieCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed at the Pere Marquette Hotel middle of July. This hotel is a real gem: out of the French Quarter but within walking distance, clean comfortable room, quiet and top quality service. Location and entrance is back a street from Canal and easy to access. The reception area couldn't be more welcoming, it was right when you walked in and the front desk staff remembered our names throughout our stay. There is a small lounge area adjacent to the elevators that was well stocked but not open during the day, also a small area for coffee and breakfast items. The barrista is especially nice!
We stayed on a $99/night special and the room we were given was very comfortable and larger than most in this area. Room view was of empty buildings, but the Concierge lounge looked over the French Quarter and river and was staffed with the most accomodating person who made everyone feel welcome. Weather for this time of year is unsettled and there was rain & sun every day which only added to the 'moodiness' and allure as long as you had an umbrella. The hotel location was ideal for walks within the French Quarter, Warehouse and Central business districts as there are many excellent galleries and restaurants. Walking around the area you could tell that a massive amount of renovation had taken place as most buildings were recently upgraded, painted, redone or all even the unsavory ones. We had one of the best times we could remember this trip.
I'd avoid the airport shuttle: wait was too long. Make friends with people on the plane or in the airport and share a cab, you don't want to waste precious time exploring this great place.
New Orleans is back and open! Locals are wonderful and have a story to tell that is worth listening to.

Room Tip: Check hotel chains for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solana75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakdale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Fabulous service and amenities. Great location just outside of French quarter in business district near many attractions. Staff was constantly available. I recommend adding the "breakfast package" which includes foods from a 3 star restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrybabyOakdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I have lived in New Orleans and also stayed at many hotels here. The Pere Marquette is fantastic if you want to be close to everything (i.e. French quarter) but stay in a quiet low key hotel. It was so quiet you could hear a pin drop but 2 blocks from entry to the busy French Quarter.

The rooms are extremely clean. Fresh crisp soft bed linens, ergonomic desk chair, high ceilings, big windows almost from floor to ceiling which let in a lot of light, Aveda bath products, large shower head, small fridge, large flat screen TV, and comfortable mattress (not too hard and not too mushy). Very funky lobby/bar with lots of little nooks to sit in. The decor in the rooms is somewhat minimalist but I like it better than the busy ostentatiousness that you see in some New Orleans hotels. We were previously in an older historical hotel that had that the typical musty dank odor you sometimes find in N.O. buildings. But we switched over to here after one night and love the boutique feeling. We were so happy to arrive for the next 4 nights!

Room service is pricey but like many Marriotts the quality of food was excellent (we just had continental breakfast).

The only complaint is that when we pulled up to the front door there was no bellman and no one at the front desk. We had to wander around to find assistance to check in which was annoying, especially when the bar tender didn't seem to want to help us track someone down.

The rate was $99. A steal, but then again I guess it is summer. I come for jazz fest every year and have decided this would be the ideal place to stay.

Did I say how spotlessly clean this hotel is and how comfy the beds are?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
611 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-2307
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing