We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #66 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a Great Value!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are local New Orleans and we check priceline to stay in our own city on occasion. We got a great rate on the room and we also decided to get an upgrade on arrival . The front staff was knowledgeable and courteous. Our room was a good size , clean and held a nice temperature , Soft sheets, comfortable bed and large bathroom. The hotel as a whole was upscale and well taken care of .Local landmarks are in easy walking distance. Our only hiccup was trying to eat at Mila's. On a Saturday night at 9pm we tried to get a table and were told they were closed. In NOLA that is a little strange. There are no posted hours nor can anyone give a definitive answer on closing time. We are not a couple that sits down right when a place is closing up but they should be open till at least 10 on a Saturday. We did sit at the hotel bar for awhile and the bartender was very nice. All in All a good stay and would go there again no question. (I sure would've liked to try Mila's)

Room Tip: Always ask for available upgrades , you never know what they will offer you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Jason,

Thanks for joining us at the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel and for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. We love hosting locals and it always means a lot when they truly enjoy our convenient location, Renaissance brand property, and friendly service. We're very sorry that you did not get the opportunity to try MiLa and have had difficulty determining the hours. We will certainly use your feedback to see where we can better communicate this to our guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    531
    178
    69
    48
See reviews for
187
421
54
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Pere Market for our friends Bachelor/Bachelorette parties in June.
The hotel was conveniently located right by bourbon street (yet far enough from the noise), has a very modern feel to it and the staff was extremely nice and helpful.
The only comment I have is that our room did not have a hairdryer. Beside that - it's a lovely hotel to stay at :)!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Dana,

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us during your Bachelor/Bachelorette party stay in June. We completely agree about our location- our guests can easily walk to Bourbon Street, but they have the experience of staying in the trendy, intriguing Warehouse District during their stay. We're sorry to hear that your room was not equipped with a hairdryer and we hope we were able to fully resolve that issue with you during your stay; if it was not, it would be our pleasure to make that up to you should we have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times over the years and they always get better. This was no different. The service continues to get better each time. I simply requested a room with a view as it was my anniversary. In return I got a top floor corner room with a view of the river and French quarter. They had laid rose petals all over the floor and bed and left us champagne and chocolates. It was a very pleasant surprise. The room itself was very nice and large. I've always been able to find a cheaper rate here as well compared to other hotels in the area and it is just as nice. This will be my go to hotel from now on.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sublimebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sublimebrad,

Thank you for your kind words about the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel. We really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and it was our pleasure to provide an exceptional experience to you during your anniversary. We'd be honored to continue to be your hotel of choice during your New Orleans visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was impressed with being in such an old building. Everything was updated and my room was away from the construction site. I was there for business so it was very helpful having everything located within a short distance. My room was extremely clean, beds were comfortable and bathroom clean and I had hot water regardless of the time of day I took a shower. The staff I encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful, even those guys working in the parking garage. My Supertrain went well and they served good food in the hotel. It was nice to be within walking distance of the French Quarter, although I visited the West Bank everyday.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 809 which is away from construction site across the street. So, I'm really not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Gelaine,

We're pleased that you enjoyed our contemporary hotel in our historic building. The Pere Marquette was actually one of the first skyscrapers in New Orleans. It is wonderful that you encountered superb service throughout our departments, from housekeeping to valet. Thank you for your feedback and it would be our pleasure to host you on your next visit from Jackson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel was clean and near the French Quarter. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the building is old. The rooms and bathrooms are updated but the systems underneath just can't handle it. If you tried to take a shower after an evening on Bourbon Street the water never warmed up. In the morning it was too hot to use the shower. The rooms have large windows but if the sun is shining in the air conditioning cannot keep up, even with the curtains shut.

I would avoid this hotel until the construction across the street is complete. The demolition noise is too loud even inside the rooms to have a conversation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor A, Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Mike G, Thank you for sharing your review of your visit with us. We are glad to hear your positive comments about our friendly and helpful staff and clean guestrooms. We deeply regret you did experience some periods of loud noise from the construction taking place near the hotel. We are certainly very anxious for the work to come to and end so everyone can enjoy the revitalized neighborhood once the work is complete. While the Pere Marquette office tower building is indeed one of the most iconic historic structures in downtown New Orleans its systems were completely updated when the building was converted and opened as a hotel in 2000. We understand the heat and humidity of sumertime in New Orleans make effective air conditioning an absolute necessity and our air conditioning systems are designed to handle even the excessive heat in New Orleans. Please accept our apologies for experiencing problems in maintaining a comfortable temperature in your room during your visit. We hope to see you again for your next trip to New Orleans when the neighborhood is more peaceful and we'll be sure to keep things cool for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I accompanied my husband on a business trip to New Orleans for a few days. We've stayed at the JW Marriott down the street & at other non Marriott hotels before and we wish he had done so, again. His high floor request was not respected, although we were given extra points to make us feel better. The air in the room was set to 60, but probably never got below 70... And it was loud. The fitness center (haha!) and pool (bathtub?) are both tiny. We went to have a drink at the bar the first night & all the tables were dirty. We ordered a cheese plate, which took over 30 minutes. The bartender explained they were recovering from a rush, yet the bar had never been busy. The evening doorman was very nice, as was Renatta, at the front desk...She went out of her way! However, we were still disappointed. Slow breakfast service, wrong order, etc. Management needs to really take a look at this place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CDNBarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor A, Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear CDNMaryland, thank you for your candid feedback. We very much regret learning you encountered an uncharacteristic number of problems resulting in a disappointing and unsatisfactory experience. Everything we do is aimed at providing friendly and expeditious service in a comfortable, well maintained facility. We always hope to have the opportunity to address any customer concerns during their visit so we may have an opportunity to rectify them before departure. We hope to regain your trust and the have opportunity to provide the experience you have come to expect from being a loyal Marriott customer. We encourage you to contact us so that we may address your concerns directly.

Sincerely,
Trevor Abernathy
Director of Room Operations
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I really hate to give this place a poor review. The location is nice, in the middle of the CBD and within walking distance of everything, the service was excellent with the front desk clerk offering to loan me his own personal ipod charger, but with the building across the road being gutted and the sliding and crashing of construction waste starting at 7am every morning, it is impossible to sleep here. My bed was comfortable, my floor was quiet and the internet was fine.....but I just don't see the place as a useable hotel with the noise across the road. Got this place on a Priceline bid of $80.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the construction side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlargg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 164 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-2307
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing