We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #61 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Ho-hum hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2010

If Renaissance is supposed to be the high end of Marriott chains, the Pere Marquette should probably be downgraded. I was given a corner room on the 19th floor (I was told that was a special Platinum Elite member bonus room), and while there were more windows to look out of which was nice, the room was otherwise very standard and ho-hum. The TV was a small 17 or 19 inch retro box from two decades ago. The coffee maker's water reservoir looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The bed sagged in the middle. The a/c system was loud. Every half hour or so, I would hear a loud "thunk" from somewhere within the plumbing system - I can only assume it's old piping in the building.

On the plus side, the receptionist area and valet parking staff are very helpful and expedient. The lobby, bar, and waiting areas on the first floor are decked out in chic and modern decor, which if you're into that kind of thing, is probably very cool.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyLePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    520
    169
    63
    44
See reviews for
177
409
50
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Been here 3 days, so I suppose something could still go wrong, in which case, I'd write another review. So far, it's all good. Checked in around 10 pm on a Mon. night w/ no problems. Everyone super friendly & helpful. Besides service, the price & location were great. Won a room for a $55 a night bid on priceline, and when they add on their fee, it came to about $64.75 a night. Can't beat that! The hotel is 1 1/2 blocks from Canal St. & the street you walk on (Carondelet) turns into Bourbon on the other side of Canal, sweet! Looks a little sketchy but those 1 1/2 blocks seemed perfectly safe to me & we had no problems. Upon check in, they asked us if we wanted a room w/ 2 standard beds or a king bed. We took the king. I can't speak for all the rooms, just ours, obviously. The room (#1013) was a corner room that overlooked another hotel's pool/patio area on one side & some big stone cupola/ minaret type of structure on the other, w/ plenty of light. Not the biggest room in the world, but certainly not the smallest. Anyone who would think it was the smallest has not been to the Hudson Hotel in NYC & had a standard room there. We felt very comfortable in this one for 5 nights. There's a weight room w/ an outdoor pool. We used neither. Wifi connection costs money, so we used our own wireless notebook. The lounge looked modern & nice, not usually crowded. Don't know how much the drinks were. It's an old hotel. I wouldn't tout it as 4 stars, more like 3, possibly 3 1/2, but I was extremely pleased for the money. Also, our room was quiet. Relatively big bathroom, but shower did not have great pressure. Didn't use parking, but like so many places in a city, it was expensive, maybe $29 a night. There are a couple of $15 overnight lots about 3-5 blocks away. In room safe was free. There was a small fridge. The only thing about this hotel that bothered my husband (an ex pest control guy) was that the mattress & box spring have no plastic encasings on them, which is what many hotels have now to help control bedbugs. There were no bedbugs in our room. It's just that we prefer to see the encasings. All in all, I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Do NOT stay here if you are familiar with Renaissance hotels. You will be dismayed to the point of disgust. Dirty, smells like a bad locker in the hallways. Rude staff that are completely belligerent and inattentive to its customers. NO 24 HOUR room service!! ONE check-in desk with ONE person. Hotel Night Manager that has no public relations skill whatsoever...in fact, he couldn't even offer an apology when I mentioned that this hotel does not even meet a basic Marriott level of quality or service. This place deserves to lose its right to use the franchise Renaissance name. I would give this place a 0 rating since the expectations are of a quality this places does not even come close to. The room is a cubicle with a closet for a 'bathroom' and the mattress squeaks like a Motel 8. Absolutely the worst experience ever. STAY AWAY. DO NOT STAY HERE. I chose the Renaissance for a level of service and you will be disappointed as I was. A wading tub is NOT a pool. AVOID THIS PLACE. YOU WILL THANK ME.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selectivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I was lucky to find any room, booking less than a week before Mardi Gras, to arrive the Saturday before Mardi Gras, but the Père Marquette (in addition to J.W. Marriott) were available through AAA.com. Described as a boutique hotel, it had a hip, artistic lobby with bar and Starbucks, but it wasn't overly "boutique" in that snobby way I've seen in "boutique" hotels in other cities.

We arrived by car just before the start of a Saturday night Mardi Gras parade, and streets were blocked, and the parking garage entrance was blocked-- we had to run out to the parking valet to get him to move the pylons.

Mardi Gras stresses most every hotel and restaurant especially downtown, and some services were irregular to unavailable. For example, the parking valet came through for us by going to get the bellman's cart and acting as a bellman since no bellman was available.

The room was nice, not tiny, as I expected from the word "boutique." The bathroom was huge compared to the room, with tasteful marble-tile floors, huge mirror, and shower (no bath) with a handheld shower head. Water was hot, but shower pressure minimal. Good, comfortable King bed, with a warm comforter. Small refrigerator in the room which wasn't working.

The hotel is located in a good spot, 1 block off Canal Street, around the corner from the Roosevelt Hotel (and its famous Sazerac Bar and Domenica restaurant), and a good family-owned sushi bar, Yokohama, across the street. That said, downtown New Orleans, like other downtowns, is lively, and New Orleans likes its police sirens-- especially during Mardi Gras season.

Note on Mardi Gras: If you have a car, you're not going anywhere during the parade or just before or after. Even getting across Canal Street into the French Quarter by foot may be impossible since parades come down St. Charles and turn onto Canal, and you can't cross the police barricades. On Mardi Gras morning we had to take a cab from the hotel, onto the interstate and around to the back end of the French Quarter to meet friends. The cabs are reasonably priced, though, so it's often worth taking a cab, especially if you don't know your way or if it's late.

A highly rated restaurant, Mila, is in the Père Marquette, but we were told it was closed over the weekend (not clear if this was every weekend, but very strange for Mardi Gras weekend). 1/2 block away at the corner is an all-night convenience store, Brother's, where you can buy fried chicken and fries all night. Brothers came in real handy when I needed liquids one day when I got sick (nothing to do with the hotel).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Godenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

i loved it... it was great! the hotel was very pretty inside and the rooms were nice also

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rachy_8377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
338 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The hotel lobby was surprisingly small and crowded when I arrived but check-in service was fast and everything was efficient. The room itself was medium-size but the bathroom was large by hotel standards. The bed was fairly comfortable and extra pillows were nice. Instead of a closet, there was a wardrobe which contained a few hangers and ironing board and that limited the space for hanging up actual clothes.

The exercise room had a handful of cardio machines and weights, and an adjoining yoga room had videos, mats, etc. I found the room to be clean (and empty) on each or 3 visits.

We ate at the MILA restaurant off the lobby once - expensive but delicious food. Some odd presentations and I think they were trying to out-fancy themselves but at least everything tasted great. Also sat in the lobby bar where taciturn bartenders mixed a variety of expensive drinks - no real atmosphere there but can get free wireless Internet in the lobby.

The hotel is a short walk from the French Quarter and well worth checking into if you plan to walk to the main tourist area. There are a couple of drugstores nearby if you need any supplies. Lots of restaurants and bars, of course, on the same block and on surrounding streets.

I enjoy staying at historic hotels that have been updated with modern conveniences, and this Renaissance definitely fit the bill.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I travel to New Orleans regularly for work, and always try to stay at the Renaissance Pere Marquette. It offers a great location (on Common Street - just one block off Canal), and within 2 blocks of the beginning of Bourbon Street. You get the best of both worlds - good close-by location, without being the middle of the melee.

The hotel is a great mix of old-school NOLA charm and modern conveniences. The rooms are well amenitized with everything you could want, large windows (though original historic, uninsulated) let in lots of light and upper floors offer great views of the city and surrounding neighborhood.

There is a nice lobby bar and Starbucks consession that's open in the morning. There's a restaurant off the lobby which offers generally reasonable and unique choices.

The staff/service is superb. Truly. I have stayed here at least two dozen times in the past 1 1/2 years, and have always enjoyed chatting with the staff, and on the rare occasion that there's an issue of some kind, it is always dealt with quickly, professionally and politely.

The one and only complaint I have about the Pere Marquette is its room service menu selection. Don't get the wrong, the food is always good and the service great. However, as I'm often traveling for work for multiple nights (as I am on this trip - 7 nights), I get back from the day's meetings and need to work - and find it convenient to order room service. There are 3 "sandwich" choices, inclouding a burger, Texas toast grilled cheese (which is great) and a chicken salad croissant. There are two "rotisserie" chioces: duck and chicken. There are two "grill" choices: redfish and beel filet. And that, my friends, is the end of it. There are a few dessert choices and some apps - but 4 entree choices and 3 sandwiches. Really? Again, the very limited choices are always consistent and tasty (if a bit pricey). But, I've been staying here for years, and seriously, the room service menu does not change. I have asked the order-taker several times if there are "specials", and I am told that I may only order what's on the in-room menu. Really?

Again, this is a great hotel - and ofen a "sleeper" when it comes to rates. There's a Marriott, a J.W. Marriott, a Ritz Carlton and a plethora of other upscale hotels in the immediate vicinity, and having stayed at all of the others, I prefer the Pere Marquette hands down. If you do some digging around on Marriott's website when booking, you can usually find a rate that's pretty close (if not cheaper) than the Courtyard that's around the corner too.

I would recommend this place to anyone - and plan to submit a polite suggestion to management that they at least slightly enhance the room service menu. I doubt they'd like to know that they could lose a business traveler (me or others) over something so silly as updating a dinner room service menu selection.

Enjoy this place - I always do!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewclauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-2307
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing