We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

From the outside, Renaissance Pere Marquette Hotel appeared very non-descript and unappealing. However, once you entered through their doors you were transported into a fashionably chic, brilliantly designed and charmingly colorful haven. Not only was I dazzled by the interior design, but was equally pleased with the phenomenal customer service provided by the bell hop, housekeeping and front desk staff, especially supervisor Ms Yvette. My room was nicely equipped with all the latest amenities such as a computer jack, coffee maker, digital safe with laptop capacity, 40" flat screen TV, mini refrigerator, clock radio/CD player, telephone, iron and ironing board. The bathroom was a picture of elegance, flair and style with its contemporary fixtures and hallmark high quality towels. I was also impressed with the exercise room and pool which were both quite modern and cozy, but adequate. Best of all, was the hotel's location being right around the corner from Carondelet Street which becomes Bourbon Street after crossing Canal. On Carondelet Street there are several restaurants such as the famed Hobnobber's, Daisy Dukes and Streetcar Cafe to name a few; which is precisely why the Renaissance Pere Marquette is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JhayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

The location was perfect very close to Bourbon Street without the craziness. The room was huge and the bathroom spacious and very clean. The lobby looked like it had recently been updated and there were lots of comfy chairs to check your emails.
The most impressive feature however was the staff – they were always very friendly, courteous and helpful even under some trying conditions – ie during our stay there was a large group of very noisy, very messy and at times very rude young people.
The Gym was good and had plenty of equipment. The only complaint I have would be that the coffee shop closed too early. If it closed at 4pm instead of 1pm it would have suited me perfectly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for one away from the elevators. The rooms are sound proof but yo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cupcakena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a nice hotel with a great location but I would not say it was a 4 star hotel. It just lacks the small things that make a 4 star. There was no offer to help us with our bags when we checked in. The valet parking took forever. Housekeeping put the bare minumum of linens in the bathroom but would bring extra if asked.
With all the other great 4 star hotels in New Orleans, they just need to step it up a little.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lees33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were also in town with the 35,000 Lutheran kids so that made everything a little hard to get to but the kids were super polite, just LOTS of them! The hotel was in a great location as are most of the other Marriott properties in the area. We booked last minute (4 hrs. Before arriving) and we were given a handicapped room that was very spacious. I was recognized as Elite at the front desk. Valet parking was fast and painless but no one asked at the front desk if we parked a car so when it delayed us a bit when trying to retrieve our car because we hadn't been charged for it. The bed was comfy but the pillows were horrible. I requested extra pillows on my booking and they were not in the room but hey, it was only booked a few hours earlier! Also, we had trouble getting washcloths left in the room both days although they brought them when requested. The staff was adequate, we didn't eat in the restaurant but did get a coffee at Starbucks. You can't beat the location of the hotel and it's very quiet. Lots of foot traffic on the streets so we always felt safe. I would have given it 3 stars but the location was just too good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopeInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

we were here the same weekend the Lutherans sent 35000 of their youth to town for a convention. It was also gay pride weekend on Bourbon. There were 5 of us in a king room. The hotel provided a single air mattress and extra sheets. Room and bathroom were spacious and nice but parking was a bit of a hassle due to snarkiness and general laziness. Otherwise, good location and fairly helpful staff. Ice machine on the 4th floor worked but the ones on 3rd and 7th did not.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicbecca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel is just a few blocks away from Bourbon Street but on the other side of Canal so you're close to the partying but can go back to peace and quiet. Everything is within a short walk such as Jackson Square, the river, casino, and great restaurants and bars. The rooms are nice but a little small. Forget the pool. They have one but it is more like a small kiddie dipping pool. Gym is also small with no weight equipment other than some dumbells. Parking is valet only and $29 per day. You probably don't need a car if you're just visiting downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitidemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here for a 3 day weekend. Right in the middle of everything, great food & shops near by. Very friendly staff & nice rooms. Spacious, clean, nice furniture & setting. Ask for a high room with a view other than that you just see street! I would stay here again, nice room for a decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with city view!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissHRSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 165 in New Orleans
2,376 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-2307
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £100 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing